Skip to content

X-Men comic (December 24, 2013)

December 24, 2013

So, even though it’s Christmas Eve, comics still came out. Only two from Marvel. I suppose I’ll review both.

First, Origin II #1, by Kieron Gillen and Adam Kubert. Going in, my thinking is, “Not even Kieron Gillen can make me give a damn about Wolverine.” Because I don’t like Wolverine. I never have. He’s a dick. He’s always been a dick. He remains a dick today. In general, I don’t like dicks. So, could Gillen make me actually get over my thoughts on Wolverine being just a colossal, unlikable prick? Let’s find out. We start in Canada in 1907. Wolverine hunts with a pack, and is happy with them. It’s actually very well-written. The pack comes across a polar bear, far from its home, and unable to adapt to the strange environment it’s in. The bear winds up eating Logan’s pack. This leads to a big fight between Logan and the bear. Which is not the name of an old TV show about a truck driver and his monkey. It’s a fight with no winners. This actually is pretty good. The art is great. Kubert kills it. And Gillen mostly just lets him, letting the art tell the story. The captions are there for more poetry than for storytelling. And there’s a few points where the captions are dropped, particularly during the fight with the bear. It’s an awesome fight. Brutal and exciting. Kubert also draws great wolves, especially the adorable pups. The end of the issue also does some set-up for the rest of the story. But I doubt it’ll really be necessary to understand what comes next. I think it’s mostly just a good story.

And the other comic was Avengers #24.NOW #1, and whatever else Marvel decided to slap on it, by Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic. We start in 3030, at the Baxter Buildings, with Iron Man (Rhodey) about to do something, and Richards (Franklin) trying to stop him.  Franklin lets him go. In the present, the Avengers are having fun. Sunspot is hitting golf balls for Hawkeye and Starbrand to shoot. Thor did some barbequeing. Inside, Cap and Tony are talking about empty slots on the team. Then Rhodey shows up outside. He warns them about a rogue planet heading to Earth. And then they stop it from destroying the Earth, though not be destroying it. More meh. I still want more character stuff. There’s lots of big ideas, as usual, but not enough heart. So whatever.

From → 2013

2 Comments
  1. I don’t really mind Wolverine. I used to like him a little, but he’s just in too many comics.

    I didn’t pick up any comics today, partly because I worked all day, but also because none of them really interested me. Instead, I’ll just read my leftovers from last week.

    Not yet sure what I’m going to do for next week, since I’m working that too.

    Merry Christmas by the way.

    • Likewise. I haven’t even looked at what comes out next week. So I have no idea yet if I’ll head to the comic shop.

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

