Skip to content

Pull list for July 23, 2014

July 22, 2014

Now that I’m doing this weekly pull list post, I’m going to be updating every single day. That’s quite a shift from the couple years of college where I posted once a week. I guess being unemployed has its advantages! Of course, money is not among those advantages, so I’d still rather be working. Someone hire me, dammit! Anywhere looking for a Library Technician, I’m begging you, give me a try!

Anyway, tomorrow. At the store, I’ll pick up Mighty Avengers #12, by Al Ewing and Greg frigging hack-tastic Land; My Little Pony: Friends Forever #7 (Pinkie Pie tries to teach Luna comedy! It is going to be so much awesome!); and Storm #1, by Greg Pak and Victor Ibanez.

I’ll also review Avengers 100 Anniversary Special, by James Stokoe; All-New Doop #4, by Peter Milligan and David Lafuente; Deadpool #32, written by Gerry Duggan and Brian Posehn, art by John Lucas; Deadpool vs. X-Force #2, by Duane Swierczynski and Pepe Larraz; Original Sin: Thor and Loki #2, written by Al Ewing and Jason Aaron, art by Lee Garbett and Simone Bianchi; Original Sins #4, by various; and Wolverine and the X-Men #6, by Jason Latour and Mahmud Asrar.

So, after the wallet-crushing beating from last week, this week’s very light. I’ll be picking up three comics at my LCS, and reviewing an additional 7, giving me 8 reviews total.

The Marvel comic I’m probably most looking forward to is Storm, if only by default. Much as I love Ewing’s writing on Mighty Avengers, Land’s constant tracing and recycling drags it down, so I look forward to the writing while dreading the art. (Luckily, it seems Land will soon be leaving the book; then I’ll no longer feel guilty and dirty when I buy it.) Nothing else coming out this week excites me enough for me to add them to my physical collection, taking up space. So Storm becomes most-anticipated by default.

Storm’s never been one of my favourite characters. I like her well enough, there’s just a lot of characters I like more. I do prefer her with a hard edge and an attitude, and that’s the Storm we’ve been getting lately. Hopefully, Pak keeps that side of her prominent. But anyway, even if Storm’s not one of my favourites, she’s definitely an iconic character, one of Marvel’s biggest (I would argue that she’s both their biggest female character and their biggest character of colour, and their third-biggest X-Man behind only Wolverine and Cyclops, and even then, it’s debatable if she’s less big than Cyclops). So the fact that, in the 39 years since she was created, she had never had a solo title was ridiculous. Gambit got several tries, Cable got multiple solos, Rogue got a couple chances, even frigging Jubilee had a short-lived solo title. (Speaking of that Jubilee solo, while it wasn’t a good book, I thought there was some potential in it. It could’ve been good. There were elements in it that worked for a Young Adult series, the problems came about from it just not being all that interesting.)

Storm was long overdue for a chance at an ongoing. And given my own desire to see more diversity in comics, I feel like I’d be a hypocrite if I didn’t at least try it, so I’m putting my money where my mouth is and picking it up. I like that they gave it to Greg Pak, a person of colour. He’s talked about how he, as an Asian-American, really appreciated Storm, because she looked different from the people around her, the way he did. Pak’s a good writer, too. Again, not one of my favourites, but a solid, talented writer. And, again, I want more diversity behind the scenes, so I’m going to support this move.

Speaking of diversity . . . Lady Thor and Falcon as Captain America. These have gotten a lot of attention. Personally, I have no problem with either move. Thor’s lost his hammer before, and others have been worthy to use it, so I see no reason why a woman couldn’t be worthy. One bit of speculation I saw – strangely, I found it in the comments of a horribly offensive and mind-numbingly stupid article on a Men’s Rights Activist site (MRAs, of course, being universally offensive and stupid, and if you are one, and you feel insulted, good, you should feel insulted, because I’m insulting you, you worthless genital wart masquerading as a person) – was that the woman could be on of Thor’s future granddaughters. That might be interesting. I’d be down with that. The complaint I have with Lady Thor (by the way, I do want to make clear that I’m using “Lady” in the formal sense, “Lady” being equivalent to “Lord”) is the costume. It’s just not a very good design. The helmet, the metal bra, the chunks of metal around her ankle, the weird slit exposing a couple inches of her belly – it’s just a weak design.

I’m also fine with Falcon as Captain America. (Or, as Colbert put it, Captain African-America. Or, the stupid version I came up with, Captain Samerica. The version a lot of people are using is Captain Falcon.) It makes sense in-story. So whatever.

The big complaint about these things is that they’re gimmicks. And, honestly, it’s hard to argue with that, though it’s worth noting that just about everything in superhero comics is a gimmick. I do find it hard caring one way or the other, since these are both likely to be reversed by thetime Avengers 2 comes out. (Tom Brevoort says they won’t. We’ll see. Either way, I don’t see these stories lasting a long time.) I do hope that both characters get their own books after leaving these identities, and I hope having the identities leads to people following them. I don’t plan on picking up Captain America, because I don’t care about Falcon, and I don’t like Remender’s writing style. I also probably won’t be picking up Thor, unless the storyline turns out to be really, really good. Aaron’s Thor: God of Thunder has been great, but not enough to get me to buy it. I do feel a bit guilty about the fact that I won’t be buying Captain America while Falcon’s in the title role, and I also don’t plan on buying the upcoming Deathlok series. I want to support diversity, so I feel bad not buying books that do that. But at the end of the day, I’m going to buy books I enjoy, and I don’t think I’ll enjoy either of those. So, oh well.

I’ll end the topic by linking to perhaps the best satire I’ve seen of the whole thing: New Wolverine is a trangender Samoan atheist. The key part is the very end: Quesada agreed that this is a lot of fuss about nothing. “Jesus Christ, people. It’s just a gimmick. It’s not like we’re hiring minority writers.”

On another note, I read the first volume of Hopeless Savages, by Jen Van Meter and Christine Norrie. It was released by Oni Press, the same publisher who put out the Scott Pilgrim books (which were amazing). I loved it. It’s hilarious. It’s violent, but cartoonishly so. It’s vulgar, but the profanity is all either nonsense words or British (which is nonsense words anyway). The main character is named Skank Zero Hopeless-Savage. Her brothers are named Rat and Twitch Strummer, and her sister is Arsenal Fierce. The story involves their punk icon parents being kidnapped by a producer who wants the rights to a cheesy pop hit the father wrote before he turned punk. It’s utterly ridiculous, and thoroughly enjoyable. The art is fairly conventional, but with just enough of that punk attitude shining through. It’s a great book, and I’d definitely recommend it (if you can find it). And it makes me even more convinced that Marvel needs to give Jen Van Meter more work. It’d be nice if they gave some work to Christine Norrie, too. And to Chynna Clugston-Major, who did some flashback sequences.

I still haven’t won any books from Goodreads. I guess I’m just not very lucky. It’s tragic. It’s not surprising, though. When the odds are one in several hundred, you probably shouldn’t get your hopes up. I think the best thing I’ve ever won was in, like, grade 7 or 8. I won a hat. A Colorado Avalanche Stanley Cup Champions hat. It was signed by 9 or 10 of the players, though I have no idea who. I can’t make out any of the scribbles. I wonder how much the hat is worth. I should try to sell it online. The thing is, without knowing the names, I don’t know how much I should hold out for. I mean, I might be able to get a hundred or so for it if there’s no future Hall of Famers, but maybe I could get more if there’s someone who ended up being a huge star. I don’t know.

Jeopardy is doing its Teen Tournament. I like the Teen Tournament, because I know more of the clues. It makes me feel smart, until I remember that these are meant for people literally half my age. “Yeah, suck on that, you high-schooler planning a career in astrophysics! I know slightly more useless trivia than you do! I rule!”

That’s probably enough rambling for today.

One Comment
  1. Yeah, that Wolverine article is hilarious, and the fact that it’s getting negative comments only proves that the internet doesn’t understand sarcasm. It would be way over the top if it were true though. Recycled metal claws? Oh dear.

    Really, there are several ways they could go with the Wolverine name, and we probably won’t know until the solicitations for the month after Wolverine: Legacy are released or so. Maybe they’ll retire the name, maybe they’ll give it to Rogue since she seems to have his powers judging by some of the Uncanny Avengers covers they’ve released, or maybe they’ll give it to one of his kids.

    I dropped Remender’s Captain America after he fridged Sharon Carter, but Sam becoming the new Captain America is perfectly fine. If I hear good things, I might check it out later. Lady Thor could be interesting as well.

    I’ll be checking out Storm 1 for sure.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

