Skip to content

Pull list and SDCC

July 29, 2014

So there’s quite a bit to talk about today. Let’s start with what I’ll be picking up at my LCS tomorrow.

I’ll be buying All-New Ghost Rider #5 (by Felipe Smith and Tradd Moore); Uncanny X-Men #24 (by Brian Bendis and Kris Anka); and X-Men #17 (by Brian Wood and Paco Diaz Luque).

I’ll also be reviewing Guardians of the Galaxy 100th Anniversary Special (by Andy Lanning and Gustavo Duarte); Cyclops #3 (by Greg Rucka and Russell Dauterman); Iron Man Special #1 (by Sean Ryan and Rahmat Handoko); Original Sin: Hulk vs. Iron Man #3 (by Mark Waid and Mark Bagley); and Uncanny Avengers #22 (by Rick Remender and Daniel Acuna).

So that’s 8 comics I’ll be reviewing. A very light week.

The book I’m most looking forward to is probably UXM. #23 was a good set-up issue, and Xavier’s Will remains an intriguing idea. I’m curious to see what’s in it, and how it’ll affect things. It looks like we’ll also see Dazzler’s new look on-panel; the image we’ve seen didn’t impress me, but maybe it’ll work a bit better in the actual comic. But I’m not hopeful about it. I still say they should’ve gotten Jamie McKelvie to do her redesign. I’m also excited for ANGH #5. Robbie vs. Hyde! Woot! Smith’s writing has been great, and Moore’s art is crazy and full of motion, so it should be an awesome fight.

Now. San Diego Comic-Con. News. First up, the Agents of SHIELD panel revealed a new agent. Agent Mockingbird. Bobbi Morse! Yay! I’ve been saying right from the start that she should show up. She’s an awesome character. She’s a genius, she’s a great fighter, and she’s great at infiltration and espionage. She’s the perfect agent. If they include even two out of three for her on the show, I’ll be satisfied. If they make her all three, even better. So I’m psyched for Bobbi Morse.

In terms of comic news, though, a couple things caught my eye. Greg Rucka’s leaving Cyclops; that didn’t take long. It was launched as Rucka and Dauterman, and both will be leaving in a couple more issues. John Layman’s taking over writing, and I forget who the new artist will be. I still likely won’t be picking the book up. There’s the new SHIELD series being written by Mark Waid. It might be good. Apparently, it’s going to be something of a team-up book: It’ll be 616 versions of the TV cast, and they’ll be going on missions with various superheroes. The two Waid mentioned were Rocket Raccoon and Howard the Duck. (Also, Fitz will get a helper monkey.) I’m probably not going to be adding it to my pull list at the shop; I may pick up issues featuring characters I’m particularly fond of, but we’ll see. We also got an announcement for a new Spider-Woman series. By Dennis Hopeless and Greg Land. It’s like Marvel said, “Hey, how can we make absolutely certain that X-Men X-Pert won’t buy this book.” Seriously, a writer I’ve been boycotting since Avengers Arena, and a hack of an artist that I hate more than I hate Rob Liefeld. At least the hack is going to be off of Mighty Avengers. Speaking of which, Mighty Avengers is being relaunched as Captain America and the Mighty Avengers. Still written by Al Ewing, and with most of the same cast (Blade is leaving, and it looks like Spider-Man will come back). So I’ll continue to pick that up. Luke Ross will be the new artist, and he’s fine.

However, the one book I will be adding is Angela: Agent of Asgard. It’ll be written by Kieron Gillen and Marguerite Bennett, and drawn by Phil Jimenez and (squee!) Stephanie Hans. Long-time readers of my blog will know that I adore Hans’ work. She’s my second-favourite artist, behind only Emma Rios. It is beautiful work. Simply stunning. But it also takes her a long time, which is why she mostly does covers, and the occasional one-shot. I never expected her to do an ongoing. But Marvel figured out a way to make it work, so bravo to Marvel for that. Angela isn’t a character I care about, but Gillen’s my favourite writer, Hans is my second-favourite artist, and I’m always glad to support female creators and this book will have two. So I’ll be pulling this. Apparently, Gillen and Jimenez will do the “main” part, while Bennett and Hans do embedded, story-like segments. That sounds like a really neat idea, and one that should work well. It’s right up Gillen’s alley, certainly, so yeah, I’m in.

The biggest disappointment out of SDCC came in terms of the movie announcements. More specifically, the lack of announcements of any movies with female or minority leads. This ties into something else I wanted to mention. I’ll be going to watch Guardians of the Galaxy on Monday. It’ll be the last of my money that Marvel studios is going to get until they set release dates for movies with female and minority leads. If they announce one, then I’ll watch Avengers 2. If they announce both, then I’ll be willing to watch any movie that looks good to me. But I’ve become very uncomfortable with Marvel studios continuing to go with white male leads for every single movie. Until women and minorities start getting top billing, I’m simply not willing to continue supporting these movies. I know it’s just a drop in the bucket to Marvel. The fact that I won’t be spending the roughly $500 it costs to go to the movies these days isn’t going to make a difference. Nonetheless, I’m just totally fed up with Marvel studios not being willing to just frigging commit. We’ve seen that female-led action movies do well when they’re well-made. We’ve seen that minority-led action movies do well when they’re well-made. Well-made movies do well. And if Marvel can make a shit-ton of money with a movie starring a talking raccoon and talking tree, then there’s no excuse not to give a shot to Black Panther, or Captain Marvel, or any number of other female and minority characters. (Related: I want them to out Hawkeye in a movie. Do a movie where he has a major role, and reveal him as gay. It would make the bond between Hawkeye and Black Widow so much more fascinating than if they were a couple. Plus, it’d be neat seeing an LGBT character in the movies.)

Moving away from comics: Still no luck on the job front. Argh. Still haven’t won anything on Goodreads. Meh. I’ve finished reading all three volumes of Jen Van Meter’s Hopeless Savages. The second volume has some fantastic lines. “My life is an embarrassingly pedestrian teenage cesspool.” “Reality is for people who can’t handle fantasy.” Perhaps the best is this, coming from a gay character explaining how his punk-rock parents accepting him being a mod: “We don’t care what music you kids love, so long as you have music to love.” That’s a great sentiment, I think. Next up, I’ll be reading Chynna Clugston-Major’s Blue Monday. I’ve read the first volume already. I’m looking forward to the other three volumes. I’m also going to read I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly.

Other than that, my life remains dull and uninteresting. I need a damned job.

That’s all for this week. I think next Tuesday, I’ll go through my pull list for the whole month of August.

One Comment
  1. The announcement of Mockingbird was awesome as was Arrow’s reveal that Ra’s al Ghul is coming. The TV shows kicked the collective butts of the movie divisions. Where was DC’s slate of movies? Where was Marvel’s Doctor Strange announcement? Pretty uneventful indeed…

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

