Skip to content

Pull list; Success: Stories review

August 12, 2014

I’ve finished reading the first book I received from Goodreads. I’ll talk about it in a few paragraphs. First, my pull list for tomorrow.

I’ll be picking up All-New X-Men #30, by Brian Bendis and Sara Pichelli; Captain Marvel #6, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and David Lopez; My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic #22; Spider-Man 2099 #2, by Peter David and Will Sliney; X-Force #8, by Simon Spurrier and Rock-He Kim; X-Men #18, by Marc Guggenheim and Harvey Tolibao.

I’ll also review Amazing X-Men #10, written by Chris Yost and Kyle Craig, art by Carlo Barberi; Deadpool #33, written by Gerry Duggan and Brian Posehn, art by John Lucas; Inhuman #3, by Charles Soule and Joe Maduereira; Nightcrawler #5, by Chris Claremont and Todd Nauck; Nova Special #1, by Sean Ryan and John Timms; Original Sin #7, by Jason Aaron and Mike Deodato; Wolverine #11, by Paul Cornell and Pete Woods; Wolverine and the X-Men #7, by Jason Latour and David Messina.

And on a side note, there’s a part of me that kinda wants to pick up Hexed, just for that gorgeous Emma Rios cover. Sigh. If only I had the money to burn.

Anyway, that’s 6 books I’ll be buying, and 12 reviews. So it’ll be a heavy day tomorrow.

The comic I’m most looking forward to is Captain Marvel. Carol vs. an entire fleet? Awesome. An issue dedicated to Carol being badass is very much appreciated. It’s going to be great. I’m also looking forward to X-Force, since MI:13 will be showing up. I love those guys. Pete Wisdom is always awesome, and a future cover shows Meggan, who I like quite a bit. And, of course, Faiza’s great. They all are, pretty much. So, yeah, I’m excited for that.

X-Men, though, I’m worried about. Guggenheim’s never impressed me. His Wolverine stuff was just bad. He wrote the Civil War arc of Wolverine’s solo – you know, the story that involved Wolverine literally being reduced to a skeleton and healing back from that in a pretty brief time. That was one of the absolute stupidest things I have ever read, and I’ve read Chuck Austen’s X-Men work. Guggenheim also revealed that Wolverine fought an angel of death every time he died. It was also stupid., So, so stupid. Then there was his Young X-Men, which was just mediocre that it wound up dropping the kids into limbo. New X-Men had solid, reliable sales up until it ended. It was relaunched a few months later as Young X-Men, with Marc Guggenheim writing it, and it initially had good sales, but those numbers dropped pretty quickly, and the series ended after a year, and almost all the characters wound up being tossed into a corner. So I’m worried about how he’ll do on X-Men. I loved the book under Brian Wood. I’m willing to give Guggenheim a chance. But I don’t know how long I’ll be able to read it.

All right. So that’s the comic stuff out of the way. As I said at the top, I finished one of the books I won through a Goodreads GiveawaySuccess: Stories by David A. Taylor. Here’s the review I posted on Goodreads:

I found it OK. It’s a collection of 14 short stories, exploring the lives of different types of people, their hopes and dreams and the realities of their daily lives. The stories are well-written. But there’s a certain sense of hopelessness to everything. The characters all seem to be miserable people. Even the few bits of happiness that do show up come across as fleeting and illusory. Humour is all bitter and forced. It comes across as saying that life is suffering and that working for anything better is a waste of time. For me, that made it a less enjoyable reading experience.

Maybe I’m just too shallow to enjoy this sort of book. I like a bit of humour in the stories I read. I like some hope and optimism. I do often enjoy reading about the lives people lead, but I like the misery to be balanced by the joy. Life includes both. And I think, for most people, the joy ultimately outweighs the misery. I think most people are generally happy. So when stories come along and focus exclusively on the negative, it lacks authenticity for me. It feels dishonest.

Anyway, now that that’s done, next up is The Big Wide Calm by Rich Marcello. We’ll see how that is.

I’ve also finished reading the first volume of Morning Glories, by Nick Spencer and Joe Eisma. It was pretty good. An interesting concept, some enticing mysteries, cool characters, pretty art. I read it for a Goodreads book club. Next up for that book club is Rex Mundi. I’m also reading The Rise of Renegade X for another book club.

Apparently, Marvel has an Inhumans script ready. So that movie is happening. Meh. I’ve never actually given a damn about the Inhumans. They’re arrogant, xenophobic slave-owners. Traits that don’t exactly make them the most sympathetic group out there. On the other hand, maybe an Inhumans movie will be a chance for Marvel to put out a movie with a female lead. Nah, that’s just crazy talk. An action movie with a female lead? Who would want to see that? Madness!

If Marvel studios actually gives even the slightest shit about diversity, as they claim, then Medusa will be the main character, and will get the top billing. The best thing they could do would be to take Black Bolt out early. Have him captured or something. And then Medusa is the unquestioned leader of the group for the rest of the movie. What’s much more likely to happen, though, is that Black Bolt will be the main character, and Medusa will mostly be there as his mouthpiece and love interest. And, naturally, Black Bolt will likely be played by a white guy. Vin Diesel’s hinted that he’ll be involved with the movie, and he does identify as a person of colour, so if he plays Black Bolt, then I guess that would count as a person of colour in the lead. But Vin Diesel isn’t someone who looks like a person of colour – he can pass for white, easily. So it would be a bit of a shame if the first person of colour lead in the MCU is someone that a lot of people don’t even actually know is a person of colour. But more likely, Vin Diesel will be cast as Gorgon, and Black Bolt will be played by a white guy. Because white males are the only ones allowed to get top billing.

Meanwhile, still no word on Black Panther or Black Widow or Captain Marvel. Because it’s not like there aren’t way more people calling for those movies than ever asked for Inhumans. I mean, just because almost every single article that talks about the MCU raises the question of when the hell they’re going to cut the crap and make female-led and minority-led movies, that’s no reason to actually make these movies that people are practically begging for. No, it’s much more reasonable to go ahead with the frigging Inhumans, probably making all the main roles white, and having any people of colour be hidden behind make-up and CGI.

They’d better not leave out Crystal, either. The MCU is tragically lacking in women with actual superpowers. Scarlet Witch will be in Avengers 2, and that’ll make one. Medusa has her hair, which I guess is a superpower. But Crystal’s elemental abilities are much more potent. So if they leave her out, then it just makes Marvel studios look even more like assholes.

On a more personal front . . . still no luck with the job hunt. None at all. I can’t even get a damned interview. It’s incredibly disheartening. Some days, it feels like the only reason I haven’t given up is because I need to fill out a job search form every month to keep getting welfare.

I suppose that’s about all I have to say for today. So, I’ll end my post here.

6 Comments
  1. G'kar permalink

    The last time Kevin Feigie was asked about the possibility of a Captain Marvel or Black Widow movie he suggested that Marvel studio’s was “too busy”. Its lame excuse I know, but it’s kind of funny how there too busy to make a movie with a female lead yet have time to make Ant-man

    • Yeah, I think I talked about Feige’s “timing” bullshit last week. I don’t really fault them for Ant-Man – Edgar Wright was working on that for years, it was his pet project, and he basically just wore Marvel down (then left it over creative differences). I just find it stupid that Marvel can’t even say, “We’ll have a female- or minority-led movie before Avengers 3.” They’re not even willing to make that commitment. At some point, audiences looking for that do just have to ask, “When, specifically, will this happen?” Is it one of the movies between now and 2019? Will it be 2020? Will it be another decade before it happens? The issue isn’t going away any time soon, so Marvel studios really should tell people exactly when they expect to get around to a movie that has top billing go to someone who isn’t a white male.

  2. It’s funny how, despite all the problems with Amazing Spider-Man 2, that Sony is the only company to announce plans for a female-led superhero movie so far. Marvel’s been doing so well with pumping out female-led solo titles, but why can’t they have a movie. Even if it’s not a cinematic release, at least have some sort of netflix series or a short TV series starring one.
    At least we’re getting the Agent Carter series. If that does well, then maybe they’ll give a female superhero movie a chance.

    Until then we have, um … can anyone name a female-led superhero movie that’s actually good? Because the reason they’ve never succeeded so far is because they were all terrible.

    I want to support the all-female X-Men team, but I really don’t like the writer either. With 13 comics already on my pull list, I’ll just wait and see how the reception is. But yeah, Captain Marvel should be great. I’m also looking forward to All New X-Men, Spider-Man 2099 2 and a few of the non-marvel titles I’ll be picking up.

    • Actually, speaking on Netflix, there will be TV series for Luke Cage and Jessica Jones. It’s something, I guess, but it’s not a movie. And even then, the white guy – Daredevil – gets to go first. And yeah, Agent Carter’s getting a show – 8 episodes, airing during Agents of SHIELD’s mid-season break. It’s like Marvel genuinely has no trust in female and minority leads.

  3. I managed to pick-up Hexed and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Then I learned there was a mini-series before this and I am now compelled to track it down! 🙂

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

