Skip to content
Tags

Pull list

September 2, 2014

Well, this will be a heavy week.

Tomorrow, I’ll be picking up: All-New X-Factor #13, by Peter David and Carmine Di Giandomenico; My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic #23, by Jeremy Whitley and Amy Mebberson; Rocket Raccoon #3, by Skottie Young; She-Hulk #8, by Charles Soule and Javier Pulido; Spider-Man 2099 #3, by Peter David and Will Sliney; Uncanny X-Men #25, by Brian Bendis and Chris Bachalo; X-Men #19, by Marc Guggenheim and Dexter Soy.

I’ll also be reviewing: All-New Doop #5, by Peter Milligan and David Lafuente; Deadpool vs. X-Force #4, by Duane Swierczynski and Pepe Larraz; Death of Wolverine #1, by Charles Soule and Steve McNiven; Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #0, by Gerry Duggan and Matteo Lolli; Legendary Star-Lord #3, by Sam Humphries and Paco Medina; Moon Knight #7, by Brian Wood and Greg Smallwood; Original Sin #8, by Jason Aaron and Mike Deodato.

So that’s 7 comics I’ll be buying, and 12 reviews total. And this is just the first week of the month. Ouch.

I kinda want to get Death Defying Dr. Mirage #1, by Jen Van Meter and Roberto de la Torre, because I enjoyed Van Meter’s Hopeless Savages, and her occasional Marvel work. I’m not getting it, because the solicit doesn’t much grab my attention. But I kinda want it. Maybe I’ll read the trade or something.

My most anticipated comic is UXM. I’m eager to get more details on Xavier’s will. I’m hoping for something awesome. Also, while I don’t normally like Bachalo’s art, I have to give him props: The cover is amazing. Just an awesome cover. I’m also excited for more She-Hulk, because that book’s been fantastic.

I may as well post my Marvel pull list for the whole month, too. In addition to the ones I mentioned above, I’ll also get: All-New X-Men #32, Captain Marvel #7, Ms. Marvel #8, New Warriors #9, X-Force #9, All-New Ghost Rider #7, All-New X-Factor #14, Storm #3, Uncanny X-Men #26, Loki: Agent of Asgard #6, Mighty Avengers #14, Silver Surfer #7. 18 Marvel comics for the month. Plus two My Little Pony comics, and The Wicked + The Divine. So I’ll be spending $100 again.

I have no interest in Axis. At all. I have no shits to spare for it. So I’m a bit annoyed that several of my normal comics will be caught up in it, but it’s not too many. Spider-Verse looks like it should be interesting, though I won’t be buying anything related to it. One thing I want to mention about Edge of Spider-Verse #2, though: I saw an unlettered preview, and it showed a variant cover. As soon as I saw the cover, my head just went, “LAAAAAND!” Because it was a Greg Land variant, as shown by the fact that he used his Female Sultry Face – the exact same one he’s used hundreds of times before. I can tell Greg Land’s work at a glance, because it’s always the exact same faces every frigging time. This is also related to the cover for the Fantastic Four Annual – Susan Storm has the Female Mouth Wide Open Face (Eyes Open variant).

Moving on, Avengers #34.1 will be written by Al Ewing, and will be a character-focused issue about Hyperion. I kinda hope he’s revealed as gay. Mostly because I am fed up with the fact that the LGBT Avenger is still closeted. Hickman said, when he started his run, that one of the characters would be LGBT. But he also said it would only be revealed if it came up “in the story.” Which is bullshit, considering he’s the one who actually gets to come up with the story, and it’s not that hard to out a character. Hickman’s already got a bad history, since Secret Warriors never actually got around to revealing that Stonewall was gay. So it’s time to cut the bullshit and just frigging do it already. Hopefully, that’s why Al Ewing was brought in to write the issue.

The next two issues of Captain Marvel will be filled with kitties. Kitties! Kitties kitties kitties! This makes me very very happy. New Warriors #9 has Justice and Scarlet Spider fighting a giant guy in a bear suit. That sounds amazing. Ms. Marvel will have Lockjaw show up – woot! Storm #3 has a variant by Stephanie Hans. It’s pretty gorgeous. I will buy that variant. I’m psyched for X-Force vs. MI:13. There’s an omnibus coming out of the Gillen/McKelvie Young Avengers. If you’re interested in getting it, might I recommend the one with the Bryan Lee O’Malley cover? It’s awesome. So, so awesome.

That’s enough of that.

I actually didn’t end up reading any extra comics this week. It was just kind of a weird week for me, somehow. No big deal. I did get caught up on the webcomic, No Pink Ponies. Speaking of which, I said last week that I was going to start talking about the webcomics I read.

The very first webcomic I started reading was Something Positive, by Randy Milholland. I don’t remember exactly when I started, but I think it was a couple years into it. I honestly don’t remember where I learned about it, or why I decided to check it out, or anything. I just stumbled across it and decided I may as well see what it was about. See what that whole webcomic fad was about, I guess. The very first strip has an abortion joke, and since I’m a terrible person, I was amused enough to keep reading. And I’m still reading it.

There’s a lot of really awful, offensive humour, and while that does often annoy me, it doesn’t annoy me here. Some of the humour does. Especially early on, there was a lot of humour revolving around beating people up, and that generally bored me. But there’s plenty of solid humour, too, including some oddly sweet stuff. Milholland’s writing has improved a lot over the years, so he can actually do some genuinely heartwarming stories. On the other hand, he can also do an arc where Wil Wheaton loses his arm to pre-teen girls wearing cat ears. So, you know, highs and lows. The art has likewise evolved, and has become a lot more pleasant to look at. The characters have undergone plenty of development, and have grown up a lot. It’s a fun strip, and has a lot to do with my current enjoyment of slice-of-life stories.

In personal news, I got a job. I’ve been hired as a cashier at Wal-Mart. I’ll be making $12.15 an hour, which is pretty good pay (it was boosted by the 7 years of experience I have in a call centre). Unfortunately, it’s only 12 hours a week. (Or at least, that’s what’s guaranteed; I could get more.) I worked it out, I’ll be making less than $600 a month gross, and I would guess at least $200 will be going to the government (and other deductions), so I’ll actually be lucky to make more than I currently make on welfare. Argh. At least it’s something, I suppose. My orientation is tomorrow at 8am, which sucks. I’m not a fan of mornings. Ah, well.

I haven’t won anything from Goodreads in 3 weeks now. It makes me kinda sad. No big deal, I suppose. I still have over a hundred pages in Aversion, the book I’m currently reading. Then I’ve got two books from the Land of Nod series. My mom already read them. Apparently, they’re aimed more at kids. I probably shouldn’t have bothered entering the draw for them. Well, whatever. If they’re meant for kids, they’ll probably go by quickly enough. So I’m going to need something else to read when I finish them. Come on, Goodreads!

That’s all I’ve got for today. Tomorrow, comics!

4 Comments
  1. Congratulations on finding a job. At the very least, it’s something to boost your income/spending money.

    Not quite as big a week for me in comics, but it won’t be a small one either. Thanks to DC’s yearly September gimmick month, I won’t be picking up anything from them until October which probably helps a bit. All New X-Factor, Black Widow 10, Death of Wolverine 1, Rocket Raccoon 3, Legendary Star Lord 3, She Hulk 8 and Uncanny X-Men just for marvel alone though, so I’ll have enough to read.

    • Well, it actually might not boost my spending money much. Depends on whether I still get anything from welfare. I’ve had a friend paying my credit card bills while I’ve looked for work, and I’d like to take that back over from her. That’s nearly $200 a month. I basically need to be netting $550 a month to break even, with all my normal expenses (rent to my mom, credit cards, I’ve got a little bit of student loan debt, and I’ve got all my comics). At 12 hours a week, I’ll only be grossing a little over $550 a month. So, yeah, I’ll have to wait and see if this actually ends up making me any extra money.

  2. Congrats on the job! Hopefully more hours coming your way are in the future. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pull list | X-Men

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

