Skip to content
Tags

Pull list

September 9, 2014

I’ve started my training at Wal-Mart. I work tomorrow from 10am-3:30pm, and my local comic shop closes at 5. So I can’t guarantee I’ll be able to make it to the shop tomorrow. It’ll depend on how I feel. I will try, though.

Assuming I make it, I’ll be going to the store for: Captain Marvel #7, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Marcio Takara; Ms. Marvel #8, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona; My Little Pony: Friends Forever #9, by Christine Rice and Tony Fleecs; New Warriors #9, by Chris Yost and Marcus To; X-Force #9, by Simon Spurrier and Rock-He Kim.

I’ll also review: Death of Wolverine #2, by Charles Soule and Steve McNiven; Edge of Spider-Verse #1, by Fabrice Sapolsky and Richard Isanove; Magneto #9, by Cullen Bunn and Gabriel Walta; Nightcrawler #6, by Chris Claremont and Todd Nauck.

So that’s 5 books I’m buying, and 6 reviews. Not too bad.

By the way, if Avengers #34.1 does reveal that Hyperion’s gay, I’ll probably talk about that, too.

My most-anticipated comic of the week is obviously Ms. Marvel. That book’s been amazing fun. This issue’s going to have Lockjaw show up. Kamala’s getting a dog! I’m sure that’s going to be a lot of fun. Lockjaw’s great. I’m also really looking forward to Captain Marvel, though, because this issue and the next one are going to be about Chewie. Kitty issues! Yay! I’m sure it’s going to be totally adorable. I’m excited for it.

In other comic book news, Comic Book Resources is doing a poll on the 75 Most Memorable Moments In Marvel History. Each voter picks their top 10. My own top 10 were:

1. Jean Grey’s sacrifice (X-Men #137)
2. The Death of Gwen Stacy
3. Professor Xavier Is A Jerk
4. Wiccan and Hulking save the world with the Power of Love (Young Avengers Vol. 2 #13)
5. “Now It’s My Turn!” (Wolverine, X-Men #132)
6. Kitty finds Colossus (Astonishing X-Men #4)
7. “Whoever saves on person, it is as if he has saved all of mankind.” (Ms. Marvel #3)
8. “Damn me. Damn you all.” (Journey Into Mystery #645)
9. Jamie Madrox absorbs his own son
10. Throg (Thor #365, specifically at the end, where he lifts the hammer)

Most of them are pretty straightforward. Should I do a post explaining why I voted for each moment? I’ll leave it up to you whether I should do that.

There are apparently no plans for Iron Man 4. I’m going to go ahead and say I was relieved to hear that, for one simple reason: It’s one less possibility for what the yet-to-be-named movies are. The more possibilities get eliminated, the more likely it is that at least one of the upcoming movies will have, as the primary lead, someone other than a white man. Marvel needs to get on that already.

Also this week, I read Princless, by Jeremy Whitley and M. Goodwin. It’s great. I loved it. It’s a twist on a classic fairy tale. Usually, a fair maiden is placed in a tower until a brave prince slays a dragon and rescues her. In this book, the princess, Adrienne, is black (and tells off a prince who calls her “fair,” because “fair” means “white”), headstrong, and has no interest in marrying a prince. So, when she finds a sword under her bed, she decides to rescue herself. She makes a deal with the dragon guarding her to rescue her sisters and then look for more dragons. This leads to some really fun adventures. There’s also some parody of the normal “Women Warriors” in fiction, as Adrienne finds a blacksmith (a teen girl) who’s made various “armours” based on famous women warriors. There’s Red Sonja, Wonder Woman and Xena, along with a couple others. Adrienne points out how impractical it is. The bit goes on maybe a bit too long, but it is really funny. The blacksmith is hilarious. The whole book’s hilarious, and really cute. It reminds me of The Paper Bag Princess, my all-time favourite kids book (and one of my favourite books in general), with the princess not needing a man to give her validation. I also like that she’s black – it’s a nice bit of diversity in a genre that seldom has any. This is a great book for kids, but it’s also fun for adults, so yeah, I’d recommend it.

Away from comics, I finished Aversion by Eric Monsky. I really enjoyed it. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

I got this as a Goodreads Giveaway. I really enjoyed it. I don’t often read straight fiction like this, but this was really well-written and interesting. I suppose I should issue a warning about plenty of profanity, sexual content and drug use (particularly alcohol, marijuana and cocaine). But the character lives in LA, so what do you expect? His hatred of his job, the sensation that it’s crushing his soul, is easy to relate to. He’s got some major anger issues that many readers may also be able to relate to. He can be a bit of a dick sometimes, but he can also be a nice guy.

I think what makes the book work is that the characters all feel authentic. They feel like real people. Monsky does a great job writing friendships, and it makes the book a lot more enjoyable. I do find some of the dialogue a bit weird, but I suspect it’s just because I’m not from LA, so I’m simply not used to hearing people talk the way the characters do, and it didn’t happen too often and wasn’t too much of a distraction.

All in all, I thought this was a great book, and one that’s worth checking out.

The book is about a guy who works on a reality TV show. He’s fed up with the life he leads, and decides he needs to go on a long trip around Europe and Asia. He’s also dealing with unresolved issues related to his father’s death, his worsening relationship with his brother and mother, and a whole lot of other problems. He’s got some self-destructive tendencies, but he is also trying to be a better person. It’s a good book. An enjoyable read.

My next books will be from the Land of Nod series: The Artifact and The Prophet. The books are actually meant for younger readers. So, they’re not really for me. Oh well. They shouldn’t take too long to get through, at least.

In personal news: I’ve started my training at Wal-Mart. I worked today from 10-4. I’m there as a cashier, so I did some shadowing, and then got some time on the cash, with someone else helping me. It’s pretty straightforward, for the most part. It’ll probably take a couple weeks to get fully adjusted. Can’t say I’m happy to be working at Wal-Mart. I spent two years in college, I’d like to get a better job. I should be getting decent hours, though, so I’ll be able to pay all my expenses, maybe even save up a little money for when I get a better job and have to move.

This job may throw off my daily reviews, though. And even my weekly reviews – I work next Wednesday from 11:30-8, and then 8-4:30 the next two days, and I have no idea what I’ll work next Saturday. So that’ll complicate things. Ah, well.

That’s all for this week.

3 Comments
  1. Evan permalink

    An explanation post would be very cool, if you’re up for it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pull list | X-Men

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

