Skip to content
Tags

Pull list

September 22, 2014

I don’t work on Wednesday, so I’ll be able to do my comics.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Ghost Rider #7, by Felipe Smith and Damion Scott; Loki: Agent of Asgard #6, by Al Ewing and Jorge Coelho; Mighty Avengers #14, by Al Ewing and Greg Land; My Little Pony Annual, by Ted Anderson and Ben Bates; New Warriors #10, by Chris Yost and Marcus To; Storm #3, by Greg Pak and Scott Hepburn (and David Baldeon).

I’ll also review: Amazing X-Men #11, written by Craig Kyle and Chris Yost, art by Carlo Barberi; Cyclops #5, by Greg Rucka and Carmen Nunez; Deadpool #35, written by Gerry Duggan and Brian Posehn, art by John Lucas; Magneto #10, by Cullen Bunn and Gabriel Walta; Savage Wolverine #23, by John Arcudi and Joe Quinones.

I’ll be picking up six comics, and doing six reviews.

This is kind of a lame week, actually. There’s comics I enjoy, or I wouldn’t be buying them, but for a lot of them, there’s things holding me back this week. Loki is part of the Axis lead-up, and I don’t give a shit about Axis. New Warriors is, if I’m honest, a pretty middling book. I guess I’m most excited for Ghost Rider. That title’s been great. I’m a little disappointed that Hyde seems to still be a part of the book, but oh well. And while Scott’s a fine artist, I’m missing Tradd Moore’s art on the current arc. Assuming it’s not Greg Land on interiors, then Mighty Avengers would be the other one I’m most excited for. And Storm #3.

I didn’t have a chance to read anything else this week, thanks to working five 8-hour shifts in a row. I wasn’t supposed to work Sunday, but a girl asked me to cover her shift, and I decided I could use the money. At least the rest of this week is quiet for me.

There’s a petition for Edmonton to build a Wolverine statue. I’m torn. On the one hand, as a comic book fan, I love the idea of a city getting a comic-based statue. On the other hand, I hate Wolverine. So, yeah, torn.

Deadpool’s getting a movie. Meh. It’s true he was the best part of Origins: Wolverine. But that’s not saying much, because that movie was awful on so many levels. I guess I’m kinda interested in the Deadpool movie, as long as they treat it seriously. They can’t just make it a joke movie. It has to be dark, it has to have an element of tragedy. I’d also prefer it if Deadpool’s insanity is treated as something genuinely frightening. The tendency over the years has been to treat his insanity as basically being a joke. “Oh look, he’s so wacky!” Meanwhile, I remember a moment in the Joe Kelly run where he found Weasel talking to Blind Al, and got so enraged that he threw them both into The Box – a small room filled with deadly traps. That’s along the lines of what the movie needs to do. It needs to be something that actually disturbs the audience.

Regardless, I won’t be watching the movie in the theatre. I don’t think I’ll be going to see any movie in the theatre any time soon. I’m still boycotting Marvel’s movies until they announce a female- or minority-led movie.

Speaking of movies, though, I learned last week, through henchman4hire’s blog, that there’s a new My Little Pony: Equestria Girls movie coming out in less than a week. I’m a Brony, so I’ll totally watch it. I’ll probably buy the DVD after work one day.

Agents of SHIELD is back tomorrow. I’m intrigued to see what they’ll do this season. I’m excited for Bobbi Morse. Yay Bobbi! She’s a cool character. I think my favourite Bobbi moment was way back when she was a Ka-Zar supporting character/love interest. She got captured by a bad guy, and was chained up in the guy’s castle. Ordinarily, this would be the time when a woman would hope for the man to come and rescue her. Bobbi didn’t think of Ka-Zar at all. She was thinking about how she could still complete her mission. It was a great insight into her character. Of course, she still ended up being rescued by Ka-Zar, but still, the point is that she wasn’t looking for him do it.

Then she married Hawkeye and became “Hawkeye’s wife.” And then she died and became “Hawkeye’s dead wife.” Bleh. She’s way cooler than he is. He should be “Mockingbird’s ex-husband.”

I’ll probably read Seconds, by Bryan Lee O’Malley, next month. One of the clubs I joined on Goodreads is currently voting for the two comics to read next month. Gotham Central currently has the most votes, because people just automatically vote for anything Batman (frigging Batman, I hate him, ugh), but Seconds is currently second in the votes. It’s 2 votes ahead of Deadly Class. So hopefully, there won’t end up being a bunch of Remender fans dropping in and putting that ahead. I still need to try to read Snowpiercer, by Jacques Lob and Jean-Marc Rochette, for this month’s reading. (Actually, this month’s main book is The Dark Knight Returns, but to hell with that, I hate Batman and I refuse to read a Batman book and no one can make me, so there.) I’ll tr to do that this week, since I won’t be too busy with work.

I also need to get to reading Land of Nod. It’s tough finding time.

In personal news, there’s not much to report. I’m getting into the hang of Wal-Mart. I haven’t had to do the “Wal-Mart cheer,” for which I’m hugely thankful. We had to do shit like that at my old job sometimes, and ugh, it’s so stupid. Why do some companies insist on treating its employees like children? I’m not an 8-year-old, so don’t frigging treat me like one. I’m a grown-ass adult, so don’t make me do a stupid frigging cheer you jackasses.

That’s about all I’ve got this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

