Skip to content
Tags

Pull list for October 8 2014

October 7, 2014

I have tomorrow off. I like having Wednesdays off. I seem to be getting lucky with it lately. Woot.

I’ll be going to the store for: Captain Marvel #8, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Marcio Takara; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #24, by Jeremy Whitley and Brenda Hickey; Rocket Raccoon #4, by Skottie Young; X-Force #19, by Simon Spurrier and Tan Eng Huat.

I’ll also review: Avengers and X-Men Axis #1, by Rick Remender and Adam Kubert; Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #1, by Gerry Duggan and Matteo Lolli; Nightcrawler #7, written by Chris Claremont and Marguerite Bennett, art by Todd Nauck.

As an aside, I’m almost disappointed I don’t read DC, because otherwise, I would pick up Batgirl #1. I love the new costume design for her. It’s a fantastic design.

I read 12 Reasons Why I Love Her, by Jamie S. Rich and Joelle Jones. It was really good. Well-written, and a good look into some dramatic moments in a relationship. The art by Jones was fantastic. She managed to do a variety of style, making the book visually compelling from one chapter to the next. It’s a solid book.

I should finish counting down my top 10 Marvel moments.

5. “Now It’s My Turn!” (X-Men #132)

Still awesome.

You know I’m not a Wolverine fan. But damn, is that ever an awesome moment. Seriously awesome.

4. Wiccan and Hulkling Save the World with the Power of Love (Young Avengers Vol. 2 #13)

Power of Love

As sentimental as Miss America gets.

There were so many moments from that run that I could’ve included. “Being a superhero is amazing” would be way up there, too. But this was a great climax to the run. The layout by McKelvie is really cool, and Gillen manages to make even the humour come across as sweet.

3. “Professor Xavier Is A Jerk!” (Uncanny X-Men #168)

He certainly is.

It’s a great opening panel, and just a really funny thing for a character to shout. (Also, I’ve written in the past about my own dislike of Xavier. He really was a jerk.)

2. The Death of Gwen Stacy (Amazing Spider-Man #221)

The Death of Gwen Stacy

The sound effect that ended the Silver Age.

I don’t think I need to explain this one, do I?

1. Jean Grey’s Sacrifice (X-Men #137)

Nor do I need to explain this one.

So, Fantastic Four is being cancelled. I’m sure it’ll be relaunched, which got me thinking about something. I looked at the titles Marvel launched in the ’60s, and I realized that, of them all, only one has ever had a female writer: Ann Nocenti, who wrote Daredevil for for years from 1987-1991. (I’ve been reading her run, and it’s weird and great. I’m enjoying it.) Fantastic Four, Avengers, Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Incredible Hulk, Amazing Spider-Man, Dr. Strange, Uncanny X-Men – none of them have ever had a female as regular writer. So I think the next writer for Fantastic Four should be Jen Van Meter. She wrote the 100th Anniversary Fantastic Four comic, and it was pretty good, and showed some promise. Her indie work, Hopeless Savages, is awesome, and has a strong emphasis on family. I think Van Meter could do a great, classic FF book. And I think it would be good for Marvel to let a woman have a crack at one of their longest-running titles.

Related to the lack of female writers: Marvel needs to get Kelly Sue DeConnick as an exclusive writer and invite her to the writer’s retreats. Get her as one of the voices helping to shape the future of their comics. Marvel’s been doing a good job pushing for women lately, but they’re still not doing nearly enough. There’s a lot more they could do. Getting a woman on a main title would be one step. Getting a woman at the writer’s retreats would be another.

But I don’t see either of these things happening. When Fantastic Four gets relaunched, it’ll have a male writer. If Jen Van Meter gets an ongoing, it’ll probably be something like Black Cat. Maybe Scarlet Witch, but even then, a Scarlet Witch ongoing would probably be something of a movie tie-in (but would only start 8 months after the movie leaves the theatres), so they’d probably put a male writer on it. I honestly don’t see them putting a female writer on any of their main titles this decade. Frankly, I wouldn’t be surprised, in the event of a Captain Marvel movie happening, if KSD got removed from the Captain Marvel book and replaced with a male writer. I feel like Marvel simply doesn’t trust women on anything high-profile, so they stick them on titles that aren’t actually meant to sell all that well. It’s up to Marvel to prove that they do genuinely support female creators, by actually giving them important books to write.

I’m sceptical that they’ll do it. Let’s see if they can actually pleasantly surprise me.

I finished reading Land of Nod: The Artifact, which I received through Goodreads. Here’s my review:

I found it OK. It’s a good Middle School-age fantasy story, with short chapters and an interesting story. The characters are a little flat for my own tastes. Jeff, the protagonist, is a good character, insightful and fairly intelligent. If you enjoy fantasy stories aimed at a younger audience, this is pretty decent.

I don’t have much to say about it beyond that. It’s OK, but not great. A decent book for the age group it’s aimed at.

I’m currently reading Virgin, by Radhika Sanghani. The first chapter sucked. It’s otherwise pretty good so far.

I’ve got Seconds and Lost At Sea, both by Bryan Lee O’Malley, coming in the mail. I’ve actually already read Lost At Sea, but I liked it enough that I decided I wanted to own it. So I bought it.

In personal news: I work Thanksgiving, 7-3:30. Ugh. So early. Then, when I get home, I’ll have a turkey dinner. I feel like that’s probably not going to be a particularly fun night for me, to be honest. Well, we’ll see. At least I’ll make a shitload of money. I’ve got nothing else going on to talk about.

That’s all I’ve got.

5 Comments
  1. Part of what makes the “now it’s my turn” moment so good is that, back then, Wolverine was still a mysterious character who we knew was deadly, but didn’t know exactly how far he’d go or how dangerous he was. Now he’s overexposed, had a terrible 50-issue origin series and has inconsistent handling by writers. I mean if you never liked him, that won’t make too much of a difference, but when you take all the mystery out of a character that’s supposed to be mysterious, you ruin much of the charm. His death kind of is the only story left to tell about him right now.

    The death of Gwen Stacey and Jean Grey’s sacrifice in the Dark Phoenix Saga really are the two most important moments in Marvel’s history. Which one you find more memorable really depends on which franchise you prefer. Being an X-Men fan, Jean Grey’s sacrifice is my choice too.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if the Fantastic Four takes a bit of a break, partly because of Fox’s upcoming FF movie (which sounds worse with every news story related to it). There seems to be a lot of animosity between Marvel and Fox lately, and I’d much sooner blame Fox than I would Marvel with how badly they’ve mishandled almost every Marvel project they’ve done.

    And I agree with you on giving female writers a chance on a major title. Sure, they’ve given female artists major books lately, but female writers often feel like they get the short end of the stick. Kathryn Immonen needs something, and they really didn’t do enough to promote her Journey Into Mystery run. At least Kelly Sue has Captain Marvel for now, and she has said somewhere that she struggles when dealing with two ongoings at the same time. I haven’t read anything from Jen Van Meter, but if she was given a book I was at least mildly interested in, I’d give it a chance just to show some support.

    • Jen Van Meter’s Hopeless Savages indie comic is awesome. And she’s done some solid work for Marvel, though nothing major. But I definitely recommend Hopeless Savages, if you can find it, especially Vol. 2.

  2. AshaMan permalink

    Batgirl totally rocks. Love the purple outfit

  3. Hamburger Time permalink

    I love that a gay love story saved the universe. I doubt even ten years ago they’d be allowed to do that.

    • Yeah, it’s definitely a great change of pace. Given it took until Children’s Crusade for Billy and Teddy to even be shown kissing, I like that Gillen made their relationship not only a central focus of the series, but even the thing that ultimately saved the day.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

