Skip to content

Pull list for October 15 2014

October 13, 2014

Happy Thanksgiving, to any fellow Canadians. For any Americans, Happy Monday. I actually worked today, from 7-3:30. Doing shelving and stocking and stuff, since the store was closed. And now I’m getting ready for turkey dinner.

I’ll be going to the store on Wednesday for: Deadpool’s Art of War #1, by Peter David and Scott Koblish; Loki: Agent of Asgard #7, by Al Ewing and Jorge Coelho; Ms. Marvel #9, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona; Spider-Man 2099 #5, by Peter David and Rick Leonardi; Storm #4, by Greg Pak and Victor Ibanez; Uncanny X-Men #27, by Brian Bendis and Chris Bachalo.

I’ll also review: Axis #2, by Rick Remender and Adam Kubert; Death of Wolverine #4, by Charles Soule and Steve McNiven; Logan Legacy #1, by Charles Soule and Oliver Nome; Magneto #11, by Cullen Bunn and Gabriel Walta; Wolverine and the X-Men #10, by Jason Latour and a bunch of artists.

So I’ll be buying 6 comics, and doing 9 reviews. A heavier week than the past couple. But not too bad.

I’m most excited, of course, for Ms. Marvel. Because it’s Ms. Marvel. It’s always a delight. Just a wonderful series. I’m giving Deadpool’s Art of War one issue to impress me. I’ve generally been unimpressed with the Deadpool minis of the past few years. But there does seem to have been a move back to treating the character with some respect, and I love PAD as a writer. PAD is, in fact, the only reason I’m giving this first issue a try. By the way, last week, I saw someone criticizing the more serious tone Deadpool’s series took starting with The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. The person was saying they don’t want to read an emotional Deadpool, they just want fart jokes. This person is not a Deadpool fan. I’ll say it right-out: Anyone who doesn’t want real emotions in a Deadpool comic is not a fan of the character. They’re a fan of a shitty caricature of the character. Deadpool is a tragic character, and he simply doesn’t work without a certain degree of angst. The amount of angst can vary from one story to the next. It’s fine having occasional arcs that are just ridiculous comedy. But it always needs to be remembered that he is a tragic character.

Other comic news: NYCC was this weekend. We’ve gotten a few announcements. Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson, was announced a couple days before the con. I’ll be buying that. Squirrel Girl is a fun character, and while the Henderson cover was pretty ugly, a Google Image search suggests she normally has an adorable style. Spider-Gwen is getting an ongoing, by Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez. I have no plans to buy that. Marvel’s big 2015 event is going to be a new Secret Wars. I’ve recently re-read the original Secret Wars, and I can’t say I particularly cared for it. So this event means nothing to me. Especially since I’m not a fan of Hickman’s Avengers run. Naturally, some people are speculating that it’s going to lead to a reboot, because some people never frigging learn, no matter how often they’re wrong. There’s a new Ant-Man series, a new Hawkeye series, a Peggy Carter mini. Black Vortex will be an event crossing over All-New X-Men, Guardians of the Galaxy, Captain Marvel, Legendary Star-Lord, Nova and Cyclops. Gamora’s getting an ongoing, to be written by Nicole Perlman, the screenwriter for the Guardians of the Galaxy movie. G. Willow Wilson will be doing an arc of X-Men after Guggenheim finishes up, which is awesome. I’m excited for that, and I hope it leads to Wilson getting more big jobs. Silk is getting an ongoing, which will be drawn by Stacey Lee, who’s amazingly talented. March is going to have a month of Women of Marvel variant covers, all drawn by female artists. It’s like Marvel looked at DC’s “Bombshells” month, saw the complaints some people had, and decided to do their own version of it demonstrating the proper way to do a month of female covers. All in all, the things I’m most interested in are Squirrel Girl and Wilson’s X-Men arc.

I did have some disappointments, mostly related to the fact that there’s only one new ongoing written by a woman (Gamora), and only one new ongoing starring a person of colour (Silk). And no new ongoings with an LGBT lead, though there will be the weekly Wolverines series, which will have Daken and Mystique (both bisexual, though Mystique’s bisexuality is something that’s basically never actually addressed on-panel; maybe this new series will do something with it, though I wouldn’t bet on it), along with Laura and Sabretooth. I will not be buying this series. I’m also a bit annoyed at the comics press for how little it seemed to care about the Women of Marvel panel. That was one I was interested in, but there’s been no coverage of the panel itself. Only brief overviews of the announcements made. With all the women at the panel, I’d hoped to get an idea of what they talked about, what questions were asked, all that stuff. But nope. I’m also disappointed that there’s still no word about any women being signed on to be exclusive, so they can take part in writers’ retreats. Those remain sausage-fests. And naturally, women aren’t being allowed to write any male-led solo comics. They can only write the female-led titles. Oh well.

In personal news: I got another nice pay on Friday, so I picked up a few more My Little Pony figurines. I picked up 5 packs, and got Rainbow Shine, Peachy Sweet, Strawberry Sunrise, Royal Riff and another Lotus Blossom – my first-ever duplicate. So that was $4 wasted, but the other four are OK. Peachy Sweet and Rainbow Shine are basically clones, except that Shine has wings. Other than the wings, they use the same mold.

I finished reading Virgin, by Radhika Sanghani. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

I received this as a Goodreads Giveaway. I want to say, right off, the first chapter was awful. Just bad writing. It felt like an amateur, online writer. After that, the style did get better. Even so, it still definitely feels like a debut novel. It’s mostly OK. The protagonist can be annoying at times, especially when she angsts about her virginity, but she can also be a lot of fun, especially when she and her friends complain about social standards and expectations on women. Or when they gossip. I am not a girl, so there’s obviously plenty of stuff in here that I have no experience with, but it still amused me to read about them.

I wouldn’t give this a strong recommendation. But if you want to read a book about a young woman in university who describes her vagina in rather graphic detail, then this isn’t a bad book.

Not being a girl, I can’t really say for sure, but I suspect this book does do a good job of capturing the experiences of some young women. I generally enjoyed the book, but it’s definitely not a great one. I gave it three stars out of five. Next, I’ll read the second Land of Nod book, while I wait for my other two won books to come in (and Seconds, which I bought; I need to read that).

I’m off work tomorrow and Friday. I work 3-7 Thursday, so I probably won’t be posting that day. 8-1 Friday, so I’ll post on Friday. Off Saturday, then 4-8:30 Sunday, 3-11 Monday, and off next Tuesday. So my posting schedule for this week will be Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Tuesday. I’ll try to get my pull list post for next week posted on Monday again.

That’s it for today.

One Comment
  1. G'kar permalink

    Secret wars I will check out, as far a the Black Vortex goes Captain Marvel may be the only book of that crossover I read. Sam Humphries is hit or miss for me, Bendis I could care less about his bad writing and Cyclops well have never read mainly because I’ve never care much for him so I don’t know if it’s good or not. Who knows maybe at the end of the crossover Carol can go back earth interact with her supporting cast and be free of Bendis’s crap.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

