Skip to content

Pull list for October 22 2014

October 20, 2014

I’m off again Wednesday. Yay! So reviews will be up that day.

I’ll be going to the store for: All-New Ghost Rider #8, by Felipe Smith and Damion Scott; All-New X-Factor #15, by Peter David and Carmine Di Giandomenico; My Little Pony: Friends Forever #10, by Christine Rice and Agnes Garbowski; New Warriors #11, by Chris Yost and Marcus To; She-Hulk #9, by Charles Soule and Javier Pulido; The Wicked + The Divine #5, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie; X-Force #11, by Simon Spurrier and Rock-He Kim.

I’ll also review: Amazing X-Men #12, by Chris Yost, Kyle Craig and Carlo Barberi; Axis #3, by Rick Remender and Mike Deodato; Cyclops #6, by John Layman and Javi Garron; Deadpool #36, by Gerry Duggan, Brian Posehn and Mike Hawthorne; Logan Legacy #2, by Tim Seeley and Ariela Kristantina.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up physically, and 7 reviews total.

I’m most looking forward to She-Hulk and TW+TD. She-Hulk has been fun from the start, and I’m digging the current story of her representing Steve Rogers in court against Daredevil. I’m eager to see how that goes, and to get more of the story of why Steve’s being sued. As for TW+TD, well, it’s the end of the first arc, and it’s been amazing so far, so how could the finale be anything less than awesome?

I do want to mention how hopeful I am that Avengers #37, with Captain Marvel on the cover, has her in a major role in the issue itself. She actually hasn’t done much under Hickman. I’d like to see him give her something big. I’m kinda doubting it, though.

In other comic news: A few days ago, the new cast for the relaunched Uncanny Avengers was revealed. Scarlet Witch, Rogue, Quicksilver, Vision, Brother Voodoo, Captain Falcon, and Sabretooth. Obviously, I’ve been pretty critical of Remender all along his UA run (and even before it started). So it may be surprising that I say I approve of this team. Out of 7 characters, four belong to real-world minorities (Falcon and Voodoo are both black, Wanda and Quicksilver are both half-Jew/half-Gypsy). Sabretooth’s a bastard, but other than that, most of the characters are largely reasonable, and the team doesn’t seem designed to hate each other. I’m hoping this means Remender’s going to do a different type of team story. A story that isn’t about the team hating each other and splitting apart, causing problems they’re forced to resolve by slowly coming back together. Maybe he could do a story about a team that actually does work together. If he does, it will be literally his first Marvel team book that does have a team actually working together. I’d like it if it had a more optimistic tone, too, moving away from the often oppressively miserable feel his work usually has. Include some more humour, some more stuff of characters hanging out and having fun together. That sort of thing. I hope so.

I read Seconds, by Bryan Lee O’Malley, last week. I loved it. It’s a weird, funny, creepy, sweet, clever book. There’s a lot of humour from Katie, the protagonist, arguing with the narration. There’s other types of humour, too, of course. There’s a nice romantic plot, and a wonderful story of her becoming friends with another girl. There’s some interesting mystical stuff with “the spirit of the house.” And there’s some surprisingly dark stuff. O’Malley’s not generally known for being dark, but he gets a great horror vibe at times here. His art style is adorable, a bit of a chibi-anime-type style. It works for comedy, of course. He’s always made it work for drama. Here, he makes it work for horror, too. Awesome book. I loved it, and I very highly recommend it.

In personal news: I work Thursday6:30-11, Friday 5-9, Saturday 6:30-11. So no posts those three days. I actually have little going on in my life, unfortunately, so I have not much really to talk about. No Goodreads wins this week. I’m getting first aid training next month, so that’s cool.

I did apply for a job at Yukon College. In Whitehorse. For American readers, the Yukon Territory is beside Alaska. So it’s very far north, and gets pretty cold. I’m not a big fan of the cold, so it’s possible I’d be kinda miserable in Whitehorse. But for $50 000 a year, I’d be glad to be miserable. I don’t mind the boredom – I’m bored in Cornwall, too. It’s the cold that would get to me. But I’d be working in a library, and that matters to me. That would make me happy. It’s what I want to do. And Yukon College is as good a place as any to do it, really. And actually, I think it would probably be pretty cool moving up there. It’d be an adventure. I’ve never been one for adventures, so it’d be a really rewarding experience getting to go on one. And even the cold wouldn’t be that big a deal, frankly. I mean, it’s cold here, too. I’d have to be very, very careful, because it gets colder up there than it does here, but “be outside less” isn’t exactly a burden.

I was reading up on Whitehorse while typing this. And you know what? I think I actually would like to try living in Whitehorse. It’s the city with the least air pollution in the world. It’s apparently a little bit milder than other northern cities, because it’s in a valley. That far north, I’d be able to see the Northern Lights, and man, I figure it’d take some time for that to stop being amazing. So I feel like I actually might kinda like the city. Maybe I’d hate it. Won’t know until I’ve been there. And I might end up loving it. And, again $50 000 a year. I’d be making at least $29 an hour, and I’d be working 75 hours bi-weekly. That’s great pay, for a job that I am absolutely qualified for. No doubt in my mind that I could do it, and that I’d love doing it. And since it’s in Whitehorse, I can’t imagine too many people applying for it. I mean, how many people want to live in the Arctic? I’m hoping that does lead to less competition for the position. If I can get the job, it would be an amazing opportunity for me.

Other news: My friend wants me to put together a Christmas list. In October. Halloween’s not even over. She wants it early because she’s paranoid about things taking forever in the mail. Anyway, I’m putting together my list. Just books. I figure I’ll list a half-dozen books, and let her decide which to get me. The books I’m probably going to ask her for are: Drawn To Marvel (poetry about superheroes), Dungeons and Drag-Queens (a fantasy novel about drag queens, which is a book that exists and how awesome is that?), Ages of the X-Men, The Law of Superheroes, Steampunk World by Sarah Hans, and In Real Life by Cory Doctorow. Those are the half-dozen I’m thinking of suggesting. I may change my mind on some of them. There’s plenty of other books I could suggest. I’ll figure it out in a few days.

Other than that, I’ve nothing new to talk about. So I’ll leave off here.

3 Comments
  1. Hamburger Time permalink

    I would jump at the chance to live in the Arctic, especially by the sea. Was up in Alaska for summer vacation and adored it.

    • Well, you went up in the summer, when the weather was tolerable. I wonder if you’d be so eager to live there in January.

  2. The city with the least amount of air pollution in the world would definitely be a plus. I know an older couple that worked in the northern part of Yukon for a few years. One advantage to living that far north is that there aren’t any bugs, but the winter can get rough to the point where you have to completely cover up. Being in a southern part of the territory in a valley would probably help a lot. The city even had its own Comic Con this year that was apparently successful and they plan to do it again next year.

    I’m not sure how I feel about Sabertooth taking Wolverine’s moniker, even unofficially. Wolverine was a dick sure, but there are panels of Sabertooth eating live kittens and going out of his way to murder all sorts of innocent people. Judging by the Logan Legacy 3 art we’ve seen so far, he goes so far as to dress random people as Wolverine just to murder them. He can be fun as a villain when written well but 616 Sabertooth is far too evil for me to accept as remotely close to a hero.I doubt Axis’s Inversion will convince me otherwise. I hope this Wolverine moniker thing is only temporary so that someone more deserving can take over.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

