Skip to content

Pull list for November 12 2014

November 11, 2014

I won’t be doing my reviews tomorrow. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do it Thursday, instead.

I’ll be going to the store to pick up: Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #1, by Al Ewing and Luke Ross; Captain Marvel #9, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Marcio Takara; My Little Pony: Friends Forever #11, by Ted Anderson and Jay P. Fosgitt; She-Hulk #10, by Charles Soule and Javier Pulido; Silver Surfer #7, by Dan Slott and Michael Allred.

I’ll also review: Axis #5, by Rick Remender and Leinil Yu; Bucky Barnes: Winter Soldier #2, by Ales Kot and Marco Rudy; Wolverine Legacy #4, by Tim Seeley and Ariela Kristantina; Guardians 3000 #2, by Dan Abnett and Gerardo Sandoval; Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #2, by Gerry Duggan and Matteo Lolli; Nightcrawler #8, by Chris Claremont and Todd Nauck; Superior Iron Man #1, by Tom Taylor and Yildiray Cinar.

So that’s 5 comics I’m buying, and 7 reviews I’ll be doing.

I’m most excited for Captain Marvel and Silver Surfer. Silver Surfer’s been an amazing book. It’s fun and smart and just delightful. But Captain Marvel’s going to have a Lila Cheney cameo, and that will be awesome. I saw the preview pages, and it’s great. It’s going to be such a fun, awesome issue.

I read Princeless Book 2 this week. As with Book 1, it was really good. I’m not sure if this one is as good as the first one. It’s not much of a difference in quality, at least. It’s still really fun. Book 2 follows Adrienne (and her friend, Bedelia) as she searches for Angelica, the beautiful sister (and third youngest of the family). Angelica turns out to be less in need of rescue than Adrienne had predicted, until Adrienne’s very presence puts Angelica in danger. Angelica is an interesting character. She’s vain, and even sees being beautiful as her art form. She’s surrounded by an entire village of artists who worship her as their muse. But while she’s self-absorbed and not terribly thoughtful, she’s far from being a bad person. She’s actually as nice as she knows how to be. She also gets a background that pokes fun at a few Beautiful Princess tropes, including witches trying to curse her, a knight wanting to marry her when she was 6, things like that. It’s all really fun. The art is really fun and cute, too. It’s all great stuff.

I did archive binges on two webcomics this past week. First was League of Super-Redundant Heroes. It’s a straight-up comedy webcomic, parodying superhero tropes. The main characters are terrible superheroes (the main male protagonist has laser eyes, but doesn’t have actual eyes, so he’s blind, and he’s also mentally handicapped to some degree). There’s a fair bit of offensive humour that I actually didn’t much care for, particularly at the expense of the blind and, even more, the mentally challenged. A supervillain is a mentally challenged kid, and the way he’s drawn and written is, frankly, too much. Still, the actual superhero parody stuff tends to be pretty good. There’s a lot of fanservice, but women do still tend to be portrayed much more sympathetically than men, and the art style is cartoonish enough that the fanservice isn’t actually all that effective anyway.

The other webcomic was another superhero one, Grrl Power. And again, it’s primarily humour driven, but it’s not just a gag comic. There’s an actual story being told, and there is drama and action. Also, lots and lots and holy shit lots of exposition. I think I’m lucky I didn’t start reading the comic early on, because man, there are some huge wall-of-text info-dumps as the writer gets across what the story’s about and how the world he’s created works. He notes a lot of superhero tropes, but he also tries to be at least somewhat realistic. For example, he has a character note that hitting someone with a car is pointless, because if a hero can lift a car, they can probably hit harder than the car could. That’s actually something I’ve thought about before, too. It works for some characters – the low-level superstrength. But someone like the Hulk? A car’s not adding anything for him.

Anyway, the comic is a lot of fun. There’s not too much in the way of offensive humour, except for profanity and excessive fanservice (though, in fairness, he throws in plenty of shirtless men, too, and the main character is short and flat-chested, so she’s not part of the fanservice). There’s a lot of great humour, and there’s a lot of the characters just hanging out. One thing I’ve noticed is that he’s a very looooong writer. His first big group fight scene has been going on, I shit you not, since April. The first punch was thrown in the April 3 strip. He posts two pages a week. So this current battle has been going on for 64 pages, which isn’t that much, until you realize that those pages have taken over 7 months. And it’s still going on. Even funnier: The series started in August 2010 (as a weekly comic, it only seems to have gone twice-a-week this year). It’s currently on strip #265. And it’s still on the first day. It’s been four years and 265 strips, and it hasn’t even finished the first day yet.

Still. It’s really fun. And it’s actually really good. It’s got good, clever dialogue, an interesting story, and very good art. I’ve enjoy my binge on it, and I’ll keep reading it going forward. Which puts me now at 37 webcomics that update on any regular basis. Though one’s going on hiatus for a while. There’s also a few that currently have irregular updates. A couple of the regular ones, I keep forgetting to check regularly. Oops.

In personal news: My schedule for the next week is 7-11 today, 11:30-7:30 tomorrow, 6-10 Thursday, 7-11 Friday, 9:30-6 Saturday, 6-11:30 Monday. So, you probably shouldn’t really expect any updates this week, aside from a weekly review post on Thursday or Friday. I may still do a normal comic post. See how I feel.

So, embarrassing story time. I went for first aid training on Thursday and Friday. On Friday, we had a section on eyeball injuries. I knew I was going to be squeamish and uncomfortable, but I tried to sit through it. But I started to feel a bit light-headed, so I stepped out of the room and went to the washroom. I took a leak, and I passed out. Luckily, I’d finished going, first. I woke up, and as I was walking back to the class, I rubbed the back of my head, since it felt sore, and found out I was bleeding. I cut it open a bit. So I had to go to the hospital to make sure it wasn’t anything serious. It wasn’t, of course. I didn’t even need stitches. They gave me a tetanus shot and sent me off. I sat in a hospital bed for four hours to get a tetanus shot. And this is still probably the worst injury I can ever recall getting.

The funny thing is that, when we got back from lunch, the instructor had prepared a scenario. He covered his arm in fake blood and had us figure out what we had to do. So when I got back from the washroom with blood on my hand, saying that I had a first aid situation, he initially thought I was joking and had just put some of the fake blood on my hand. Then he checked my head and, nope, not a joke.

So I don’t have my first aid certification. Kind of a shame. Because of frigging eyeball injuries. They didn’t have pictures or anything. But just hearing about “objects protruding from eyeballs” was . . . ugh. No. Just too much for me. So, yeah, that happened. Luckily, I already had Saturday, Sunday and Monday off, to recover. Which also helped me get over a cold I started coming down with last Monday. Not a bad one, luckily. I don’t get bad colds, because I seem to have an inexplicably good immune system. I almost never get sick. Even though I make no effort to take care of myself. I should get way sicker than I do, and way more often.

I bought a few more My Little Pony figures. I bought 3. One was Junebug, which I already had – she’s a Rarity clones. There was Rainbow Swoop, a male pegasus. He’s got a pretty bitchin’ mohawk. I like mohawks, I really do. The third one was Applejack! Woot! She’s not my favourite of the Mane Six – Fluttershy Is Best Pony. Applejack is either fourth or fifth. Maybe tied for fourth, with Twilight Sparkle. (The order goes: Fluttershy, Rarity, Pinkie Pie, Twilight Sparkle, Applejack, Rainbow Dash.) But still, Applejack! She’s cool. She’s just not as awesome as Fluttershy, Rarity and Pinkie Pie. The Applejack figure, sadly, doesn’t come with her hat. Which sucks. But oh well. It’s still cool. I now have half of the rainbow collection. Speaking of Ponies, I need to get around to watching the new Equestria Girls movie. One of these days, I suppose.

I guess that’s all I can think of for now. I’ll do my next pull list post on Monday.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

