Skip to content
Tags

,

Pull list for November 19 2014

November 17, 2014

I’m off this Wednesday. So reviews will go up then.

I’ll go to the store for: Loki: Agent of Asgard #8, by Al Ewing and Jorge Coelho; My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic #25, by Katie Cook and Andy Price; Storm #5, by Greg Pak and Victor Ibanez; Uncanny X-Men #28, by Brian Bendis and Kris Anka; X-Force #12, by Simon Spurrier and Tan Eng Huat.

I’ll also review: Axis #6, by Rick Remender and Leinil Yu; Axis Revolutions #2, by a few people; Deadpool #37, by Gerry Duggan, Brian Posehn and Mike Hawthorne; Weapon X Program #2, by Charles Soule and Salvador Larroca; Magneto #12, by Cullen Bunn and Roland Boschi; Spider-Woman #1, by Dennis Hopeless and Greg frigging Land.

So that’s 5 comics I’m buying, and 9 reviews.

I’m most looking forward to Uncanny X-Men and X-Force. Magneto’s making his return to UXM, so that should be fun, plus there’s presumably still some more of the current arc, with the uber-powerful mutant and such. X-Force has just been a really fun series all along, and while I don’t like Huat’s art, I’m sure the current arc will continue to be great.

Storm, on the other hand . . . I think I’m getting close to dropping Storm. I started pulling it because I wanted to support a minority-led title by a minority writer. I thought Storm deserved an ongoing, so I put my money where my mouth is. But the series has just not been anywhere near as good as it should be. I feel like I’m pulling it out of a sense of obligation, and that’s not the feeling the audience should have. I don’t see the point of it, beyond giving Storm an ongoing. What does Pak have to say about the character? What stories does he have to tell that can’t be told elsewhere? So far, it’s been nothing. The series needs to get a direction, and it needs a direction now. But for now, I’m close to dropping it.

I finished reading Land of Nod: The Prophet. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

The second book in the Land of Nod trilogy is much like the first. This one does split the perspective, with one side of the story focusing on Jeff’s search for his father, and the other side on Artimus trying to get the city ready for war with the pheerions. Both sides are fairly well-done and interesting. The writing style remains very simple and straightforward, and the book is a quick read. It’s not a great book, but it’s a pretty good middle-school-age story.

I need to be careful with the Giveaways I enter. I’m not the target audience at all for a book like this. Middle-grade books aren’t for me. They never really have been. I was never much for those kinds of books, I think. The next book I’ll be reading is Legend of Arslan, which is a manga. I’ve never actually read a manga before. So we’ll see how I like that. No more winds from Goodreads. It’s been a while. October 7 was the last time I won a book, so it’s been over a month now. Though I still haven’t received one of the books I won in September. I get the feeling I probably won’t be receiving it. Oh well.

In personal news: Work has been pretty crazy lately. Friday night, starting at around 10, it was just insanely busy for the entire last hour. I don’t know why, but just that hour was crazy. Then Saturday was pretty much constant all day. My schedule for this week is 4-8 Thursday, 8:30-5 Friday, 10-6:30 next Monday, 7-11 pm next Tuesday. And 5-9 next Wednesday, so my weekly review post will probably go up next Thursday, instead. For this week, I’ll do review posts Saturday and Sunday, and I might do them Friday and Monday. See how I feel on those days.

I still need to get around to watching My Little Pony: Equestria Rocks.

No luck finding a library job. Not many postings I’m actually qualified for, and it’s hard finding the time and energy to do much searching. I really, really need to do a better job of it.

I don’t have much to talk about this week. It’s been a really boring week for me. Maybe I’ll have more next week.

 

One Comment
  1. My most anticipated of the week is between Amazing Spider-Man 10 and Uncanny X-men 28, with Black Widow 12 a close third. X-Force is also up there for sure – best X-Force series in a while even if the sales numbers unfortunately aren’t that high. Also picking up Supergirl 36, Witchblade 179, Guardians of the Galaxy 21, Magneto 12 and X-Force 12.

    I’m also pretty close to dropping Storm. She has plenty of potential as a solo character, but the series has been nothing special. Judging by the fast dropping sales numbers though, it won’t last much longer anyway. Even with the Death of Wolverine tie-in, the book dropped by 4,000 from issue 3 to 4. Guardians of the Galaxy is another title I’m considering dropping. I’ll give it one more storyline to win me over, but the quality has been so inconsistent.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

