Skip to content

Pull list for November 26 2014

November 25, 2014

I work tomorrow. So reviews will go up on Thursday, instead, most likely. I’ll still go to the store tomorrow, though.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Ghost Rider #9, by Felipe Smith and Damion Scott; Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #2, by Al Ewing and Luke Ross; New Warriors #12, by Chris Yost, Erick Burnham and Marcus To; Spider-Man 2099 #6, by Peter David and Rick Leonardi.

I’ll also review: Amazing X-Men #13, by Craig Kyle, Chris Yost and Carlo Barberi; Cyclops #7, by Greg Rucka and Javi Garron; Logan Legacy #5, by someone; Deathlok #2, by Nathan Edmondson and Mike Perkins; Superior Iron Man #2, by Tom Taylor and Yildiray Cinar; Wolverine and the X-Men #12, by Frank Tieri and Jorge Jimenez.

So that’s four comics I’ll be picking up, and 6 reviews. Not a particularly heavy week.

I’m most looking forward to All-New Ghost Rider. Smith’s been doing some phenomenal work on this series, and I’m always excited to see what’s next.

I should also note that Nelvana of the Northern Lights will be coming out Wednesday. It’s being published by IDW. I’ve talked about it in the past. Nelvana of the Northern Lights was Canada’s first national superhero, one of the earlier female superheroes, and a surprisingly good comic, considering it was originally published back in the 1940s. I’d definitely recommend giving it a look.

February solicits came out last Tuesday. Some thoughts:

The cover for Black Vortex: Alpha has Magik in a stupid brokeback tits-and-ass pose. Dammit, McGuinness, that shit stopped being acceptable years ago, so why the hell did you do it here? A much better cover is Storm #8. Stephanie Hans is amazing. And Avengers #41’s cover is going to be an homage to Ultimates #1, which is kinda neat.

Mighty Avengers #5 looks like it’s going to have White Tiger fighting some weird creature. That should be cool. I like White Tiger. I’d love for her to get a bigger profile. Squirrel Girl #2 has Galactus, which is a little disappointing. I was hoping the book would play down the insanely powerful threats. I was hoping she’d be facing threats that were more just bizarre. Ah, well. I’m sure it’ll still be fun. Captain Marvel looks like it’s coming to a big action-filled arc, which should be awesome. Ms. Marvel is doing a Valentine’s Day issue. Which is awesome. With special guest star Loki! Yay! All-New Ghost Rider is going to have problems for Gabe. Nooo! Not Gabe! Gabe’s awesome.

Inhuman is going to have a Medusa vs. Black Bolt fight. I’m rooting for Medusa. She’s been a hardcore badass for the past few years. Way, way cooler than Black Bolt ever was. And way cooler than she ever was when Black Bolt was around. Nikki will finally be showing up in Guardians 3000. She’d better be sticking around, not just doing a guest appearance thing. Nikki’s cool, she needs to be kept around. And I still call bullshit on the excuse that Abnett was just “following the history” of the original Guardians, because he gave Vance Astro the shield, even though he only got it in the ’90s.

The Hulk solicit makes it look like something bad will happen to Lyra. Which sucks. Lyra’s cool. I like her. Elektra’s done, and it looks like X-Force might also be ending that month. That’s how the solicit read to me, anyway. Mark Waid will apparently be leaving Daredevil soon, which is a shame.

Uncanny X-Men looks like it’ll have a big issue for Scott. It talks about him being driven to the edge of disaster. Bendis has been doing some great work with Scott, so I’m excited for that issue. X-Men is going to have Storm dealing with her claustrophobia again. I’m sure Wilson will do a good job with it.

My February pull list from Marvel is: All-New X-Men #38, Spider-Man 2099 #9, Operation SIN #2 (maybe), Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #5, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2, Angela #3, Rocket Raccoon #8, Loki #11, Captain Marvel #12, Silver Surfer #10, Ms. Marvel #12, All-New Ghost Rider #11, X-Force #12, Uncanny X-Men #32, possibly Storm #8, X-Men #24. 14-16 comics, which is actually less than usual for me.

So, I didn’t talk about this on Wednesday, but Avengers #38 did finally reveal the LGBT member of Hickman’s Avengers. It’s Pod. Who’s Pod? Well, a year or so ago, the Avengers fought some alien-robot-looking thing, and it beat them up on behalf of AIM. And then it disappeared until this issue. It turns out that one of Ex Nihilo’s Origin Bombs landed on a Norwegian lesbian, and she became the ultimate self-defence system. So, meh. I am underwhelmed by this character.

I read The Heroic Legend of Arslan. It’s the first manga I’ve read. Not my thing. It was OK, but not great.

I read The Adventures of Superhero Girl, by Faith Erin Hicks. It’s great. It’s funny and adorable and delightful. Superhero Girl is a very relatable character, with all sorts of familiar problems. And she’s also awesome. The art is just so totally cute. The book is an utter delight. Read it.

In personal news: My work schedule this week is 5-9 tomorrow, 5:30-9:30 Thursday, 11-7 Friday, 4:30-8:30 Sunday, 10-6:30 Monday. So I should be able to do posts on Saturday and Tuesday. I’ll work next Wednesday, off the Thursday, so my reviews next week will be a day late.

Last week, one of my exes came through my cash register. A girl I dated in high school. She’s got three kids now. None of them are mine.

There’s a new set of My Little Pony figures, so I picked up a few of them. I got Rainbow Dash, Candy Apples, Flash Sentry, Buttonbelle, Ruby Splash and Sunny Breezie. Candy Apples is an Applejack clone, Buttonbelle and Ruby Splash are both Pinkie Pie clones. Sunny Breezie is cool. It looks like there’s three Breezies in the set. I probably only need the one. It is a bit of a pain to keep standing. Now that I have a Rainbow Dash figure, the only one of the Mane Six I don’t have is Rarity. Unfortunately, she doesn’t come in this set. So I’ll need to wait until they do another set before I can get her. I hope I get another Fluttershy, too – the one I have is from kind of a lame set. The current one’s OK. It’s solid colours, no sparkles. I like sparkly ponies. I did get sparkly Twilight Sparkle, so that’s something. I still need to get around to watching the Rainbow Rocks movie.

My friend and I did our Christmas gift exchange on Friday. Yes, over a month before Christmas. She lives an hour away, so it’s tough to tell when we would’ve had another chance to get together. So we did it when we got the chance. I got her some bath stuff from Lush, a homemade cosmetics company. I got her this, a set of bath stuff that came in a box wrapped with a Rudolph fabric. It looked adorable, so it was really my only choice.

She got me three books. There’s Dungeons & Drag-Queens, a fantasy novel with drag queens. There’s The Law of Superheroes, a book that looks at how the law would apply to superheroes. That should be really interesting. I turned to a random page that showed a scene of Lex Luthor torturing Superman, and underneath, it asked if it would count as aggravated assault or as animal abuse. After all, Superman’s not actually human. It’s an interesting question. The third book was The Adventures of Superhero Girl, which I talked about above. Just so frigging adorable and fun and great. Also, Canadian! Hicks is Canadian, and the book is set in Canada! Woot for Canada!

Man. Last week I had nothing to talk about. This week, I had tons. But that’s it for now.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

