Skip to content

Pull list for December 3 2014

December 3, 2014

I work today, but I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will go up then.

I’ll go to the store to pick up: All-New X-Factor #17, by Peter David and Carmine Di Giandomenico; Angela: Asgard’s Assassin #1, by Kieron Gillen, Marguerite Bennett, Phil Jimenez and Stephanie fricking Hans (yay!).

I’ll also review: Axis #7, by Rick Remender and Adam Kubert; Axis Revolutions #3, by multiple people; Deadpool #38, by Gerry Duggan, Brian Posehn and Mike Hawthorne; Weapon X Program #3, by Charles Soule and Salvador Larroca; Guardians 3000 #3, by Dan Abnett and Gerardo Sandoval. I’ll also give a brief mention of Hulk #9, since Kitty Pryde will be in it.

So that’s two comics I’m picking up, and seven reviews. A very light week. Oddly light. Oh well.

I’m most looking forward to Angela. I don’t care about the character, at all. But Kieron Gillen is one of my all-time favourite writers, and Stephanie Hans is one of my all-time favourite artists. Hans’ work is just insanely gorgeous. She mostly does covers, and they’re all amazing. But she’s done a few interiors, too. There was Fearless Defenders #7, easily the best issue of that entire run. There was Journey Into Mystery #645, for which I still hate Kieron Gillen, but it was a beautiful issue. She did Avengers Origins: Ant-Man & the Wasp, which was really good. Inhumanity: Superior Spider-Man, which was pretty good but looked gorgeous. Her art is just insanely beautiful. And it’s going to be in every single issue of Angela. That is an incredible treat. I’m also looking forward to Marguerite Bennett. She’s done very little for Marvel – a back-up in the Amazing X-Men Annual, the Deathstrike issue of Logan Legacy, and co-wrote the Death of Wolverine issue of Nightcrawler, and that’s it – but I’ve enjoyed those little bits. I like a lot of female writers, so I expect to like Bennet’s work, too. I am curious how much I’m going to hate Gillen by the end of the series. I mean, his JiM run had me wanting to drown him in a pool of my tears. So I’m wondering how prepared I should be for heart-wrenching agony. Also, for anyone else here who read JiM, have some feels:

Journey Into Mystery #645

My soul hurts.

So, last week, I ranted a bit about Wolverine and the X-Men #12, written by Frank Tieri. My hatred of the Hellfire Brats somewhat distracted me. I feel there’s actually a whole lot more about the issue that deserved to be criticized. In fact, it might be even more in need of being criticized. First, a quick recap: Storm crashed a Hellfire party, where she made out with a guy, slapped and then kissed his girlfriend, beat up some bouncers, stole some money out of a cash register, blew everyone away from her, then claimed Quire had mind-controlled her into doing it all. All of this was a way of getting back at him for leaving the school. So. Anyone see some of the problems here? Storm’s inverted as a result of Axis, so it being out of character for her is kinda the point. So that’s not a problem. But there’s a couple things about it that are still really uncomfortable.

Well, let’s start with the fact that Tieri wrote a black woman as a crazy, manipulative psycho bitch who outright said she does what she wants. She was one finger-snap away from being a stereotype. Some people have talked about her being written as strong. No. No, this is the exact opposite of a strong female character. This is a stereotype.

But there’s another problem too, and it has to do with Storm kissing a girl. Last week, there were three X-titles with same-sex kisses. In Amazing X-Men, and illusory cute boy kissed a human-looking Anole, as a “this is what you’re missing out on by being a freak” thing. It was something that was vital to the story – remove it, and it weakens the story. In Logan Legacy, Daken kissed a guy who’d been a former lover. The scene added a nice emotional touch. The kiss probably could’ve been removed without it hurting the story, but its presence did still add something. Storm kissing the girl? It added nothing. It was cheap and exploitative, intended to titillate. And worse, this is the first time Storm’s shown a bisexual side, and it’s only while she’s inverted. She’s only bisexual when she’s evil. Maybe you’re familiar with the Depraved Bisexual trope? I have a hunch Frank Tieri might not be, because Storm falls into that here. It’s worth remembering that Tieri also wrote the infamous issue of Wolverine that ended with a “Punisher’s gay hurr durr” joke. I don’t know if he’s written other stuff that’s more LGBT-inclusive, but that Wolverine issue does set an unfortunate precedence in regards to his handling of LGBT content.

So, yeah. Not a writer I have much respect for.

Last night’s Agents of SHIELD: So Mac was the first member of the cast to die. The black guy died first. Because it’s not like that’s an old and tired cliche. Bleh.

I read Dungeons & Drag-Queens, by MP Johnson. Here’s what I said about it on Goodreads:

I got this purely based on the title. I was really hoping for a humourous but sincere fantasy epic with drag queens as protagonists. I was very disappointed to find how short it is, and just how little real sincerity is in the book. It’s too caught up in being “irreverent,” which often comes down to attempts at gross-out humour. Characters are all one-note, and get tiring fast, including the protagonist. What little attempts at drama there are usually end up feeling obligatory, something that has to be there but which are pushed through as quickly as possible to get get back to Sleazella saying something sassy.

I wanted a fun fantasy adventure. I got a girl sticking her finger up a spider’s ass. This wasn’t a good book.

This could have been so good, if the writer had treated the concept seriously. If it had been treated as something more than a joke. An epic fantasy adventure with drag queens? That sounds amazing! It could be used to explore gender identity in a fun and clever way. But this book never got anywhere near clever. Ugh. The next book to read is The Law of Superheroes. That should be a lot of fun.

In personal news: My schedule this week is 3:30-11:30 Friday, 11-7:30 Sunday, 7:30-11:30 Monday, 2:30-11 next Wednesday. So I can do posts on Saturday and Tuesday. And maybe Monday, see how I feel.

I finally won another book from Goodreads. The Bone Flower Queen, by TL Morganfield. It’s classed as historical fiction and fantasy. It’s apparently set in 10 century Mexico, which is neat. So hopefully it’s good.

I kinda want a girlfriend. But I’m not good at talking to people. And I’m not actually sure I want a girlfriend where I am now. I don’t want to stay in this town. I want to leave, first chance I get. Getting a girlfriend would feel like I’m resigning myself to staying here and working at Wal-Mart. I don’t want to feel that way. Also, dating would be a distraction from the things I like doing, which are all solitary activities. Which is a silly reason not to date, I know, but still. There’s also a degree of self-consciousness. I’m almost 30, working part-time at Wal-Mart, and living with my mom and my older brother. I’m kind of in a shitty place right now, which makes me think that I’m probably not in a good place to be dating. And, on top of all that, I keep wondering if I’m wanting to date for the right reasons. So it all boils down to me making no particular effort to go looking, but not actively rejecting any opportunities that come up. I’m on a dating site, I check it two or three days a week, and that’s good enough for me. I’m not all that bothered by being single. I just miss some of the intimacy. But meh, I have a cat.

I need to give my mom my Christmas list. I’ll figure it out this week.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

