Skip to content

Pull list for January 7 2015

January 6, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so I’ll do my reviews. And maybe complain about the cold. Because it is colder than the devil’s taint these days.

I’ll pick up: All-New X-Factor #19, by Peter David and Carmine Di Giandomenico; Angela Asgard’s Assassin #2, by Kieron Gillen, Phil Jimenez, Marguerite Bennett and Stephanie Hans; My Little Pony Friends Forever #13, by Jeremy Whitley and Agnes Garbowska; Operation SIN #1, by Kathryn Immonen and Rich Ellis; Spider-Man 2099 #8, by Peter David and Will Sliney; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson; X-Men #23, by G. Willow Wilson and someone.

I’ll also review: Ant-Man #1, by Nick Spencer and Ramon Rosanas; Bucky Barnes The Winter Soldier #3, by Ales Kot and Marco Rudy; Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #4, by Gerry Duggan and Matteo Lolli; Legendary Star-Lord #7, by Sam Humphries and Freddie Williams II; Storm #7, by Greg Pak and Victor Ibanez; Wolverines #1, by Charles Soule and Nick Bradshaw.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and 11 reviews. You may notice Storm’s in the second list. As I said last month, the series has been underwhelming, so I’m no longer picking up a physical copy.

I’m most looking forward to X-Men and Squirrel Girl. Wilson’s been doing fantastic work on Ms. Marvel, which has earned her a degree of trust in her upcoming X-Men arc. I’m excited to see how she writes the characters, and I’m hoping for something big. Squirrel Girl just looks adorable and fun. It’ll be great. Kelly Thompson of CBR wrote an advance review singing its praises, so I’m confident that I’ll love it. I’m also excited for more of Stephanie Hans’ art in Angela, because she’s an amazing artist.

My pull list for January is: All-New X-Factor #19, Angela #2, Operation SIN #1, Spider-Man 2099 #8, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1, X-Men #23, All-New Ghost Rider #10, All-New X-Men #37, Captain Marvel #11, Ms. Marvel #11, Silver Surfer #9, X-Force #14, All-New X-Factor #20, Deadpool’s Art of War #4, Loki #10, Rocket Raccoon #7, She-Hulk #12, Uncanny X-Men #30 and 31.

So that’s 19 comics I’ll be picking up. Not too bad. Plus, of course, My Little Pony, TW+TD and Bitch Planet. Close to $100 on just Marvel comics. It should be a good month.

I’ve decided not to do a year-in-review post. Mostly out of simple laziness. In brief: Awesome comics include Ms. Marvel, Captain Marvel, She-Hulk, All-New Ghost Rider, Uncanny X-Men, All-New X-Men, X-Force, X-Men and more. Shitty comics include Wolverine and the X-Men, Original Sin. Biggest disappointment is Storm. Pretty Deadly, The Wicked + The Divine and Bitch Planet are all amazing. Good enough? Carrying on.

I suppose I should at least try to make a resolution for 2015. So here it is: I’m going to try to finish reviewing 1985’s X-Men comics before the end of this year. That will be 46 posts. Which should be easy enough to accomplish. Assuming an average of 2 review posts a week – plus my pull list and Wednesday reviews – I’ll probably finish 1985 in June or July. Hopefully, anyway. Then 1986 will take just over 60 posts, so I almost certainly won’t be finishing that this year, but hopefully, I can at least get a chunk of the way through it. I’m also going to try to read at least 12 books this year, one a month, along with a few graphic novels. Between text books and graphic novels, I’m hoping to read 24 books in 2015.

In personal news: I work today 6:30-11, Thursday 10-6:30, Friday 10-6, Sunday 6:30-10:30, Monday 10:30-7, next Tuesday 9-2:30, off next Wednesday. So I’ll have posts Saturday and hopefully Tuesday, with my pull list post on Monday.

I’m actually hanging out with someone before work. In fact, I’m hanging out with her right now. We’re getting dinner. It’s a woman I’ve been talking to online. She’s married, so this isn’t a romantic date or anything. Just friends. She’s in an open relationship with her husband, but she’s into pegging, and . . . no. On the one hand, I feel like I should try it, just once, to confirm that I don’t like it. On the other hand, I really don’t want to. So friends it is. Which is fine. I have no friends in town, so it’ll be nice to have one. Being single isn’t that big a deal, but being friendless gets to be a big drag. I’m not a social person, but even so, I sometimes wish I had someone to hang out with once in a while. So it’ll be nice to actually get that chance.

I won a new book from Goodreads Giveaways. The Devil’s Detective: A Novel, by Simon Kurt Unsworth. It’s classed as a horror and a mystery, two genres I’m not really fond of. So I have no idea why I even entered the giveaway for it. The description seems interesting, though, so we’ll see. I’ve already got four books to read through – The Bone Flower Queen, The Law of Superheroes, Nanowhere and Things Grak Hates. And I’ll probably get at least a couple more for my birthday in a month. And I’ll presumably win at least one more in the time it takes me to read them all. So I doubt I’ll run out of reading material any time soon.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

