Skip to content

Pull list for January 21 2015

January 20, 2015

I work

I’ll go to the store for: All-New X-Factor #20, by Peter David and Carmine Di Giandomenico; All-New X-Men #35, by Brian Bendis and Mahmud Asrar; Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #4, by Al Ewing and Luke Ross; Loki Agent of Asgard #10, by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett; Rocket Raccoon #7, by Skottie Young and Filipe Andrade; The Wicked + The Divine #7, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie.

I’ll also review: Bucky Barnes Winter Soldier #4, by Ales Kot and Langdon Foss; Legendary Star-Lord #8, by Sam Humphries and Freddie Williams; Magneto #14, by Cullen Bunn and Gabriel Walta; Spider-Woman #3, by Dennis Hopeless and Greg Hack Land; Superior Iron man #4, by Tom Taylor and Yildiray Cinar; Wolverines #3, by Charles Soule and Nick Bradshaw.

So that’s 6 comics I’m getting physically, and 8 reviews. Not too bad, I suppose.

I’m most looking forward, I think, to ANXM. It’s always a fun book, and the current Ultimate crossover has been pretty neat. Mighty Avengers is also always great, so I’m excited for that. Especially if White Tiger plays as big a role in the issue as I suspect she will. Loki will have his greatest crime revealed, which should be very, very interesting. And, of course, there’s WicDiv, which I love, but it’s not Marvel, so I’m not counting it among my most anticipated.

Marvel’s April solicits came out yesterday. My pull list for that month is: Spider-Man 2099 #11, Captain Marvel #14, Rocket Raccoon #10, Silver Surfer #11, Ms. Marvel #14, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #4, Angela: Asgard’s Assassin #5, Operation: SIN #4, Loki: Agent of Asgard #13, Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #7, Uncanny X-Men #34, All-New X-Men #40 and 41, X-Men #26. 14 comics. Another light month. Maybe I’ll start picking up Spider-Gwen. I may also add Amazing X-Men to my pull list. Stuff to think about, I suppose.

My thoughts on the solicits: Spider-Man and the X-Men #5 will reveal the mole. This is oddly early to answer a mystery like that. Most books with mysteries like to drag them out. I mean, it’s taking Jason Aaron at least 5 issues to reveal the protagonist in Thor. Black Vortex is going to do a Dark Phoenix thing, with Jean getting crazy powerful, and Scott having to try to help her. Meanwhile, Captain Marvel will fight cosmically-powered Iceman and Groot, which sounds really fun. Silver Surfer #11 looks like it’s going to be absolutely insane, and awesomely so. Ms. Marvel #14 will continue the story of Kamala getting a crush, which I am sure will be totes adorbz. Mighty Avengers #7 promises “Spectrum unleashed,” which should be pretty glorious.

UXM will have Mystique gunning for the team. I love how Anka draws Emma’s costume, since he doesn’t draw it as hotpants. Unfortunately, the interiors will be by Hotpants Bachalo, which means it’ll probably be full of action that’s nearly impossible to follow. ANXM’s arc will involve “the Utopians,” which sounds interesting. And holy hell, the Sorrentino cover is gorgeous. So is the Stephanie Hans cover for Storm, which has a solicit that doesn’t really grab my interest. Amazing X-Men will finish the Juggernaut arc, and the cover’s pretty awesome. Wolverines might be bringing back Romulus, which is just ugh. Uuuugh. No one liked Romulus. He was a stupid character. Deadpool, of course, is dying. And X-Men #26 concludes what the solicit describes as G. Willow Wilson’s “first X-Men tale.” I don’t know if that means she’ll be staying on that book. I hope so. It’d be cool. I’m thinking that the story will end up involving Krakoa, though. That’s what I get from the cover. That might be neat.

Today, Marvel revealed their big Secret Wars announcement: The merger of the 616 and Ultimate universe. An announcement that’s actually been predicted since before Secret Wars was announced. Seriously, people have been expecting this since Ultimatum. So, meh, whatever. I guess we’ll have to wait and see how that turns out. It’ll probably be April or May before we get an idea of what the post-Secret Wars Marvel Universe will look like (when we get the solicits for July or August – I forget which month Secret Wars ends in, and I’m too lazy to look it up).

My work schedule this week is 10-3:30 tomorrow, 7:30-11:30 Sunday, 12-4 Monday, 3:30-7:30 Tuesday. So I’ll be able to do posts Thursday, Friday and Saturday, which will make up a little bit for not having posted at all this past week. But seriously, 7 days in a row? That’s just cruel.

Work was pretty interesting today. I went in at 10. Around 10:30 or so, the debit machines went down. There were only two other cashes open, so I didn’t get a break before I was sent to the new store for training, around 12:15. I got back to the current store around 1:45, and went for lunch. 2:20, I was back on the floor, and since I hadn’t gotten a morning break, I took my break at 3. I left at 3:30, but a few minutes before my shift ended, the cashes went down completely. Items weren’t scanning right. So we couldn’t sell anyone anything. Luckily, that was when my shift ended, so I didn’t really have to deal with that.

And now, I’m off to hang out with my friend.

That’s all for this week. Next pull list next Tuesday.

One Comment
  1. I’m curious about All New X-Men’s Utopians story arc. While it’s been an enjoyable series, 2014 didn’t have as much direction as it probably should have. Hopefully this Utopians arc can bring a more clear direction beyond just developing the characters with fun story arcs that barely connect.

    Black Vortex sounds like so much fun, and April’s solicitations only increase my anticipation for it. Secret Wars … it sounds kind of interesting but I probably won’t read it until sometime after it finishes.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

