Skip to content

Pull list for February 4 2015

February 2, 2015

I work Wednesday until 3. I’ll be fine to get comics and do reviews after work.

I’ll go to the store for: Angela Asgard’s Assassin #3, by Kieron Gillen, Marguerite Bennett, Phil Jimenez and Stephanie Hans; Ms. Marvel #11, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona; Operation SIN #2, by Kathryn Immonen and Rich Ellis; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson

I’ll also review: Ant-Man #2, by Nick Spencer and Ramon Rosanas; Black Vortex #1, by Sam Humphries and Ed McGuinness; Return of the Living Deadpool #1, by Cullen Bunn and Nicole Virella; Wolverines #5, by Ray Fawkes and Andy Clarke.

So I’m picking up 4 comics, and reviewing 8. A light week on my wallet, at least.

I’m most excited for Ms. Marvel. Obviously. It’s always amazing, and this issue’s going to be a big one, as she has a big confrontation with the Inventor. As an aside, all four of my titles this week are female-led solo titles. I just thought that was worth noting.

My pull list for February is: Angela #3; Ms. Marvel #11; Operation SIN #2; Squirrel Girl #2; Rocket Raccoon #8; X-Men #24; All-New Ghost Rider #11; Captain Marvel #12; Silver Surfer #10; X-Force #15; Mighty Avengers #5; Loki #11; Uncanny X-Men #31; All-New X-Men #36.; Spider-Man 2099 #9. 15 titles. There might be a couple others that aren’t on the Newsarama solicits from 3 months ago, though. I am also considering picking up Silk. It’s not that I care about the character, or the writer. It’s Stacey Lee. She has such a great art style. Plus, it’s nice to support female creators, and diverse characters. I’m actually also thinking of adding Nova. I’ve been reading it other ways, and it’s a good book, and I do like supporting good books with minority leads. And of course, I’m also considering Spider-Gwen, because obviously. I’ll decide on them later, though.

In personal news: My schedule this week is 8:30-4:30 Friday, 2-10 Saturday, 10:30-7 Sunday, and then I’m off Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. And while it’ll be nice to have three days off in a row, it does mean next week is very light on hours, which kinda sucks, because I needs money. Regardless, I’ll probably be doing normal posts Thursday, Monday and Tuesday, and I’ll do my next pull list on Sunday. So I may not have much to talk about in that post. Oh well.

My birthday is Friday. And I have to work at 8:30 in the frigging morning. Ugh. Uuuuugh. Sucks. I guess my next pull list post will be about what I got for my birthday. I’ll probably be hanging out with my best friend this week, hopefully. I haven’t seen her in over two months.

I haven’t won anything from Goodreads for a few weeks. Oh well. I’ve got two books to read already, plus whatever I get for my birthday. And I’m supposed to have a book in the mail, but it’s been a month and I still haven’t gotten it. This may end up being the second book I don’t actually receive.

That’s all for this week.

2 Comments
  1. Happy Birthday in advance. I find that I read more female-led titles than male titles also, and that’s not just to support them. More often than not I just enjoy them more and I can’t really explain why.

    • My guess is we enjoy the female-led titles because their experiences are different from our own. It helps that the female-led titles are pretty much universally excellent, with the unfortunate exception of the mediocre Storm title.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

