Skip to content

Pull list for February 11 2015

February 9, 2015

I’m off Wednesday, so no delays on my weekly reviews.

I’ll go to the store to pick up: All-New Ghost Rider #11, by Felipe Smith; All-New X-Men #36, by Brian Bendis and Mahmud Asrar; Captain Marvel #12, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and David Lopez; Princeless Pirate Princess #1, by Jeremy Whitley and Rosy Higgins; X-Force #15, by Simon Spurrier and Rock-He Kim; X-Men #24, by G. Willow Wilson and Roland Boschi.

I’ll also review: Cyclops #10, by John Layman and Javi Garron; Guardians of the Galaxy #24, by Brian Bendis and Valerio Schiti; Nightcrawler #11, by Chris Claremont and Todd Nauck; Spider-Woman #4, by Dennis Hopeless and Greg Land; Wolverines #6, by Ray Fawkes and Andy Clarke.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and 8 reviews. A bit heavier than the past couple weeks, but not too bad.

I’m most excited, probably, for Captain Marvel. I’ve enjoyed KSD’s run from the start, and a story about Carol fighting pirates is bound to be pretty awesome. I’m also psyched for the second issue of Wilson’s X-Men arc. And, of course, there’s more of ANGH, and the conclusion of X-Force, which has been a fantastic book. So, uh, a lot I’m excited about. I hemmed and hawed a bit about Princless. I thought about just reading the trade when it comes out. But I’ve enjoyed the earlier volumes, and I feel it’s worth supporting the title.

I’m sure everyone’s heard by now about the new A-Force title, the all-female Avengers team, featuring She-Hulk, Dazzler, Nico Minoru and Medusa, along with a new character, Singularity. The book will be written by G. Willow Wilson and Marguerite Bennett. I’m on board with this title. They’re cool characters. I would’ve liked a little more racial diversity – Nico’s the only person of colour, though that does depend on whether Singularity has a “human” form, and what race she presents as. She does seem like an interesting character, exploring exactly what it means to be female. Also, her concept has a little bit of the original Beyonder to it – a sentient universe. That’s neat. Anyway, I’ll be picking this title up.

I won another book from Goodreads. Unbecoming: A Novel, by Rebecca Scherm. It seems to be an examination of a woman involved in an art heist. It seems interesting enough. I’ve just started reading Nanowhere, and then I’ve got Things Grak Hates, so it’ll be a little while before I get around to Unbecoming.

Friday was my birthday. I am now 30 years old. I really do feel old. It may be silly, but I do. It doesn’t help that I’m balding, though I’m in denial about that. But I just feel like I’m getting older. Luckily, I haven’t yet lost my ability to do any of the things I used to do. But that’s because I never did anything. Reading comics isn’t the kind of thing that gets tougher with age, aside from the problem of making time for it. I still don’t need glasses, I still don’t get very sick, I still haven’t gotten fat. And I probably don’t have the attitude of an older person, or the attitude that even a 30-year-old is “supposed” to have. Just the same, the fact that I’m officially out of my 20s is a weird feeling. Oh well. For presents, I got boxers, socks and t-shirts, things I needed. My mom also ordered me a book, but it just got here today. Ages of the X-Men, a collection of essays about the X-Men. That should be fun. Also, Unbecoming got here today, too.

I got a couple more Pony figures.I bought 7, and the only new ones were Sunset Shimmer and Luckette. Sunset Shimmer is a Rarity clone, Luckette is an Applejack clone. The other five I got were duplicates of ones I already have. A shame. I now have 19 of 24. I’m not sure I’ll bother buying any more of the current set. I’m only missing five, but because of the random nature of the packs, my chances of getting any new ones with each bunch I buy is pretty low. I’ve got less than a 25% chance. The ones I’m missing from this set are Neon Lights, Cheese Sandwich, Cloud Chaser, Royal Pin and Lilac Breezie. Neon Lights is the only unique one left, and she does look pretty awesome, so I’d love to have her. But I don’t like my odds. I should also figure out what to do with the duplicates I have. And I wonder when the next set will come out.

My work schedule this week is 4-8 Thursday, 7-11 pm Friday, 10-2 Saturday, 10-2 Sunday. So expect plenty of posts this week. I may as well do my next pull list next Tuesday, but I may do a normal post that day, too. My work hours have been cut back a lot. Everyone seems to have had that happen. They’ve hired more people, I guess, so no one is getting many hours. It sucks, because I need the money. I guess it just means I’ll have time to look for a better job. I wasn’t scheduled to work today, but I agreed to take a girl’s shift. I think she has school or something. In exchange, we swapped our Friday shifts, so now I don’t have to get up in the morning. I hate mornings.

That’s all for today.

One Comment
  1. 30’s not really that old; I’m only about 2 years behind you. Happy belated birthday by the way.

    A-Force sounds like fun, and you have two great writers behind it.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

