Skip to content

Pull list for March 4 2015

March 3, 2015

I’m hanging out with a friend tomorrow, so I have no idea what time I’ll be getting reviews up.

I’ll go to the store for: Angela Asgard’s Assassin #4, by Kieron Gillen, Marguerite Bennett, Phil Jimenez and Stephanie Hans; My Little Pony Friends Forever #14, by Jeremy Whitley and Agnes Garbowska; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #28, by Katie Cook and Andy Price; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #29, by Katie Cook and Jay Fosgitt; Operation SIN #3, by Kathryn Immonen and Rich Ellis; Rocket Raccoon #9, by Skottie Young and Jake Parker; X-Men #25, by G. Willow Wilson and Roland Boschi.

I’ll also review: All-New Hawkeye #1, by Jeff Lemire and Ramon Perez; Guardians Team-Up #1, by Brian Bendis and Arthur Adams; Return of the Living Deadpool #2, by Cullen Bunn and Nicole Virella; Wolverines #9, by Charles Soule, Ray Fawkes and Peter Nguyen.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and 7 reviews. Though the 7 pick-ups assumes that there’s no mix-up with the MLP comics. #s 28 and 29 coming out in the same week seems weird to me. We’ll see, I suppose.

My March pull list is: All-New X-Men #39; Angela #4; Operation SIN #3; Rocket Raccoon #9; X-Men #25; Captain Marvel #13; Ms. Marvel #13; Spider-Man 2099 #10; Mighty Avengers #6; Loki #12; Silk #2; Squirrel Girl #3; Uncanny X-Men #33; All-New Ghost Rider #12. 14 titles. I might pick up a couple others. We’ll see. And, of course, that’s only my Marvel pulls.

I finally got around to watching Big Hero 6. I thought it was great. It was a nice blend of Marvel and Disney. Marvel provided the exciting action, Disney provided the sweet story and adorable sidekick character. (And the interracial cast, since Marvel hasn’t figured out yet how to make a movie with more than one minority character in a major role. I’d say I’m just kidding, but . . . well, none of their movies have had more than one minority character in a major role.) There was a lot of great humour, of course, which is to be expected of both companies. The characters were mostly very interesting and compelling. I didn’t like Fred – he was just annoying. The others were all really cool, though. The animation was excellent, naturally. No surprise there. The fight scenes were exciting. GoGo kinda stole the action scenes, I thought. Her speed and agility made her the most interesting to watch. And Baymax, of course, was adorable and sweet and great. So, yeah, very good movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Though I did make the mistake of watching it while suffering from way too little sleep – being too tired always makes me tear up a lot. I’m man enough to admit when something makes me cry, but being tired just makes that a pain in the ass. Ah, well.

A couple months ago, Comic Book Resources ran a poll to determine the 100 Greatest Writers and Artists – 50 of each. The final results had a single female writer (Gail Simone) and a single female artist (Fiona Staples), which was . . . disconcerting. But here’s something neat: CBR’s doing a poll of the Greatest Female Comic Creators! That’s really cool, I think. A huge list of female creators has been put together here, and the voting opened today. My own lists:

Writers
1. Kelly Sue DeConnick
2. Jen Van Meter
3. Leia Weathington
4. Chynna Clugston
5. Colleen Coover
6. G. Willow Wilson
7. Faith Erin Hicks
8. Trudy Cooper
9. Louise Simonson
10. Ann Nocenti

Artists
1. Emma Rios
2. Stephanie Hans
3. Faith Erin Hicks
4. Erica Henderson
5. Stacey Lee
6. Laura Seijic
7. Colleen Coover
8. Meredith McClaren
9. Molly Ostertag
10. Sara Pichelli

So far, I’ve read the first three essays from The Ages of the X-Men, and they’re very interesting. I’ll read the rest over the course of March. I’m also going to try to read In Real Life, by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang.

My work schedule for this week: 4-8:30 Thursday, 2:30-11 Friday, 10-6:30 Saturday, 9:30-1:30 Sunday. So I’m thinking I’ll do posts Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, and also do a pull list post on Tuesday. Those posts will cover new Mutants #30, Alpha Flight #25, and Uncanny X-Men #197. After those, I’ll have 24 posts left to do for 1985. And then, for 1986, I’ll have a lot. Just over 60 posts for 1986. So, lots.

That’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

