Skip to content

Pull list for March 18 2015

March 18, 2015

I work today and tomorrow, so I have no idea when the reviews will be up.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New X-Men #39, by Brian Bendis and Mahmud Asrar; Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #6, by Al Ewing and Luke Ross; Loki Agent of Asgard #12, by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #28, by Katie Cook and Andy Price; Silk #2, by Robbie Thompson and Stacey Lee; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #3, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson.

I’ll also review: Cyclops #11, by John Layman and Javi Garron; Guardians Team-Up #3, by Sam Humphries and Mike Mayhew; Magneto #16, by Cullen Bunn and Gabriel Walta; Storm #9, by Greg Pak and Al Barrionuevo; Wolverines #11, by Charles Soule and Ariela Kristantina.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and 8 reviews. That’s about average for me.

I’m most excited for Squirrel Girl and, oddly, Silk. Squirrel Girl, of course, is just a fun, funny, enjoyable read. It’s goofy and silly and just a delight. Silk’s first issue was strong, especially thanks to Stacey Lee’s fantastic artwork, and I’m interested in seeing how Thompson and Lee build Silk’s world. I’m hoping for an indication of a fairly permanent supporting cast – the first issue made it tough to tell if any of the characters would stick around as friends for her.

Marvel’s June solicits are out. My pull list for the month: 1602 Witchhunter Angela #1; Giant-Size Little Marvel AvX #1; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #6; X-Tinction Agenda #1; Years of Future Past #1; Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #9; Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps #1; Ghost Racers #1; Secret Wars 2099 #2; Silk #5; Silver Surfer #13; A-Force #2; Ms. Marvel #16; Runaways #1; Years of Future Past #2; E Is for Extinction #1; Loki: Agent of Asgard #15. 17 titles.

There are strong indications that Ms. Marvel #16 will finally have the long-awaited meeting between Kamala and Carol. That should be amazing. I’m picking up Runaways because I like showing my support for female creators. Ghost Racers looks like it should be fun, and I enjoy Felipe Smith as a writer, so I’m happy to pick it up. Angela’s going to be by Marguerite Bennett and Stephanie Hans – they’ve been doing solid work together on the Angela ongoing, and Hans is my second-favourite artist, so of course I’m buying that book. Future Imperfect is a book I want to pick up – Peter David revisiting one of his classic Incredible Hulk tales – but Greg frigging Land is the artist, and no. No no no no no no no. I will not support that giant hack. Years of Future Past should be interesting. It has my favourite character, and a female writer, so I’m interested in it. X-Tinction Agenda is written by Marc Guggenheim, a writer I’m not a big fan of, but I like the premise, and hey, Karma’s going to be in it. In fact, Agenda and Angela are the only two books out in June that will feature characters whose 616 versions are openly LGBT. Which is . . . pretty sad, really. Hopefully, some other books will have LGBT characters. Miss America is on the variant cover for A-Force #2, but that doesn’t mean she’ll be inside, or actually do anything even if she is.

In super-sad news: One of the webcomics I read is Girls With Slingshots. I started reading it a couple years ago, after a full archive binge, and it’s a great comic. Or rather, it was. It’s over now. The final strip was Friday. It was a hilarious comic. It was slice-of-life, following a woman who is terrible at decisions. The strip always had plenty of drama, too, of course, as most webcomics do, especially when they run for 11 years.

In other webcomic news, I’ve finished an archive binge of Gunnerkrigg Court. It took a couple months, but I’m finally caught up. It’s a good webcomic. Very funny, and very dramatic, and very intriguing. I always have to remind myself to hear the characters with English accents.

I also finished an archive binge of Superbitch, a webcomic about a superhero who is a bitch. Mostly pretty good. I’ve started a binge of The Adventures of Gyno-Star, about a feminist superhero. It has a brutally rough start, to be honest, but it does get better.

I read In Real Life, by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

I can’t say I was too terribly impressed with this. It’s a comic about economics, as a teen girl befriends a Chinese gold farmer in an MMO. It talks a bit about how video game players can actually make real money, and that’s somewhat interesting. But the Chinese guy has health problems, and the protagonist suggests he try to organize a strike so he and his co-workers can get health insurance. Near the end of the book, a group actually does demand health insurance from their boss. In China. I’m pretty sure that, in the real world, Chinese labourers organizing for anything would simply be fired and replaced. Overall, it feels like a bit of a simplistic take on economics, and maybe that’s the point, keeping it simply to get people interested in exploring it in more depth. But meh. Also, I struggle to really connect with the protagonist, somehow. I normally really like female protagonists, but I just didn’t really care about this girl. The art was nice, but I’ve seen better.

All in all, this isn’t bad, but it didn’t really do much for me.

Looking through some other reviews, a few people seemed to be similarly dissatisfied with the Chinese worker plot, and more specifically, the white protagonist being a hero to the people of colour. Another complaint was that, after raising the issue of women feeling intimidated in gaming, the issue’s completely dropped for the rest of the book. There are quite a few other problems with it, too. I was disappointed. I went in expecting something much, much better than what I got.

I bought some more Pony figures, since there’s a new set out. The current set of blind bags actually has a little transparent bit in the back. So it’s actually not that tough to check which character is in a bag now. I have no idea if this was intentional. Regardless, I finally got a Rarity, and I also got Firecracker Burst, Bumblesweet, Sugar Grape and Lily Blossom. Firecracker Burst is a Twilight clone, Bumblesweet is a Pinkie Pie clone, Lily Blossom and Sugar Grape are both Rainbow Dash clones. Rarity was the main one I wanted. I honestly can’t decide if I want to buy any more. I’ve got a lot already. I’m at 46 now. I guess I could get 4 more, make it an even 50. See how I feel next payday, I guess.

My schedule this week is 3-11 tonight, 2:30-11 tomorrow, 11-7:30 Sunday, 7-11:30am Monday. And 7-11pm next Wednesday. So I’ll be doing posts Friday, Saturday and Tuesday. My next pull list will probably be next Wednesday. This week’s reviews . . . I have no idea. I really don’t. I’ll try to get them up tomorrow night, but it might be Friday, in which case, I’ll probably only have two regular posts this week. Maybe I’ll just do much quicker reviews than usual.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

