Skip to content

Pull list for April 1 2015

March 31, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will be up.

I’ll go to the store for: Avengers Ultron Forever #1, by Al Ewing and Alan Davis; My Little Pony Fiendship Is Magic #1, by Jeremy Whitley and Brenda Hickey; Operation SIN #4, by Kathryn Immonen and Rich Ellis; Rocket Raccoon #10, by Skottie Young and Jake Parker

I’ll also review: Cyclops #12, by John Layman and Javi Garron; Guardians Team-Up #4, by Sam Humphries and Mike Mayhew; Return of the Living Deadpool #3, by Cullen Bunn and Nicole Virella; Spider-Gwen #3, by Jason Latour and Robbie Rodriguez; Uncanny Inhumans #0, by Charles Soule and Steve McNiven; Wolverines #13, by Charles Soule and Ario Anindito

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 7 reviews. A pretty light week, actually.

There’s actually nothing I’m overly excited for. Operation SIN and Rocket Raccoon are books I’ve been enjoying, but they’re not books that really get me excited. Ultron Forever is something I’m mostly picking up because of how light my week is – I like Al Ewing, I like Alan Davis, but I was still on the fence about this mini. At least it’s not just another Avengers book using the movie cast. That shit got old real fast.

My pull list for April is Avengers Ultron Forever #1, Operation SIN #4, Rocket Raccoon #10, All-New X-Men #40, Angela Asgard’s Assassin #5, Captain Marvel #14, Silver Surfer #11, Spider-Man 2099 #11, Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #7, Loki Agent of Asgard #13, Ms. Marvel #14, Silk #3, Uncanny X-Men #33, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #4, All-New X-Men #41, X-Men #26. 16 comics. Pretty standard month, really.

So, back in November, I gave Princeless: Book Two a four-star rating on Goodreads. Last week, the writer of the book, Jeremy Whitley, “liked” my review. I don’t know why that made me happy. Anyway, Princeless is a great series, and you should definitely check out the TPBs.

I finished The Ages of the X-Men. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

This is a collection of essays about the X-Men, analyzing how the comics, during different periods, have reflected different trends. Most of the essays are really good. Interestingly, only one of the essays really touches on race in any major way, and that one is discussing X-Statix. Other topics include feminism, masculinity, televangelism, autism, and the problems with arguing for a genetic basis for homosexuality. And, of course, there’s plenty of other topics covered. The weakest essay is probably the final one, comparing Barack Obama to Hope Summers. It not only feels like a major stretch, but it’s also just not terribly interesting. Perhaps the most touching essay is the one on autism, explaining how the “Gifted” arc of Astonishing X-Men actually serves as a really interesting exploration of problems faced by many autistic people and their loved ones. The writer says that he has no idea if Whedon had autism in mind, but that he could see a lot in it. That arc also gets touched on in another essay, the one about “mutants as gays,” which uses the arc as a warning against pushing the idea of homosexuality as having a genetic basis, because if it is genetic, it can be “cured,” same as mutants are in the story.

Most of the essays are very interesting, and give a lot to think about. A few are simply there to be informative, but even these are interesting. If you enjoy the X-Men – especially the comics, since the movies aren’t even referenced – and also enjoy explorations of complex social issues in forms that don’t involve eye-lasers, then this is worth reading.

I enjoyed the book. Next up is Unbecoming, by Rebecca Scherm.

I watched the Justin Bieber Roast last night. I found it pretty meh. I didn’t see the point in bothering to roast him. He’s already a walking punch line. I’m not saying that to be insulting, I just mean that he gets made fun of constantly already. At any given moment, there are people making jokes about Justin Bieber. He’s one of the most hated people in the world. So why bother with a roast? Roasts are supposed to be about poking fun at people you like and respect. Also, the roast just didn’t seem as funny as previous ones. It felt half-assed, like everyone phones it in. So, meh.

A few weeks ago, I applied for a job in the Yukon Territory. I got an email last week telling me I’d gotten to the next level of the competition. They’re supposed to contact me to let me know the next step. I’m excited. I hope I get the job.

My schedule this week is 4-8 Thursday, 3:30-11 Saturday, 1-9 Tuesday, 4-8 next Wednesday. So I’ll do posts Friday, Sunday and Monday, my pull list on Tuesday.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

