Skip to content

Pull list for April 8 2015

April 7, 2015

I work tomorrow. I’ll still try to get reviews up, if I can.

I’ll go to the store for: Angela Asgard’s Assassin #5, by Kieron Gillen, Marguerite Bennett, Phil Jimenez and Stephanie Hans; Captain Marvel #14, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and David Lopez; My Little Pony Fiendship Is Magic #2, by Christina Rice and Tony Fleecs; Spider-Man 2099 #11, by Peter David and Will Sliney.

I’ll also review: All-New Hawkeye #2, by Jeff Lemire and Ramon Perez; Ant-Man #4, by Nick Spencer and Ramon Rosanas; Deadpool #45, by a lot of people; Howard the Duck #2, by Chip Zdarsky and Joe Quinones; SHIELD #4, by Mark Waid and Chris Sprouse; Storm #10, by Greg Pak, Victor Ibanez and Al Barrionuevo.

So that’s 4 books I’m picking up, and 7 reviews. A pretty light week.

I’m most excited for Angela. Everyone on that book has been doing a fantastic job, telling a great job with compelling character work. Plus, Stephanie Hans. Such beautiful art. I’m also excited for Captain Marvel, but less than usual, because Black Vortex tie-in ugh. We’ll see if KSD does better with this than she did with the Infinity tie-in issues, which were the weakest of the previous volume.

Season 5 of My Little Pony has begun. The season premiere was on Saturday; I watched it on YouTube on Sunday. By the way, I think it’s awesome of Hasbro and the MLP team that they allow new episodes to go up on YouTube for a week after the first airing. They are taken down after that week, but they go back up eventually. So many channels or production studios try to prevent anyone from seeing shows online, except through their own websites, which often aren’t open to people outside the US. I like that the people behind MLP don’t mind letting people watch the show on YouTube. Anyway, the season premiere. It was good. Really good, I thought. A very strong two-part episode. The Mane Six go to a town where everyone has had their Cutie Marks removed. So there’s a sinister undercurrent to it all. The antagonist is an interesting character. They maybe played her a bit too much as a villain – it would’ve been nice if she was a little more sympathetic. It could be tough to tell if she genuinely believed she was helping the ponies, or if she was just a psycho. They should’ve made it clearer that she did believe she was doing good, and made her a less “mwahaha!” character. Less evil, more misguided. Still, it’s a relatively minor complaint, and the episode was mostly solid. The brainwashing recording was definitely creepy. Very dystopian. That was great. So, yeah, I really enjoyed the episode.

I’m making a lot of progress on Unbecoming. I’m over halfway through. It shouldn’t take me too much longer to finish. I won two more books: I Take You, by Eliza Kennedy, and Ratscalibur, by Josh Lieb. I’ll be honest, I have no clue why I entered the Giveaway for I Take You. It’s a chick lit romance, and the description of it doesn’t seem like the kind of thing I’d be interested in. I guess I’ll wait and see, but yeah, I’m not excited for that one. Ratscalibur just looked cute to me, I think. It’s a middle grade book, which generally doesn’t interest me, but it’s Prince Arthur with rats. Not the most original concept – Ivanhoe is a very famous example of a similar premise – but meh, I’ve never watched or read other versions of it. Plus, Lieb is an Executive Producer for The Daily Show, so hey, it might be good. If not, well, I did get it for free, so what do I care? This puts me, now, at 5 books in my “to read” pile. I probably need to pick up the pace.

I’ve got a test tomorrow for a job I applied for in the Yukon, with the Library Archives for the Department of Culture and Tourism. I need to do a 2-hour written assignment in Word. I’m going to do it at noon. It’s funny, when I applied for the position, I figured that moving to Whitehorse would be an exciting adventure, but I didn’t think I’d get the job. Now that there actually is a chance I’ll get the job, the idea of moving to Whitehorse is terrifying. There’s a part of my brain going, “This is the dumbest thing you’ve ever done in your life. What is wrong with you? This is a horrible idea.” If I do get the job, I think that voice is going to get even louder. I figure I’d have plenty of sleepless nights where I’m just panicking about the whole thing. But it’s the kind of thing where I’d have no real choice but to get on with it. It would be a make-or-break situation,and I think I’d be able to not break. Still . . . holy crap.

My work schedule this week is: 1-9 today, 4-8 tomorrow, 5:30-11 Thursday, 10:30-7 Friday, 11-7 Saturday, 12-8:30 Sunday. For those counting along, that is, in fact, 6 days straight. Four of them 8 hour shifts. Ugh. I’ll do posts Monday and Tuesday, and my next pull list will probably be next Wednesday, which is another 4-8 shift (so I’ll probably try to do my weekly review post that day, too).

That’s all I’ve got for this week. I imagine next week will give me quite a bit to talk about.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

