Skip to content

Pull list for April 15 2015

April 15, 2015

I work today. I’ll still try to get reviews up tonight.

I went to the store to pick up: Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #7, by Al Ewing and Iban Soria; Loki Agent of Asgard #13, by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett; Ms. Marvel #14, by G. Willow Wilson and Takeshi Miyagawa; My Little Pony Fiendship Is Magic #3, by Ted Anderson and Agnes Garbowska; Uncanny X-Men #33, by Brian Bendis and Kris Anka.

I’ll also review: Legendary Star-Lord #11, by Sam Humphries and Paco Medina; Magneto #17, by Cullen Bunn and Gabriel Walta; Spider-Man and the X-Men #5, by Elliott Kalan and Marco Failla; Wolverines #14, by Ray Fawkes and Salvador Larroca.

So that’s 5 comics I picked up, and 6 reviews. A middling week for my wallet, relatively light for reviews.

I’m most excited for Ms. Marvel and Uncanny X-Men. Ms. Marvel is obvious. It will always be the book I’m most excited for. But UXM – Kitty and Illyana adventures! Woot! Seriously, this is what I’ve been craving since All-New X-Men #25. In fact, this issue is happening purely as a result of the double-page splash in that issue. It was too awesome for it not to be followed up on, and I am so psyched to see it. I’m predicting large amounts of lesbian subtext, which I’m fine with. And I’m predicting massive quantities of snark, which I am super-fine with, because both characters are at their best when at their snarkiest.

I’ve been watching Daredevil. I’m 5 episodes in. I’m enjoying it. The fight at the end of the second episode was great. I loved the TV being thrown out the door and smacking a guy in the head. And then the actual fighting was effective. A good street-fighting feel to it. Also, Foggy and Karen are adorable together. I want them to become a couple. I do. Because they have a nice chemistry. Matt and Claire have good chemistry, too. Also, Turk! Turk’s great. I loved him in the comics, and he’s really cool here.

I finished Unbecoming. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

This book is outstanding. The writing style is excellent, absolutely captivating, with gorgeous descriptions and perfect characterization. Grace is a fantastic character, someone who does bad things, but her motivations are totally understandable. It doesn’t justify much of what she does, but you can’t help but relate to her, to understand her, and to hope that things turn out well for her. She’s motivated by love. She needs it, desperately, and as a teenager, her love largely defines her. The book also has a strong focus on art, including restorations, forgeries and heists, and Scherm makes that stuff absolutely fascinating. You might get an entire page detailing restoration methods, and it’s fascinating reading, especially because it’s still used for further character work. It’s giving us Grace’s view on it all, and Grace’s passion comes through, and makes it that much more interesting.

This was a stellar book. Never mind it being a great debut, this was just a great book in general. That it’s a debut makes it even more impressive, but it earned 5 stars without needing that qualifier. It does suggest Scherm is an author to keep an eye on, though.

I was really impressed. Captivated, even. I loved the writing style. I always get a little jealous at particularly talented writers. I’m jealous of Scherm. I wish I could write as well as she does. I highly recommend it. Grace is a sympathetic character, but she’s not someone you would want to be like. Scherm has said that part of what she was thinking of, with Grace, was the way girls are pressured to be “lovable.” It’s a definite problem. There’s still a lot of cultural baggage that says girls should be lovable. That they shouldn’t be doing the sorts of things boys do – getting dirty, playing pranks, telling dirty jokes, anything like that. There’s still an expectation that girls should be working to find a man and have a baby and be a homemaker. Honestly, I am so glad I’m not a girl, because the crap they have to put up with is just ridiculous. Anyway, the point is, read this book.

Next up will be Ratscalibur, since it’s a short book, and an advanced reader copy, so I’d like to do my review before the book actually comes out May 5.

I also read Bad Houses, by Sara Ryan and Carla Speed McNeil. My review:

This is a great book. It’s about kind of a lot of things. Young love, hoarding, the sentimental value we invest in objects, inability to move on from the past, life in economically-struggling small towns, the complex relationships between children and parents. And more, besides. It interweaves all these elements, all the various plots and characters, in really effective and believable ways. Anne and Lewis have a good chemistry, and their budding romance works well. Anne is a great character in general. She’s the emotional centre of the story, and the way she’s been affected by her mother’s hoarding is really compelling. Sara Ryan also writes very believable dialogue.

The art, too, is really good. McNeil’s style is detailed when necessary, less so when not. She doesn’t waste time making lots of details that either won’t be noticed or, worse, might draw the eye away from what’s important. Characters, though, are very detailed, and she does a great job capturing expressions.

This is a really, really good book. I enjoyed it, and I would definitely recommend it.

There really is a lot going on in this book, but it never feels like too much. It’s all balanced well, and the narrative never feels disjointed. It’s a great book.

My work schedule for the week: 4-8 today, 10:30-7 tomorrow, 12:30-9 Friday, 5:30-11 Saturday, 11-7 Sunday, 7-11 am Monday, 2:30-11 next Wednesday. That’s 6 days in a row, again. I just frigging did that, and now they have me doing it again. But this time, I only get a single day off before I’m back in. Such bullshit. I hate this. I hate the way the scheduling. I hate it. I really, really hope I get that job in Whitehorse. Yeah, the winters are cold, but at least the scheduling wouldn’t be a piss-off.

I’ll do posts Monday and Tuesday. My next pull list will be next Wednesday. There’s going to be a local pop expo thing on Saturday. I’ll try to hit it before work. The only guest I’m actually familiar with is Dale Eaglesham. And the only physical comics I have that he’s done are some issues of Iron Man, from Gillen’s run. I literally haven’t heard of a single other person who will be there. There are going to be some cosplayers, though. So I’ll at least try to take some pictures of them, and try to post some of the pictures on here.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

