Skip to content

Pull list for April 22 2015

April 22, 2015

I work today, until 11. Reviews tomorrow, most likely.

I picked up: All-New X-Men #40, by Brian Bendis and Mahmud Asrar; My Little Pony Fiendship Is Magic #4, by Heather Nuhfer and Tony Fleecs; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #4, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson.

I’ll also review: Amazing X-Men #19, by Chris Yost and Jorge Fornes; Black Vortex Omega, by Sam Humphries and Ed McGuinness; Wolverines #15, by Ray Fawkes and Ario Anindito.

So that’s 3 comics I’m picking up, and 5 reviews. This is an insanely light week, actually.

I’m most excited for Squirrel Girl. Because it’s Squirrel Girl vs. Galactus. How can that not be something you want to see? You’d have to hate fun. And I happen to like fun, so I’m excited. Also, a pretty major revelation from ANXM has been leaked. I won’t spoil anything, but I will say that it confirms something fans have been speculating about for soooo many years.

July solicits are out. There’s some pretty great stuff. Ms. Marvel finally gets to meet Captain Marvel! Hurrah! And the cover is awesome. Magneto will have a guest appearance from Polaris, which is nice. Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver are no longer related to him, but at least Polaris is still his daughter. Siege looks amazing. I love everything about it. I love Kieron Gillen as a writer, and Felipe Andrade as an artist. I love Agent Brand, and Miss America, and Kate Bishop, and Leah, and the Endless Summers.  I am going to love this book. Sadly, it’s Gillen’s last new Marvel project for a while. I think he’s sticking around on Angela, and Darth Vader, but he won’t be taking on anything new. Very sad.

Age of Apocalypse should be fun. I did like Nicieza’s X-work in the ’90s, I liked the original Age of Apocalypse. I don’t like Sandoval’s art, but oh well. 1602 Angela will have the 1602 Guardians of the Galaxy show up. Stephanie Hans draws them real pretty on the cover. Mighty Defenders looks great, and I love the diversity in the cast. A-Force is going to fight the Thor Corps, which should be a lot of fun. I’m on the fence about Future Imperfect. On the one hand, it’s Peter David writing the Maestro, Layla Miller and Ruby Summers (and more). On the other hand, frigging Greg Land. I may have to skip that book, just because I really don’t want to support Greg Land. Years of Future Past will have a giant Lockheed fighting Sentinels. Yes.

I’m on the fence about Old Man Logan. I hate Wolverine, but damn, Andrea Sorrentino does gorgeous work. MODOK Assassin has MODOK fall in love with Angela, which I approve of. Squirrel Girl vs. Girl Squirrel. Also, the Avengers. And Ratatoskr, Norse god of squirrels. SHIELD #8 will have Mockingbird’s first appearance since the previous volume of Secret Avengers ended. It’s weird that it’s taken so long for her to show up again, given how popular Bobbi is on Agents of SHIELD.

My pull list for July will be: Giant-Size Little Marvel #2, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #7, X-Tinction Agenda #2, Ghost Racers #2, Ms. Marvel #17, Secret Wars 2099 #3, Siege #1, Captain Britain and the Mighty Defenders #1, Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps #2, Silver Surfer #14, A-Force #3, E Is for Extinction #2, Loki: Agent of Asgard #16, Silk #6, 1602 Witch Hunter Angela #2, Age of Apocalypse #2, Siege #2. 17 comics. And there’s a few others I’m on the fence about, too. It’s possible July may end up hurting.

I went to a “pop event” – really, a geek market – on Saturday. It was . . . not great, really. Not worth $18 for admittance. It is mostly a geek market, so most of what’s there is collectibles. Old comics, old toys, old video games, old everything. I’m not a collector, so none of it really appealed that much to me. I bought a copy of Captain Canuck Legacy #1, signed by the creator, Richard Comely. Because why not. I actually haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I also bought a couple prints by Isabelle Angell. The first two pictures here are by her.

I'm not actually sure what this is, but it's cute

I’m not actually sure what this is, but it’s cute

Raccoons are cute.

Raccoons are cute.

It’s too small to see in this picture, but the text says, “Raccoons: The Ninja Animal That Eats From Dumpsters.” I thought that was cute.

Cool robo-dog!

Cool robo-dog!

Deadpool knows how to fight zombies.

Deadpool knows how to fight zombies.

A local martial arts school had a little area set up with the idea of teaching kids how to fight zombies. They’d bring in kids, and show them a few basic things, obviously trying to get them interested in learning martial arts. The guy in a Deadpool costume just happened to be watching at one point, setting up a pretty decent photo, I thought.

It's R2!

It’s R2!

I don't know. I don't want to know.

I don’t know. I don’t want to know.

There were a few people wearing costumes. These ranged from the standard – Deadpool, Spider-Man, Black Cat, Superman, Movie Wolverine, some Ghostbusters, a Darth Vader – to the horrifying – whatever the hell is in the above photo. Seriously, that is nightmare stuff.

I won another book. The Caloris Rim Project, by Glenn P. MacDonald. Some sci-fi book. Written by a Canadian, so that’s nice. I’ve still got plenty more books to get through first, of course. That puts me now at 15 books won since I joined Goodreads in July. One of them, I never received. And, in addition to the new one, there are two others I’m still waiting on in the mail, and another one I’ve received but haven’t started yet. (It’ll be my June book.)

I have a job interview on Friday! For the job I applied for in the Yukon. It’s a phone interview, at 12:30. I’m really excited. The idea of moving to the Yukon is pretty scary, but it’s also exciting. I’ll need to do some research before then. Tomorrow, I guess.

My schedule for the week: I work 2:30-11 today, 2:30-10:30 Friday, 7-11 Saturday, 6:30-11 Sunday, 11:30-8 Monday, 7-11 Tuesday. So I have no idea if I’ll get any posts up. I’ll probably have to do my reviews tomorrow, but if I can get them up tonight after work, then I’ll have a normal post tomorrow. I may do posts Saturday and Tuesday. My next pull list will be Monday.

That’s it for this week.

2 Comments
  1. Good luck with your interview, hope it goes well.

    I skipped most of Marvel’s main events lately but I plan to read Secret Wars. Not because I’m looking forward to it mind you, but because it will be changing the Marvel Universe. Even if nothing else happens, combining 616 and Ultimate is a big change. I’m probably picking up all the X-Men tie-ins, along with Angela, Carol Corps and of course, MODOK.

    The revelation in All New X-Men actually works pretty well.

  2. Best of luck with your job interview. I’m sure you will nail it!

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

