Skip to content

Pull list for May 6 2015

May 5, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will be done.

I’ll go to the store for: Operation SIN #5, by Kathryn Immonen and Rich Ellis; Rocket Raccoon #11, by Skottie Young and Jake Parker; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #5, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson; The Wicked + The Divine #10, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie.

I’ll also review: Return of the Living Deadpool #1, by Cullen Bunn and Nicole Virella; Secret Wars #1, by Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic; Wolverines #17, by Ray Fawkes and Ario Anindito.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 4 reviews. This is a very light week. Oh well, I’m fine with that.

I’m most excited for Squirrel Girl and WicDiv. Obviously. I mean, Squirrel Girl. And it’s an issue full of mini-stories! So it’s a whole bunch of Squirrel Girl stories in one, and they’re all bound to be adorable! And WicDiv is a Gillen/McKelvie book, so of course I’ll love it. This series has been brilliant from the start. I’m going to get a Lucifer Died For Our Sins t-shirt. I asked my LCS to order one for me. If he can’t, I’ll order one online.

My pull list for May is: Operation SIN #5; Rocket Raccoon #11; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #5; Uncanny X-Men #35; All-New X-Men #41; Angela Asgard’s Assassin #6; Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #8; Captain Marvel #15; Ms. Marvel #15; Silk #4; Silver Surfer #12; Spider-Man 2099 #12; A-Force #1; Loki Agent of Asgard #14; Uncanny Avengers Ultron Forever #1; Uncanny X-Men #600; Secret Wars 2099 #1. 17 comics. Pretty standard.

I finished the Daredevil Netflix series. It was good. The whole cast was good. The fights were all really good – the one at the episode 2 was especially great. The TV being thrown out the door was priceless. All the other fights were good, too. Karen was done really well, vulnerable but strong and determined, and allowed to be the star of her own story. Foggy stole all the scenes he was in, and the flashbacks to him and Matt in college were hilarious fun. Claire – the Night Nurse – was good. I wasn’t as fond of D’Onofrio as Fisk as most people were. His performance was excellent, it just didn’t feel like Fisk. He came across as autistic, always nervous and uncertain. Kingpin is supposed to be supremely confident, to the point of dominating any room he’s in through sheer force of personality. Leland, on the other hand, was way better than the comic version, who was always a goofy character. This Leland was fun. A total asshole, but an amusing one. All in all, a great show. Has me very excited for Jessica Jones.

I’m apparently going to Age of Ultron on Wednesday, too. It may or may not affect the time my reviews go up; probably depends on what time I get up. My brother decided to go Wednesday, so I guess I’m going with him. I probably would’ve waited two more weeks. I like to wait until I can be sure the theatre won’t be busy. I don’t like crowds. At all. So I’m not thrilled about going so soon. Oh well. At least it should be an enjoyable movie. Marvel’s movies always are. I’m sure I’ll find things to nitpick, too, but that’s also par for the course. Overall, I expect to enjoy it. Just the same, the movie I’m most excited for is unquestionably Captain Marvel, and it annoys me that it’s still over three years away. Bleh.

I pre-ordered the new Heartless Bastards album, Restless Ones. And a t-shirt. I am so damned psyched for this album. I love the Heartless Bastards. They’re my all-time favourite band. Just so damned good. Here’s the first single, Gates of Dawn:

As excited as I am for the album, I am pissed off at Partisan Records, the label releasing it. The album and t-shirt are $35. Fair price. The shipping? $33. That is obscene. $33 for shipping is an absolutely batshit insane price, and it pisses me off, because it doubles the cost of my order. So stupid. But, they’re my favourite band. So I’ll show my support this way. But Partisan Records can suck my ass for this.

My work schedule for the week: 5:30-9:30 Thursday, 9-1 Saturday, 11-7 Sunday, 10-6 Tuesday, 3:30-11:30 next Wednesday. So I’ll have posts Friday, Saturday and Monday, and my next pull list Tuesday. Next week’s weekly review post may go up on Thursday, rather than Wednesday. This week, I’ll have reviews of Uncanny X-Men #201, New Mutants #35 and X-Men and Alpha Flight #2. It’ll take 61 posts to get through 1986. So, I may finish it by the end of this year, if I’m lucky. This will include the merciful end of Dazzler, and the rough start of X-Factor. 1986 also featured the debut of the new universe. I will not be reviewing those comics, especially since most were very, very weak when they started off.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

