Skip to content

Pull list for May 20 2015

May 19, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will go up.

I’ll go to the store for: A-Force #1, by G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett and Jorge Molina; Loki Agent of Asgard #14, by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #30, by Christina Rice and Agnes Garbowska; Uncanny X-Men #34, by Brian Bendis and Kris Anka.

I’ll also review: Deadpool’s Secret War #1, by Cullen Bunn, Matteo Lolli and Jacopo Camagni; Master of Kung Fu #1, by Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic; Planet Hulk #1, by Greg Pak, Sam Humphries, Takeshi Miyazawa and Marc Laming; Secret Wars Battleworld #1, by Joshua Williamsson, Ed Brisson, Mike Henderson and Scott Hepburn; Spider-Verse #1, by Mike Costa and Andre Arujo; Wolverines #19, by Charles Soule and Ario Anindito.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 8 reviews. Not too bad. I’m reviewing all the Secret Wars #1s this week, since I’ll have time. I probably won’t do it often, and unless a book is especially good, I’m not likely to review past the first issue. I’ll review all the X-Men Secret Wars titles, though, of course.

I’m most excited for A-Force and Uncanny X-Men. Assuming the UXM solicit is actually correct – always iffy, with Bendis titles – it’s looking like it’ll be an interesting issue, with Mystique taking on the team. Hopefully, it means a confrontation between Mystique and Dazzler – Dazzler deserves some closure there. She deserves a chance to kick Mystique’s ass. This will be the final issue of UXM, before the big 600th issue spectacular. And A-Force should be good. I like Wilson’s writing, and Bennett’s been solid on Angela. Lots of cool characters. It should be an interesting series.

The August solicits are out. I have few thoughts on them, so here’s my pull list for August: Silk #7; Ms. Marvel #18; Silver Surfer #15; Loki Agent of Asgard #17; Secret Love #1; Siege #3; Ghost Racers #3; Age of Apocalypse #3; A-Force #4; Giant-Size Little Marvel AvX #3; Witch Hunter Angela #3; Captain Britain and the Mighty Defenders #2; E Is For Extinction #3; Years of Future Past #4; X-Tinction Agenda #3; Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps #3; Secret Wars 2099 #4; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #8.

18 titles. Secret Wars isn’t cutting down my pull list at all. The solicits do hint that Loki might end with #17. A shame, as I’ve enjoyed the series.

I finished reading Jane Eyre. I started it back in, like, October. I downloaded it to my phone, and read it during lunch breaks at work, when my lunches were long enough. When Wal-Mart moved to a new location, I was much, much closer to my home, so now, if I have an hour lunch, I just come home. That means I haven’t been reading the book. I haven’t read it since January. So over the past week or so, I decided to finish it off. Here’s my Goodreads review:

I was reluctant to read this, because I’d disliked Wuthering Heights in high school. Luckily, this was a vastly superior book. Jane is an excellent character – strong-willed and independent. She’s what female characters should be. She’s complete in herself, and doesn’t need someone else to complete her, which makes her relationship with Rochester deeper and more satisfying. She doesn’t love him because she needs him, she loves him because she enjoys his company. The writing style does get a bit flowery and dense at times; there are occasional passages that need to be read a few times to figure out exactly what’s being said. But for the most part, it doesn’t go too far in that direction. This was a very strong book. I enjoyed it.

I also read Courtney Crumrin Vol. 5. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

Another excellent volume of the fantastic Courtney Crumrin series. This one gives Courtney a friend for about five minutes before it goes wrong. It shows how her actions over the previous volumes have been seen by people who have been caught up in them. Until now, we’ve seen everything from Courtney’s perspective, but here, we find out how other people see them. It’s exciting stuff, and it’s arguably the first volume to result in real changes to the status quo. The art is still great, a nice mix of creepy and cute.

At this point, if you’ve read any of the previous volumes, you know what you’re in for here, and you know if you’ll enjoy it. If you haven’t read any of the previous volumes, well, go do that. They’re great books.

So that puts me at 14 books finished so far this year. I gave myself a challenge of reading 24, so I’m well ahead of schedule. My next book will be War of the Encyclopaedists, by Christopher Robinson and Gavin Kovite.

I’ve recently been “playing” Cookie Clicker. It’s a silly little browser game. There’s a big cookie. You click on it. Clicking it gives you cookies. You can spend those cookies on upgrades that get you automatic cookies every second. I’m currently getting over 15 billion cookies per second. The total number of cookies I’ve made is over a quadrillion. Like I said, it’s silly. But fun.

My work schedule this week is: 3-8:30 Friday, 10-2:20 Saturday, 3-11:30 Sunday, 7-11 next Wednesday. So I’ll have posts Thursday, Monday and Tuesday. I’ll probably do my next pull list on Sunday, and I’ll have my weekly reviews on Wednesday. I’ll have posts for Dazzler #41, Longshot #5 and Alpha Flight #30.

And that’s all I’ve got this week. I really don’t have much to talk about at all.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

