Skip to content

Pull list for June 3 2015

June 1, 2015

It’s a new month. I work Wednesday and Thursday, so reviews will be up late on Thursday night.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New X-Men #41, by Brian Bendis and Mahmud Asrar; Giant-Size Little Marvel AvX #1, by Skottie Young My Little Pony Friends Forever #17, by Ted Anderson and Brenda Hickey; The Wicked + The Divine #11, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #6, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson; X-Tinction Agenda #1, by Marc Guggenheim and Carmine Giandomenico; Years of Future Past #1, by Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton.

I’ll also review: Amazing Spider-Man Renew Your Vows #1, by Dan Slott and Adam Kubert; Future Imperfect #1, by Peter David and Greg Land (boo hiss); Secret Wars #3, by Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic; Secret Wars Battleworld #2, by David Walker, Juvaun Kirby, Donny Cates and Marco Turini; Wolverines #20, by Charles Soule and Ario Anindito.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and 9 reviews. This is a very heavy week. Yeesh.

I’m most excited for WicDiv, Squirrel Girl and ANXM. WicDiv is an amazing series so I’m always excited for it, and the plot’s gotten really exciting. I’m worried for Inanna. He’s too much of a sweetheart to die! Squirrel Girl is one of the funnest comics out, just clean, innocent, cheerful fun. It’s actually a comic you could read with your kids, and there aren’t really all that many of those out there. And for ANXM, I’m interested to see if there’s any follow-up on Bobby being gay, but I’m way more excited to see the Utopians. Karma! Woot! And Boom-Boom! And Random! And Karma! I love Karma, so I always get excited when she shows up somewhere.

My Marvel pull list for June: 1602 Witch Hunter Angela #1; A-Force #2; All-New X-Men #41; Mighty Avengers #9; Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps #1; E Is For Extinction #1; Ghost Racers #1; Giant-Size Little Marvel #1; Loki Agent of Asgard #15; Ms. Marvel #16; Secret Wars 2099 #2; Silk #5; Silver Surfer #13; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #6; X-Tinction Agenda #1; Years of Future Past #1 and #2. 17 Marvel titles for the month. Pretty well the norm for me.

I’ve talked a lot about my love of the comic Pretty Deadly, and of the beautiful art of Emma Rios. I’m also a fan of musician Laura Marling. So, when checking out Emma Rios’ Tumblr to see if it talked about any of her upcoming projects, I found this:

Damn, it works well. Hope In the Air is a dark, tense but pretty song, very simple but very deep. It matches well with Rios’ art, which also tends to be dark, tense and deep. And man, I am so psyched for Pretty Deadly Vol. 2. It’s still going to be a few more months before it starts up, but I am going to be all over it.

WicDiv has been optioned for a TV series. That’s pretty awesome. It is such a fantastic comic, and it could make for one hell of a TV show. I’d prefer if it’s British, because I feel like that’s part of the book’s charm. I don’t think it would work as well if they transposed it to LA or something. I also hope they keep all the characters more-or-less the same as they are in the comics. That includes the diversity, and the LGBT content. Also, the soundtrack should be an eclectic mix of pop and indie. Maybe use the WicDiv Spotify playlist as a guide.

My schedule this week: 2:30-11 Wednesday, 11-7 Thursday, 5:30-11 Friday, 3-7 Saturday, 1-9 Monday, 1-9 next Wednesday. So I’ll have posts Sunday and Tuesday. My next pull list will be posted Monday.

That’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

