Skip to content

Pull list for June 10 2015

June 8, 2015

I work Wednesday. Reviews will hopefully be up late on Thursday night.

I’ll go to the store for: 1602 Witch Hunter Angela #1, by Marguerite Bennett, Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans and Marguerite Sauvage; Captain America and the Mighty Avengers #9, by Al Ewing and Luke Ross; Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps #1, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Kelly Thompson and David Lopez; Ghost Racers #1, by Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon; Secret Wars 2099 #2, by Peter David and Will Sliney; Silk #5, by Robbie Thompson and Stacey Lee; Silver Surfer #12, by Dan Slott and Michael Allred.

I’ll also review: Inferno #2, by Dannis Hopeless and Javier Garron; Mrs. Deadpool and the Howling Commandos #1, by Gerry Duggan and Salvador Espin; Secret Wars Journal #2, by Kevin Maurer, Cory Smith, Simon Spurrier and Jonathan Marks. And possibly Weirdworld #1, by Jason Aaron and Mike Del Mundo.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and 8 or 9 reviews. Another heavy week. Which means there’s probably a week coming where I have, like, 2 comics I’m picking up. Because the releases for books I like are scattered poorly. Oh well.

I’m most excited for Captain Marvel, Ghost Racers, Angela and Silver Surfer. I’ve really enjoyed KSD’s run on Captain Marvel, and Carol Corps looks like it should be a fun book. Nice retro-future designs for the setting, and a fun supporting cast. I loved Felipe Smith’s All-New Ghost Rider, so I’m willing to give Ghost Racers a chance. It won’t be able to have the same heart as ANGH – no Gabe – but I like Smith, so I’ll support him here. Angela has been a great book, and Stephanie Hans’ art is always gorgeous. And this book will have her as the lead artist, which means even more of her art. Swoon. And Silver Surfer has been brilliant fun all along. Slott and Allred have been killing it, and there’s no reason to expect that to change. I’m also excited for Silk. It looks like it’ll be a fairly fight-heavy issue, and Stacey Lee’s gorgeous art is excellent at capturing motion.

I need to remember to preorder Island #1 and 2, out in July and August. It’s a comic anthology magazine by Brandon Graham and Emma Rios. Rios is the reason I want to preorder it. I love Emma Rios’ art. Love it so damn much. She’s my all-time favourite artist. July 15 and August 19, for the two issues featuring her story, ID. The magazine’s $7.99, but I’m confident it’ll be worth the cost to see Emma Rios’ beautiful art again, and there will be other stories that will probably impress me, too. So I really, really need to remember to talk about it with my comic shop guy about those books.

I’ll also preorder Hopeless Savages Vol. 4, Break. The first three volumes were great. Jen Van Meter did an excellent job on the writing, doing great humour and great drama. Vol. 2, Ground Zero, in particular, was just so damned good. I can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s a teenage love story. It’s sweet and funny and sad and it’s drawn by Bryan Lee O’Malley of Scott Pilgrim fame, and it’s just fantastic. Vol. 4 will be drawn by Meredith McClaren. McClaren has a webcomic, Hinges. It’s really strange, but so pretty. Here’s the start, and if you start reading it, make sure you’ve got some time, because you probably won’t want to stop for a while. Her art is so gorgeous that you’ll feel compelled to keep looking at it. McClaren’s style gives me hopes that Hopeless Savages Vol. 4 will be more like Vol. 2 – with a greater focus on emotions – than Vols. 1 or 3 – with a greater focus on comedy. Here’s the cover:

Hopeless Savages Vol. 4 - Break

Read this book in August.

We have confirmation that Marvel is not rebooting. I’ve been saying that all along. I’ve been saying that Marvel’s not going to reboot. That they’ll keep all their existing continuity. Now we know that that’s what’s happening. I called it. All these months of people speculating on how the reboot would happen, on what would be changed, on what the reboot would mean, and it was all for naught. Naught, I say! I wonder how many of the people who were so certain that this was going to be a Nu52-style reboot will admit they got it wrong. My guess? Not a whole lot. Ah, well.

I didn’t win a single book from Goodreads in May. I haven’t won anything since mid-April. Oh well. I’ve still got a few books to get through.

I spent the last few days battling off a mild cold. I blew my nose a lot on Friday. The skin was getting pretty raw. It’s mostly over with now. I drink a lot of water, so that helped. Plus, I just don’t get bad colds.

My schedule this week is: Wednesday 1-9, Thursday 4-8, 7:30-11:30 Saturday, 11-3 Sunday, 3:30-11:30 next Tuesday, 10-2 next Wednesday. So my next pull list will be Tuesday, and next week’s reviews will go up on Wednesday. Tomorrow’s post will be Longshot #6. And assuming nothing comes up, I’ll probably have posts Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday, for Alpha Flight #31, Uncanny X-Men #203, New Mutants #37 and X-Factor #2.

That’s all I’ve got for now.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

