Skip to content

Pull list for June 24 2015

June 23, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so no delay in reviews going up.

I’ll go to the store for: E Is For Extinction #1, by Chris Burnham and Ramon Villalobos; Loki Agent of Asgard #15, by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett.

I’ll also review: X-Men ’92 #1, by Chris Sims, Chad Bowers and Scott Koblish. This will be the first print issue; I reviewed the first Infinite issue, but this print issue includes the first three Infinite issues. I think.

So that’s two comics I’m buying, and two reviews. Man, this is another small week for me. Two in a row, following two really heavy weeks. Dammit, Marvel, get better at spreading your releases out! It’s possible I’ll also review something from Secret Wars, but probably not. I didn’t feel like bothering last week, I don’t see why I would this week.

I’m most excited for the two comics I’m buying. I only read Grant Morrison’s New X-Men well after it was over, but when I did finally read it, I loved it. I thought it was revolutionary, and brilliant stuff. Revisiting that has me excited, but wary. I have no experience with Burnham as a writer, and almost no experience with him as an artist. So I don’t know what to expect. And Morrison’s New X-Men was so damned good that it’s a lot to live up. Loki, on the other hand, has been a great, clever book from the start, so I’m not at all concerned about the new issue.

So Kelly Sue DeConnick is leaving Captain Marvel. That’s disappointing. I’ve enjoyed her run, and hoped she’d stay on. The new writers are Tara Butters and Michele Fazekas, the showrunners for Agent Carter, with Kris Anka doing pencils. Agent Carter was really good, so I’m hoping their Captain Marvel will be fun. They’ve also made slight tweaks to her costume, but I’m not sure I like them. They shortened her gloves and boots. I’m not sure I like that. It feels like the blue dominates just a bit too much now. The longer gloves and boots helped to break it up better. Also, no SWORD in the new Marvel Universe. That makes me sad. The book looks like it’s going to be pretty space-heavy, but I’m hoping they don’t get rid of the amazing supporting cast KSD built up for Carol in the first volume. Kit and Wendy and Jess and Rhodey.

We’re starting to get some trickles of information about the post-Secret Wars titles. Iron Man by Bendis, Dr. Strange by Aaron, Spider-Man by Bendis (with Miles in the title role, though I would expect Amazing Spider-Man will be relaunched with Peter still in the title role). We know All-New All-Different Avengers will be written by Waid, and Soule will be doing Uncanny Inhumans. ANAD Avengers is the only one I’ll definitely pick up. Spider-Man is a maybe. But I’m still waiting for Marvel to announce something that really excites me. So far, there’s been nothing that’s made me go “wow.”

E3 had an announcement for the new Mass Effect game. Mass Effect: Andromeda, where players will explore the Andromeda galaxy. Because BioWare made such an interesting and compelling setting in the original trilogy, with so many potential stories to tell, so of course they want to get away from that. I won’t be playing Andromeda. It’s not any sort of moral stance, mind you, it’s because I’m a cheap bastard. I don’t really do gaming any more, so I’m certainly not going to shell out money for a new console just for one game, or even one series of games. I’ll probably watch someone play through it on YouTube. Probably.

The new Heartless Bastards CD, The Restless Ones, is so damned good. They’re my favourite band. I’d definitely recommend giving them a listen. They’re going to be in Montreal in September, but I have no one to go with, and I don’t want to go on my own. Especially since I don’t drive and getting to Montreal would be a huge pain in the ass. So that makes me sad. But the CD makes me happy. Here’s Black Cloud, my favourite song from the new album:

My schedule this week is: 6:30-11 Thursday, 7-11 Friday, 5:30-11 Saturday, 7-3 Sunday. So I’ll have posts Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, and possibly Thursday and Friday. My next pull list may as well go up on Tuesday, as well, so two posts that day. So that’s Uncanny X-Men #204, New Mutants #38 and X-Factor #3 pretty much for sure, and Firestar #2 and Alpha Flight #33 as maybes. I might be able to get through the entirety of April 1986 this coming week, if I’m lucky.

Work sucked on Friday and Saturday. So damn busy. They usually are, because there’s always people getting paid on Fridays. But this week also had a baby bonus, and of course, this weekend was Father’s Day. So, it was just so busy. Such crazy long line-ups. It was exhausting. Still no luck at all with finding a library job. Or a girlfriend, but that can wait until I’m out of this dump town. There’s a couple more jobs I’m planning to apply for this week, and I’ll keep checking for more.

One job I considered applying for is in Nunavut. Which is like Alaska, if Alaska had fewer people. That’s not a joke – Alaska has a population density of 1.26/sq mile, Nunavut is 0.052/sq mile. Alaska’s population is over 700 000, Nunavut’s population is 32 000. The city I live in has a larger population than the entire territory. The job would be in the capital city of Iqaluit, with a population of a little under 7000. While I was willing to take a job in Yukon, Nunavut would be, I think, too much for me.

All right, that’s all I’ve got this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

