Skip to content

Pull list for July 8 2015

July 7, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews as normal.

I’ll go to the store for: Age of Apocalypse #1, by Scott Lobdell and Gerardo Sandoval; Ghost Racers #2, by Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon; Secret Wars 2099 #3, by Peter David and Will Sliney.

I’ll also review: Inferno #3, by Dennis Hopeless and Javi Garron; Mrs. Deadpool and the Howling Commandos #2, by Gerry Duggan and Salva Espin; Runaways #2, by Noelle Stevenson and Sanford Greene.

So that’s 3 comics I’m picking up, and 6 reviews. A moderately light week. Not too heavy.

I’m most excited for Ghost Racers and AoA. I really enjoyed All-New Ghost Rider, and Ghost Racers got off to a great start last month. I’m really excited to see what Smith does. As for AoA, I’ll confess, this is one time where nostalgia might be slipping in. I read parts of the original AoA as a kid, and loved it. I actually didn’t read the whole thing, just a few issues of a couple of the books. But still, I thought they were great books. And when I did finally read the complete Age of Apocalypse years later, I still found it enjoyable. So seeing one of the best X-writers of the ’90s – Scott Lobdell – return to one of the cooler X-stories of the ’90s, it’s just really exciting. And hey, even Sandoval’s irritating art style will fit, giving it a very ’90s feel to add to the nostalgia.

I actually forgot, last week, to post my full July Marvel pull list. I was so distracted by October’s previews, it slipped my mind. So, in addition to last week’s I’ll pick up: Age of Apocalypse #1; Ghost Racers #2; Secret Wars #3; Witch Hunter Angela #2; Mighty Defenders #1; Carol Corps #2; Ms. Marvel #17; Siege #1; Silver Surfer #13; Years of Future Past #3; A-Force #3; E Is For Extinction #2; Loki #16; Silk #6; Uncanny X-Men #35. Add the five from last week, and that gives me 20 titles. Of course, that’s assuming none of them have been delayed into next month, and given all the delays announced not long ago, I have no frigging clue what’s coming out when any more.

I watched the Bronies documentary the other night. I enjoyed it. It’s one hell of a community, really. I’m not actually a part of the community – I just enjoy the show. But I don’t talk to anyone about it – the result of a lack of friends. I’m wary of going to MLP websites, just because of how large they are and how fast I suspect most threads would move. But it’s a good show. The newest episode was nice. Pretty sweet, pretty funny. Good episode.

My schedule this week: 10:30-7 Thursday, 6:30-10:30 Friday, 5:30-10 Saturday, 7:30-11:30 Sunday, 3-7 Tuesday, 3:30-11:30 Wednesday. My next pull list will be Tuesday, next week’s reviews will go up on Thursday. I’ll have posts Sunday and Monday, for Firestar #3 and Alpha Flight #34.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week. I just don’t have much to talk about.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

