Skip to content

Pull list for July 15 2015

July 14, 2015

I work tomorrow, until 11. So reviews may go up Thursday, instead.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Britain & the Mighty Defenders #1, by Al Ewing and Alan Davis; Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps #2, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Kelly Thompson and David Lopez; Island #1, by an assortment of creators, but most prominently Brandon Graham and Emma Rios (squee!); Siege #1, by Kieron Gillen and Felipe Andrade; Silver Surfer #13, by Dan Slott and Michael Allred; Years of Future Past #3, by Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton.

I’ll also review: Secret Wars Battleworld #3, by David Walker, Donny Cates, Juvaun Kirby and Marco Turini.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and 5 reviews. Not too bad. Though one of the comics I’m picking up is a magazine, so it’s twice the cost. But it’s Emma Rios!

I’m most excited for . . . man, what am I not excited for? Of the 6 I’m picking up, Years is the one I’m least excited for, and that series has been great and the new issue will have a giant Lockheed fighting Sentinels. And that one’s lowest on my list! Mighty Defenders has Ewing and Davis, two fantastic British creators (who already did excellent work together on the Ultron Forever three-parter), with an awesome cast of characters. Carol Corps got off to a solid start, and looks set to get even better. Silver Surfer has been brilliant right from the start, and the Secret Wars arc looks like it’ll be more insane awesomeness. Siege is Gillen being Gillen, with characters like Ms. America, Agent Brand, 1602 Kate, Leonardo Da Vinci and more. And then Island is Emma Rios! I don’t care what she draws, I will buy it because it will be frigging gorgeous. She’s my favourite artist of all time. I’m sure Island will be full of great stories, but it’s Emma Rios I’m buying.

I suppose if I had to rank them, Island is probably the one I’m most excited about (Emma Rios!), then Siege, then Mighty Defenders. Probably. Siege is definitely the Marvel comic I’m most excited about. Because Gillen, and an absolutely amazing cast.

October solicits are out. Some quick thoughts:

Thanos in Siege? Niiiice. That should be a hell of a final battle. And, uh, I think that’s about all the thoughts I have. I’ve talked about a lot of the other books already.

So, my October pull list is: 1602 Angela #4, Siege #4, Extraordinary X-Men #1, Ms. Marvel #19, New Avengers #1 Spider-Man 2099 #1, Age of Apocalypse #5, Angela Queen of Hel #1, Extraordinary X-Men #2, New Avengers #2 Spider-Man 2099 #2, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1. So, only 12 titles for October? Wow. That’s pretty sad, actually. Well, we’ll see in a month what my November pull list will be.

I finished The Unnoticeables, by Robert Brockway. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

I read an Advanced Readers Copy received through Goodreads Giveaways. This was great. A darkly comic horror. It’s well-written, with Carey and Kaitlyn both having very different voices. Carey, in 1977, is dumb, violent and profane. Kaitlyn, in 2015, is more normal. Much of the comedy from Carey’s story comes from how stupid he and his friends are, while the humour from Kaitlyn’s story is a lot more self-aware and self-effacing. Carey’s story is funnier, but still creepy, while Kaitlyn’s story is maybe a little less comedic, but a whole lot creepier. The horror is a lot stronger there, because she is a fairly normal person, dealing with horrifying things.

I don’t normally read horror. I honestly have no idea how high my threshold for it is. This being a horror-comedy, I think the comedy helps to offset the horror. I don’t think most readers will have nightmares or anything. But there is some really unsettling bits.

All in all, I found this a very enjoyable read.

It’s fun getting free books. Odds are, I never would’ve picked this book up on my own, even though I generally enjoy Brockway’s articles on Cracked, and even though the premise looked neat. I did enjoy the book, so I’m glad I read it, and glad I got it for free. Next, I’ll need to finish the last 80-odd pages of The Devil’s Detective. That might be done by next week. And it turns out my reading goal was way more conservative than I thought! I’m 5 books ahead of schedule, having read 17 of the 24 I planned to do. I should hit 30 books, easy. The next two books look like they might be rough, though. The Caloris Rim Project is pretty long, and my mom wasn’t impressed with it, so it might not be a great read. I Take You looks like some lame chick-lit, so I get the feeling it’ll be a drag to get through. So that’ll be August and September. And I’m supposed to have a book coming in the mail, but it’s almost two weeks now, and it doesn’t usually take so long.

So, I have to say, every time WordPress changes its set-up, it somehow gets worse. The posting layout was more intuitive when I first signed up; I still use that one. The previous Reader layout change wasn’t a big deal. It probably was better than what came before it. But the new set-up? Stupid. It no longer defaults to posting images. Apparently, if I want to have an image show up in the preview, I will now need to manually set it to show up . . . which, of course, is not as simple as just clicking a button. It should be that easy. It always should have been that easy, and it’s stupid that it’s not. When you go to add a picture, it should have a little box you can check for “Set As Featured Image.” It should be that easy. There is absolutely no reason for it not to be that easy. There really isn’t. Instead, from what I can tell, if I want to have an image show in the preview, what I need to do is to save the image to my computer, then upload it to the site. That makes no damn sense at all. It’s stupid and WordPress is stupid for making the process so stupid and counter-intuitive.

Still no luck at all on my job search. Not a damn bit. Urgh. It sucks. I don’t want to work at Wal-Mart any more. I am too smart for that place. I don’t mean that as a boast. I mean that I’m not the kind of person who can just turn my brain off. I need some sort of mental stimulation. But there’s not a lot of library jobs, and the ones that are out there, either I’m vastly under-qualified for, or they’re only part-time and don’t pay enough to live off of. It sucks. I’m honestly not sure I’ll ever be able to get a library job. It’s already over a year since I graduated, and the longer I get from that, the more out-of-date my education becomes. Plus, every year brings a new group of graduates into the field.

My schedule this week: 3:30-11:30 tomorrow, 6:30-10:30 Friday, 6-10 Saturday, 10:30-7 Sunday, 9:30-6:30 Monday. My next pull list will be on Monday. I’ll have a post Tuesday, definitely, and maybe Thursday, depending on when I get my reviews up for tomorrow’s comics.

That’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

