Skip to content

Pull list for July 29 2015

July 28, 2015

I work tomorrow, but I’ll still try to get my reviews up.

I’ll go to the store for: 1602 Witch Hunter Angela #2, by Marguerite Bennett, Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans and Marguerite Sauvage.

I’ll also review: Deadpool’s Secret Secret Wars #3, by Cullen Bunn and Matteo Lolli; X-Men ’92 #2, by Chris Sims, Chad Bowers and Scott Koblish.

So that’s one comic I’m picking up, and three reviews. So . . . yeah, getting my reviews up on Wednesday should be pretty easy. Jeez. One damn comic. That’s just sad. It’s because it’s a fifth week, I suppose.

I’m most excited for . . . well, I only have one comic. I am excited for it, though. Bennett’s started this mini off in a really interesting way, with a cool premise and some interesting ideas. Plus – Stephanie Hans. Siiiigh. That’s a happy sigh, by the way. Not a sad one. It’s the kind of sigh you let out when looking at someone beautiful, but in this case, it’s her art that gives me that reaction. Not that Hans herself isn’t attractive. She’s very pretty. But her art is just . . . siiiigh.

So, I’m going to see Ant-Man tonight. In fact, I’m watching it right now. I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. Probably not enough to talk much about it on here, because I don’t talk about movies on here in general. But still, I’ll probably find it a fun, enjoyable movie.

With Marvel’s hip-hop album cover homages, there’s been more discussion about the lack of diversity among Marvel’s creators. There are a few people of colour doing some of the covers, but not many confirmed as interior artists. And there’s only one person of colour confirmed to be writing after Secret Wars, with Greg Pak doing Totally Awesome Hulk. The hip-hop covers are cool – I don’t even like hip-hop, and even I think most of the covers are really damned cool – but just the same, as plenty of people have pointed out, if Marvel wants to show appreciation for black culture, they really should hire some black writers. It’s sorta kinda maybe been hinted that there might be a person of colour doing a Black Panther book. Alonso did confirm a Black Panther title, and he mentioned it in the same breath as TA Hulk. So, we can hope they’ve got a black writer on the title. And hopefully, they hire more black writers, too. Minority characters are cool, minority creators is a lot more meaningful. Especially if those minority creators aren’t restricted solely to minority titles. Let’s see a black woman writing Iron Man, a Latino guy writing X-Men, an Asian writing Hul- oh yeah. Fine then, a gay Asian writing Hulk.

The point is, Marvel desperately needs to step up its game in regards to minority creators. There are plenty of talented creators of colour out there. They write comics, they write TV shows. Hell, they write hip-hop. Marvel’s hired CM Punk – a professional athlete – to co-write the Drax ongoing. So why not bring in a hip-hop artist – someone whose career revolves around words – to co-write a Luke Cage comic? Come on, can you tell me that RZA wouldn’t write an awesome Luke Cage? And then get some of the talented black comic writers to do books, too. Felipe Smith can have a run on the Punisher. Kevin Grievoux can come back to do something. he writers are out there, Marvel needs to do a better job at giving them shots. Don’t just give us middle-aged white guys all the time. Give us writers with a different perspective.

I’ve been re-watching My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. I’m on Season 2 now. I watched Luna Eclipsed last night. It is such a great series. It’s legitimately funny, and it’s also really sweet. And then there’s episodes like Lesson Zero or Party of One that get downright unsettling – I actually really love those episodes. It’s just a wonderful show and I love it.

I got my tax return a couple days ago. It’s, uh, pretty big. I’ll probably spend a chunk of it on a new computer. The one I have is pretty old. The only real problem it has is a weird one: When it’s hot out, it rattles. The hotter the day, the louder the rattle, and I have to tip it over more and more to make it stop. It’s practically horizontal at this point. So, yeah, I think it’s time to get a new computer. Which will mean getting it all set up. Bleh. Bleeeeh.

My schedule this week: 7-11 tomorrow, 3:30-9 Thursday, 6:30-11 Saturday, 11:30-8 Sunday, 10-6 Tuesday. So I’ll have posts Friday and Monday, and the next pull list on Tuesday.

That’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

