Skip to content

Pull list for August 12 2015

August 11, 2015

I work tomorrow. So I might not get the reviews up. We’ll see.

I’ll go to the store for: A-Force #3, by G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett and Jorge Molina; Ghost Racers #3, by Felipe Smith and Juan Villanueva; Phonogram The Immaterial Girl #1, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie; Secret Wars 2099 #4, by Peter David and Will Sliney; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #8, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson; Years of Future Past #4, by Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton.

I’ll also review: Master of Kung Fu #4, by Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic; Mrs. Deadpool and the Howling Commandos #3, by Gerry Duggan and Salva Espin; Secret Wars #5, by Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic; Star-Lord and Kitty Pryde #2, by Sam Humphries and Alti Firmansyah.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and 7 reviews. A fairly heavy week, which is a little annoying since I work tomorrow. Oh well.

I’m most excited for Years, Squirrel Girl and Phonogram. Years has been excellent so far. Bennett’s telling a compelling story, and I’m eager for more. Squirrel Girl is always a delight, so of course I’m excited. And we’re finally getting the third volume of Phonogram from Gillen/McKelvie. The first two volumes were great – Vol. 2, The Singles Club, was especially fun – and they’ve been threatening a third volume for a while now. I’m glad to see it finally happen.

I’m sure you’ve all seen the Deadpool trailer by now. I have to say, it looks really good. It looks like they’re drawing inspiration primarily from the fantastic Joe Kelly run on the character, which was hands-down the best run the character’s ever had. Beats the hell out of Waypool, easily. The presence of Blind Al and Weasel is great. They both got pretty much dropped into limbo after Kelly. There’s lots of violence, and lots of great humour. And a variety of humour, which is important. It looks like a fun movie. I also like the little jab at Reynolds’ last superhero role: “Make sure my superhero costume isn’t green! Or animated!” So Deadpool looks like it actually will be a good movie. I’m glad.

So, I found one of the most weirdly effective mash-ups out there. It combines James Brown’s “I Feel Good” with Portishead’s “Roads.” I Feel Good is a very upbeat, happy, energetic song. Roads is one of the most depressing songs ever. (Seriously, that’s a song to suicide to.) And yet, when you combine them . . . it works. It gives Brown’s vocals a haunting, plaintive quality. It’s like he’s trying to convince himself of his own words, or something. Anyway, it’s great. It shouldn’t work at all, but somehow, it does. You can listen to it here, since I’m having trouble embedding it in this post. Funny thing: Apparently, Universal used a brief segment of it – maybe 10 seconds or so – in a trailer for their James Brown biopic. Without telling the guy who did the mash-up. Fortunately for Universal, they at least had the rights to the music.

My schedule for this week: 3:30-11:30 tomorrow, 4:30-10 Thursday, 6-10:30 Friday, 6-10:30 Saturday, 10:30-3 Monday. So I’ll have posts Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. My next pull list will be next Tuesday, I suppose. And I’ll do posts for New Mutants #42, X-Factor #7 and Alpha Flight #37.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

