Skip to content

Pull list for August 19 2015

August 18, 2015

I only work until 4 tomorrow, so reviews will go up.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain America and the Mighty Defenders #2, by Al Ewing and Alan Davis; Island #2, by assorted creators but it’s Emma Rios I’m picking it up for; Loki Agent of Asgard #17, by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #33, by Thom Zahler and Tony Fleecs; Secret Love #1, by various; Silk #6, by Robbie Thompson and Stacey Lee; X-Tinction Agenda #3, by Marc Guggenheim and Carmine Di Giandomenico.

I’ll also review: Guardians Team-Up #10, by Tim Seeley and Mike Norton; House of M #1, by Dennis Hopeless and Marco Failla; Inferno #4, by Dennis Hopeless and Javier Garron; Runaways #3, by Noelle Stevenson and Sanford Greene; Secret Wars Journal #4, by Mike Benson, Sina Grace and Laura Braga.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and 8 reviews. Yeesh. This is a heavy week.

I’m most excited for Mighty Defenders and Secret Love. Secret Love just looks like it’ll be a lot of fun. Robbie Reyes and Kamala Khan! Written by Felipe Smith, too. So that should be plenty of fun. Also, Squirrel Girl wins a date with Thor. There is no possible way that won’t be adorable. And there’s other good stuff to look forward to in it. And then Mighty Defenders is Ewing and Davis, so what’s not to be excited about? The first issue was great. Ewing’s Mighty Avengers was always great. Alan Davis is always great. It’s going to be an excellent comic. I’m also glad to get another issue of Silk. Stacey Lee’s artwork always delights me.

Also, Empowered #9 comes out tomorrow. That’s a great series. In sad news, Hopeless Savages – Break has apparently been delayed until November. That makes me so sad. Soooo sad. I’ve been looking forward to it intensely for months. Now I need to wait another three months for it. Damn you, production issues!

The November solicits are out. In terms of stuff I’ll be buying physically or reviewing on here, not much news. Deadpool will apparently have become popular in-universe. Meh. I suppose it could be a fun meta-commentary on his popularity with audiences, especially if Duggan brings back more of the darkness inside him. Squirrel Girl looks like it’s going to continue to be amazing. Silk will be working for the Black Cat, which could be really interesting. Presumably, Black Cat has offered to help her find her family. New Avengers will have a traitor – it’ll be interesting to see who that is. Possibly Hawkeye, secretly working for the regular Avengers and reporting on what the NA team is up to. Extraordinary X-Men #3 will have Teen Jean and Old Man Logan meet. He’d better not hit on her. Because if any hero would be enough of a creepy old man to hit on a teen girl, it would be Wolverine. Angela looks amazing. Angela has to re-write the laws of death in order to save Sera. Sure makes any other romantic gesture look like crap. “Flowers? Oh, that’s nice, I guess. I mean, you didn’t rewrite any of the rules that make up our very existence. But still, you know, it’s nice.”

So, my November pull list: All-New All-Different Avengers #1; Spider-Man 2099 #3; Ultimates #1; Extraordinary X-Men #3; Ms. Marvel #1; New Avengers #3; Silk #1; All-New All-Different Avengers #2; Angela #2; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2. Only 10 titles. I may pick up a couple others. Possibly Ant-Man, possibly Moon Girl. Just because, holy shit, my pull list is tiny.

I’m almost finished The Caloris Rim Project. I’ll finish it this week, for sure.

My schedule this week: 10:30-4 tomorrow, 3:30-11:30 Thursday, 6-11:30 Saturday, 12:30-5 Sunday, 6-10:30 Tuesday. So my next pull list will go up Tuesday. I’ll have posts Friday and Monday.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

