Skip to content

Pull list for August 26 2015

August 25, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will go up.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps #3, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Kelly Thompson and David Lopez; E Is For Extinction #3, by Chris Burnham, Dennis Culver and Ramon Villalobos.

I’ll also review: Deadpool’s Secret Secret Wars #4, by Cullen Bunn and Matteo Lolli; Hank Johnson, Agent of Hydra #1, by David Mandel and Michael Walsh; Magneto #21, by Cullen Bunn and Paul Davidson; Old Man Logan #4, by Brian Bendis and Andrea Sorrentino.

So that’s 2 comics I’m picking up, and 6 reviews. A pretty light week.

I’m most excited for the two books I’m picking up. I’ve enjoyed Carol Corps so far, and I’m loving what Culver is doing with Extinction. He’s done a great job keeping the tone of Morrison’s New X-Men.

I finished reading The Caloris Rim Project, by Glenn P. MacDonald. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

This was not a great book. MacDonald puts a lot of work into the setting and science, so he gets points for that. But the plot and characters are both weak. The plot meanders a bit, and never quite feels like it gels. The characters are bland and shallow.

But the biggest problem is the writing style. MacDonald simply isn’t a strong writer. It has a tendency to be too dry, even when it shouldn’t be. It ends up sucking out tension in some scenes, because it’s just not written in a way that conveys the tension. There were far too many typos for a published novel, as well.

All in all, I was not impressed by this book.

I gave it two stars. This is actually the lowest rating I’ve given any book I’ve received free from Goodreads. I considered giving it three stars, but it just doesn’t deserve it. I’m now at 20 books read out of the 24 I set for myself for the year. I need to read a graphic novel for this month – probably another Courtney Crumrin, which is a great series. Then my September novel will be I Take You, by Eliza Kennedy. I can’t say I’m excited for that one. Ah, well. The last chick-lit novel I read, Virgin, by Radhika Sanghani, wasn’t too bad. But it had the benefit of being set in England, with a non-white protagonist. That sort of thing gets me more interested. Maybe I can pretend the protagonist of I Take You is Latin-American or something. Come to think of it, I haven’t won anything from Goodreads in over a month now. Hmm.

I also finished playing Skyborn, an RPG I bought through the Windows Shop. It’s an old-school-style RPG. It’s actually pretty good. Fun little steampunk game. Really good writing, an interesting plot, cool characters. Decent gameplay, though nothing spectacular. I enjoyed it. It has a female lead, which is always nice to see. She has an antagonistic relationship with the male lead, and while she definitely mellows on him, I was glad that there was no indication that they started a relationship or anything. The last we see of them, she seems to still kinda hate him. Regardless, pretty good game.

On Saturday, I went to Coticon, a local geek-oriented convention. It sucked. It cost $20 to get in, and there were only a few tables. I didn’t end up buying anything. There was just nothing worth buying. There were panels throughout the day, but none that would’ve interested me. All in all, I regret going.

At Wal-Mart, they sell chocolate bars for a dollar each, or a pack of four for $4.12. It actually costs more to get a pack of four than to get four individual bars. That is stupid. It’s incredibly stupid. It’s backwards. It makes negative sense. Generally, the point of getting a pack of something is that it’s cheaper than getting them individually. They used to sell the packs of chocolate bars for $3.88, which did make sense. But apparently, for no frigging reason, they’ve decided to make the packs more expensive. So stupid.

My schedule for the week: 9:30-3 Thursday, 2-10:30 Friday, 4-8 Saturday, 2:30-7 Sunday, 9:30-5:30 Monday. I’ll probably post my next pull list on Monday. And I’ll have posts Thursday and Tuesday, for X-Factor #8 and Alpha Flight #38.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

