Skip to content

Pull list for October 7 2015

October 6, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews as normal.

I’ll go to the store for: 1602 Witch Hunter Angela #4, by Marguerite Bennett, Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans and Frazer Irving; Avengers #0, featuring previews of the Avengers titles; My Little Pony Friends Forever #21, by Ted Anderson and Agnes Garbowska; Siege #4, by Kieron Gillen and Andrade Felipe.

I’ll also review: Contest of Champions #1, by Al Ewing and Paco Medina; Dr. Strange #1, by Jason Aaron and Chris Bachalo; Old Man Logan #5, by Brian Bendis and Andrea Sorrentino; Secret Wars #6, by Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 7 reviews. Not too bad.

While I won’t be buying it, since I’ve bought the single issues, the TPB of the first arc of Bitch Planet also comes out. If you haven’t been following the series, I’d recommend picking it up. It won’t include the amazing essays, as far as I know, but it does apparently include a discussion guide. Because it’s the kind of book that really invites and encourages discussion. So, if you’re interested in feminism or sci-fi, pick it up.

I’m most excited for Angela and Siege. Angela’s been fantastic. A great mix of fun and drama. It’s got some nice meta elements to it, and dialogue that feels classical. And, of course, Stephanie Hans on art. Looooooove Stephanie Hans. Siege is Gillen. I love just about everything Gillen does. Siege has been no exception. Fun and intense. Terrible puns right beside tragic deaths. And both these minis have now reached their conclusions. Siege’s finale will probably be pretty heart-breaking. Angela’s might be, too. Tough to tell.

My October pull list (based on the calendar on Marvel’s website): Angela #4, Avengers #0, Siege #4, Squirrel Girl #1, Angela #1, Age of Apocalypse #5, Extraordinary X-Men #1 (though I think it’s actually been delayed until November), Spider-Man 2099 #1, New Avengers #1, Ms. Marvel #19. So, only 10 comics, maybe 9. Wow, this is a brutally light month for me. This month does also have Stephanie Hans’ issue of WicDiv. So that should be amazing. Because Stephanie Hans is so damned good. Still, this looks to be an embarrassingly light month all around for me.

I finished Bright Lights, Dark Nights, by Stephen Emond. My review from Goodreads:

This is a great YA book. It deals pretty heavily with race issues. A white guy starts a relationship with a black girl, right as his cop father gets embroiled in a scandal over his arrest of a black kid. The father feels he did his job right, but there’s accusations that he’s racist. The public storm affects the teenage lovers, with the parents of both thinking it’s a bad time for them to be dating, and people on the Internet talking about it. The main character – the white guy – is even forced to come to terms with his own racist attitudes, picked up from his family. (And he has to deal with his family situation in general – his hostility towards his mother over his parents’ divorce is a big thing.)

As a YA novel, the handling of the race issues doesn’t really get too in-depth. It’s more a way of examining the ways racism has changed – the fact that it tends to be subtler, and how a lot of it has moved online. The tense relations between cops and black communities is vaguely referenced, but doesn’t get much exploration. But that’s understandable.

It is still a great book. It’s well-written, with believable characters, and it at least gets readers thinking about some complex issues. A very strong YA novel.

Next up: Heir to the Sun, by Jennifer Allis Provost. I’m already about a third of the way through it, so I should be able to finish it quickly. So far, it’s pretty decent. And a few days ago, I won The Ill Fortune To Be Dark In the Eyes, by Berlin Gunning. A fantasy novel about a society that practices discrimination based on eye colour. So I should be getting that in the mail shortly.

I watched My Little Pony: Friendship Games. This is the last of the Equestria Girls movies, and I find myself surprisingly disappointed at that. The first one, to be blunt, sucked. It was a half-assed movie in every way, from the plot to the writing to the music. It sucked. But Rainbow Rocks and Friendship Games were both really good. Friendship Games had an interesting plot, plenty of solid character work, and some really good music. The music wasn’t the focus of this movie, but the songs were mostly great. Human Twilight Sparkle went through a compelling arc. Sunset Shimmer finished her character arc in a nice way that called back well to the first movie. It was a good movie. It was good enough to make me actually want to see more stories in the setting.

In my re-watch of the series, I’ve now finished the second season, and started on Season 3. That season was only a half-season, which was kinda lame. Oh well. It’s still enjoyable.

My schedule for the week: 5:30-11 Thursday, 1-6 Friday, 1-6 Saturday, 1-6 Sunday, 10-6:30 Tuesday. My next pull list post will be Tuesday. I’ll have a post on Monday, for Alpha Flight #40.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

