Skip to content

Pull list for October 21 2015

October 20, 2015

I work tomorrow, 1:30-10:00. I should still be able to get reviews up.

I’ll go to the store for: Age of Apocalypse #5, by Fabian Nicieza and Iban Coello; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #35, by Jeremy Whitley and Andy Price.

I’ll also review: Karnak #1, by Warren Ellis and Gerardo Zaffino; Secret Wars Agents of Atlas #1, by Tom Taylor and Steve Pugh; Uncanny Inhumans #1, by Charles Soule and Steve McNiven.

So that’s two comics I’m picking up, and 4 reviews. A very, very light week. Oh, well.

I’m most excited for AoA. Because, I mean, I don’t have a lot of options there. Still, it’s been a good series. Lots of fun. I’m looking forward to seeing how it ends.

CBR’s begun their countdown of the Top 50 Marvel and DC Characters. So far, my #8 choice of Squirrel Girl has shown up at #47. Yay.

The January solicits came out today. My pull list: A-Force #2; Ms. Marvel #3; Silk #3; Spider-Man 2099 #5; Spider-Man/Deadpool #1; Silver Surfer #1; Ultimates #3; ANAD Avengers #4; Captain Marvel #1; New Avengers #5; Hellcat #2; Angela #4; Extraordinary X-Men #6; Moon Girl #3; Squirrel Girl #4. 15 titles. Not bad.

I read Princelss Vol. 3, by Jeremy Whitley and Rosy Higgins. Here’s what I said about it on Goodreads:

Princeless continues to be a gem of a series. This is an improvement over the previous volume, which was pretty good, so that’s saying something. The new Princess, Raven, is a lot of fun, and she and Adrienne have great chemistry. When they bicker, it’s great, and when they get close, it’s great. Interestingly, there are some pretty strong hints that Raven is also romantically attracted to Adrienne – it’s not said outright, of course, but it comes pretty close – Raven calls Adrienne gorgeous, seems disappointed when Adrienne says she wishes Raven were her sister, and looks a little guilty when Adrienne says she only gets compliments from guys who like her. And there are other moments, too, throughout the volume. So it’s pretty cool that Whitley decided to add some lesbian subtext to Raven, in addition to giving her an Asian appearance.

The writing is fun and clever, and the art is bright and colourful, and captures action and motion pretty well. It’s got a really good cartoon feel to it. It’s a fun read, and remains an easy recommendation, especially for anyone with kids, especially young girls.

I think it’s clear I’m a big fan of diversity. And Princless is a series that brings that. It’s even now brought sexual diversity, with a lesbian character. It’s not stated, but it’s completely obvious. It is kind of a shame that Whitley apparently feels he can’t have a character be explicitly gay. He’s doing a Raven series now, and I’m betting we don’t see her kissing another girl in it. The unfortunate part is that, if he did do that, it would probably raise the age rating on it. Treating LGBT characters exactly the same as straight characters is apparently inappropriate. So while it’s totally OK for kids to see a guy and girl kissing, seeing two girls kissing would be a lot harder to get into kids’ hands. Well, at least the subtext is blatant enough that a lot of kids will get what’s going on anyway. And it’s still a fun series.

I also read Breakfast After Noon, by Andi Watson. My review:

This was a good comic. It’s about an engaged couple who get laid off from the ceramics factory they both work at, and their struggles that result, both financially and romantically. The woman takes training to find a new job, the guy is determined to get another job in the same field, even though there are no jobs open. So he mostly stays at home watching TV and playing video games. He stops taking care of himself, and becomes depressed, which is what causes the problems with his relationship.

The job loss element definitely hit home for me. I know how much it sucks to be unable to find a job in your field. It doesn’t take long to lose hope and give up. I never got as bad as the character here, but I can understand how he got so bad. The story is very real, something that a lot of people go through. The characters felt real. The art was fine – simple, but sufficiently expressive.

It’s a good comic.

I still can’t get work as a library tech. It’s been over a year, so there’s another graduated class looking for the same jobs I am, while my education is getting further out of date, which is going to make me less enticing to libraries. It sucks. I honestly have no frigging clue what the hell I’m supposed to do. All the jobs I apply for want experience, which nowhere will give me, because I don’t have any, because they won’t give me any, because . . . It’s a pain in the ass and it does make me want to give up. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life working at fucking Wal-Mart but it’s looking like I’m not going to have a damn choice.

Up here in Canuckistan, Harper’s out, and Justin Trudeau is our new Prime Minister. If you’re not familiar with him, Google him. You’re welcome, ladies. We definitely now have the sexiest world leader. Hopefully, Trudeau will restore funding to various libraries and archives in the federal government. They got cut a lot under Harper. I’m hoping Trudeau restores them. Maybe then I’ll be able to find a damn job.

My schedule for the week: 9:30-5 today, 1:30-10:00 tomorrow, 1-6 Friday, 6-11 Saturday, 8-1 Sunday, 10:30-4 Tuesday. My next pull list will be Tuesday. I’ll probably have posts Thursday, Sunday, Monday and probably Tuesday. Sunday’s going to suck, though. Finish at 11 at night on Saturday, and then in at 8 in the morning. Ugh. I hate when they do that. That shouldn’t be allowed. They should need to have 12 hours between shifts.

That’s all for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

