Skip to content

Pull list for October 28 2015

October 27, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will go up.

I’ll go to the store for: Angela Queen of Hel #1, by Marguerite Bennett, Stephanie Hans and Kim Jacinto; New Avengers #2, by Al Ewing and Gerardo Sandoval; Spider-Man 2099 #2, by Peter David and Will Sliney; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson.

I’ll also review: Deadpool vs. Thanos #4, by Tim Seeley and Elmo Bondoc; House of M #4, by Dennis Hopeless and Ario Anindito.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 5 reviews.

I’m most excited for everything but Spider-Man 2099. Angela’s been a great series all along, so I’m excited to see where Bennett takes it, now that she’s the sole writer. Also, Stephanie Hans. Stephanie Haaaans. Gorgeous art. Of course I’m excited. New Avengers #1 really entertained me, so I’m looking forward to seeing more of that. And Squirrel Girl is Squirrel Girl! It’s one of the funnest, happiest books out there. I love it.

Becky Cloonan is going to be writing a new volume of the Punisher. This is really cool. It’s not often that Marvel puts female writers on ongoing male solo titles. The last one I can think of is Gail Simone on Agent X. And that was a long time ago. Plus, Punisher is one of the bigger Marvel characters. He may not have been around since the ’60s, but he’s been around for a while, and he was one of the biggest characters of the ’90s, with multiple ongoings. So he’s a major character, which, again, female writers are seldom trusted with at Marvel, at least for ongoing work. One-shots or maybe even the occasional mini, but that’s it. So it’s cool that Cloonan is getting a shot at the Punisher. I still won’t buy it, because I don’t give a damn about the Punisher, but I’m pleased nonetheless.

I read Call Me Pomeroy, by James Hanna. Here’s my review from Goodreads:

About the best thing I can say about this book is that at least it’s short. OK, that’s not entirely fair. It is well-written. Hanna does a solid job with the protagonist’s voice. The problem is the protagonist is a douche. He is completely unsympathetic. He’s a misogynistic idiot with delusions of grandeur. He’s full of shit in that way that plenty of real people are, and no one likes those people because they’re just exhausting to talk to. We’re apparently supposed to cheer for Pomeroy, admire him for telling it how he sees it and for not being afraid to be politically incorrect. But what that means is that he is an unbearable asshole. Even when he does something nice, more often than not, it’s just so he can hold himself up as some paragon of morality.

The most frustrating part is the character’s rampant misogyny. It gets deeply uncomfortable the longer it lasts. It probably wouldn’t be so annoying if women didn’t keep inexplicably trying to take care of him. The idea that anyone would actually want to help him is beyond belief. The plot gets more ridiculous the longer it goes, until he’s somehow wanted as a suspected terrorist while being hailed as a champion of the people for getting in fights with cops and seeing a stupid song. If Pomeroy is a Man of the People, then the People are idiotic pricks.

Pomeroy is just far too unlikable a character for me to enjoy this book.

I can enjoy a good unsympathetic protagonist. But this book takes it way too far. He’s not just unsympathetic, he’s unbearable. It’s just annoying. The fact that we’re supposed to be rooting for a guy who sees women exclusively as sex objects – he is literally incapable of seeing any woman as anything other than a future conquest – is downright uncomfortable. Add to that the fact that he exhibits casual racism. And moments of casual homophobia, too. But the fact that he says he read Shakespeare and Joyce is supposed to make us think he’s not that bad? No. He is that bad. And that makes this book downright unpleasant to read.

And I’ve finished Kensei: The Love of Danger, by Jeremy Zimmerman. My review:

This is a good book, and a good follow-up to the first novel, Kensei. The main character is a mixed race (black/Japanese) lesbian with the power to see and, to a limited extent, control the spirits around her. (Spirits of objects, spirits of nature, spirits of groups.) I’m a fan of diversity, and it’s a relatively unique power for a superhero. The story is good, and told well. The main character has a believable and relatable voice, and her conflicts with her grandparents provide some nice humour. We get some good romantic drama here. My biggest complaint with the first book was too many characters with the same voices. Zimmerman provides a little more diversity of personality types here, especially with the grandparents. The other superheroes still tend to sound pretty similar, and there’s some weird coincidences with a couple of them being roller derby fans.

This book improves on some of the weaknesses of the first book, without adding any new weaknesses of its own, so it’s an improvement all around. It’s a good superhero novel.

This is a novel I supported on Kickstarter. I enjoyed it.

Speaking of Kickstarter, the Masks tabletop RPG ended up finishing at $107 000. That is a shitload of money.

I can’t decide if I want to watch the new Supergirl series. On the one hand, I like superheroes. On the other hand, I don’t care about DC. And it’s a girl aimed at teen girls, but then again, I love My Little Pony, so teen girls would actually be a step up, demographically. So I haven’t decided yet. I probably won’t bother. Oh well.

Speaking of My Little Pony, though, the latest episode was really good. It was actually a Christmas episode, funnily enough. And it was basically about different families having different holiday traditions, and how we shouldn’t try to force our own traditions on others. It actually makes a case that shoving your own traditions in others’ faces without asking them how they feel about it is kind of an obnoxious thing to do. I may talk about that a little more come December, when conservatives start bitching about the “War On Christmas,” while my every sense is bombarded by Christmas crap. The gaudy decorations! The cheesy music! The smells! The food! (OK, that one’s not so bad.) The goddam glitter! Anyone who complains about a “War On Christmas” is an idiot and an asshole who has no idea what the entire month of December – and most of the month of November, at this point – is like for people who aren’t all that interested in Christmas. But that’s a rant for another time.

My schedule for the week: 4-8 Thursday, 6-11 Friday, 7-11 Saturday, 10-3 Sunday, 2:30-11 Monday, 1:30-9:30 Tuesday. So my next pull list will go up Tuesday, and I’ll have a post on Sunday. I might manage a post on Saturday. Which will be Halloween. I won’t be wearing a costume, because I don’t actually care.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

2 Comments
  1. I watched the first episode of Supergirl and it’s … ok. The optimistic attitude in the show is nice and the acting’s pretty good, but there’s one moment where she all but exposes herself yet nobody figures out who she is. Although I do have one technicality question for the show – if her skin is bulletproof, how did she get her ears pierced?

    I’ve read some of Becky Cloonan’s stuff from DC (Gotham Academy) and while that series is much more optimistic than the Punisher should be, her writing is good. I’m not really a Punisher fan but I might check her run out anyway.

    • Maybe Supergirl wears clip-on earrings?

      I actually ended up watching the first episode. I won’t be watching more.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

