Skip to content

Pull list for November 25 2015

November 24, 2015

So Jessica Jones is pretty awesome, isn’t it? I’m off tomorrow, so reviews as normal. Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert)

I’ll go to the store for: Angela Queen of Hel #2, by Marguerite Bennett, Stephanie Hans and Kim Jacinto; Hopeless Savages Vol. 4 Break, by Jen Van Meter and Meredith McClaren; Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare and Natacha Bustos; Silk #1, by Robbie Thompson and Stacey Lee; Silver Surfer #15, by Dan Slott and Michael Allred; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson.

I’ll also review: All-New Wolverine #2, by Tom Taylor and David Lopez.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and at least two reviews, probably more, it’ll depend on my mood.

I’m most excited for Break. So excited! It was supposed to come out a few months ago, but got delayed. The first three volumes of Hopeless Savages were great, with Vol. 2 being particularly amazing. (The primary artist on that was Bryan Lee O’Malley.) Break looks like it’s going to be more similar to Vol. 2 than 1 or 3. 1 and 3 were both more comedic, more madcap. 2 was a lot more realistic, a lot more intimate and just so damned good. Seriously, I cannot recommend Hopeless Savages Vol. 2 highly enough, and Break looks like it’s going to be similarly intimate and amazing. I’ve read the preview pages, and damn, Van Meter and McClaren work so well together. It’ll be a killer book. I’m also excited for everything else. The Marvel titles all look really, really fun. Most have really unique and fun art styles, and Angela has Stephanie Hans. So, yeah, this is a great week.

I haven’t yet finished Jessica Jones. I’ve watched 10 episodes so far. And it’s awesome. It’s a fantastic show. Everyone gives great performances. The characters are all really interesting and compelling. I love how much of a mess Jessica is – it’s not often that a woman is allowed to be such a mess. Patsy’s great, and I’m hoping she becomes Hellcat. The roughest episode is probably episode 8, the one that explains why Kilgrave is the way he is. It’s the episode that makes you try to like him, to think that maybe he could be better. You have to keep reminding yourself that, no, he’s simply a monster. He takes pleasure in the suffering of others. I’m not sure if there’s a lot of Jessica/Kilgrave shipping out there. I hope there’s not. He’s a rapist and a sadistic monster. He’s a giant piece of shit. I want to believe no one thinks he’s genuinely redeemable, that he’s actually a poor victim who just needs a hug to help him learn to be good. But this is the Internet, and he’s played by an attractive and charismatic man, so of course there are probably women who want Kilgrave to be redeemed. Bleh.

I finished Dates! An Anthology of Queer Historical Fiction. Here’s my review:

This is great. It’s a bunch of short stories from throughout history, with positive depictions of LGBTQ+ (queer) characters. A key point is that the stories are positive. There’s no one being killed or hurt, there are no stories where two people in love are forced apart, nothing like that. These stories aren’t about how hard it’s historically been to be queer. It’s just historical fiction with queer protagonists, and that’s wonderful. I’m straight, myself, but I’m a supporter of diversity, which is why I backed the Kickstarter for this book.

Premise aside, the stories are also all really good. There’s a wide variety to them. They range from cavewomen to ancient Greece to the Roaring Twenties to Stalinist Russia to Ancient Ireland. And a lot more. There’s gay men, lesbians, transgender people, asexuals, agender people, and more. Some stories are about romance, some are about self-discovery. Some are heartfelt and touching, some are just silly fun. There’s a lot going on, basically, and it’s pretty much all great. A lot of different writing and art styles.

If you like positive queer representation, or if you like good comics, this is definitely worth checking out.

Would it be really shallow of me to mention my name is in the book? It’s in the acknowledgements, along with a few hundred other people who donated to the Kickstarter. So, I mean, it’s not like it’s a great accomplishment. But still. Neat! It’s my real name. I thought about using my blog name, but decided it would be tacky.

So now I’ve still got a shitload of other stuff to read. Things I’ve gotten from backing projects on Kickstarter.

My schedule for the week: 2:30-11 Thursday, 4-8:30 Friday, 9:45-4:15 Saturday, 11-5:45 Sunday. My next pull list will be Tuesday, and I’ll have posts Saturday, Monday and Tuesday.

And that’s all I can think of for this week.

One Comment
  1. I’m 6 episodes into Jessica Jones and I completely agree, it’s brilliant.

    Also it feels good to see your name being thanked in a book, doesn’t it? I also financially supported a book last year, written by an author I personally know.

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

