Skip to content

Pull list for December 9 2015; Why Christmas Is Like the Big Bang Theory

December 8, 2015

I’m off tomorrow, so reviews will go up. Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert).

I’ll go to the store for: InseXts #1, by Marguerite Bennett and Ariela Kristantina; My Little Pony Holiday Special #1, by Katie Cook; Spider-Man 2099 #4, by Peter David and Will Sliney; Ultimates #2, by Al Ewing and Kenneth Rocafort.

I’ll also review: Deadpool #3, by Gerry Duggan and Mike Hawthorne; Gwenpool Holiday Special, by various (or parts of it, at least – I’ll likely skip the actual Gwenpool story); Secret Wars #8, by Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic; Uncanny Avengers #3, by Gerry Duggan and Ryan Stegman.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 5 reviews. Not a bad week.

I’m most excited for Ultimates and InseXts. The first Ultimates issue set up the book’s premise well, and I’m looking forward to seeing what sort of big, crazy shit Ewing comes up with. And for InseXts, I like Bennett’s writing, I like Kristantina’s art, I like lesbians. So what’s not to like? Aside from body horror, that is. It does look like it’ll be a fun series.

No Goodreads reviews this week. I haven’t read anything that’s on Goodreads this week. I read Epic Canadiana 2, though. It’s an anthology of Canadian superhero stories. No creators I’m familiar with, unfortunately, but the stories are all good. There’s a heavy focus on diversity, which is always nice. There’s even a story with an autistic protagonist (a high-functioning one, obviously). I wish Marvel would introduce some autistic characters. They could be supporting characters, but it’d be great to have autistic superheroes, too.

Twitter feed Femmes In the Fridge (@FemmesInFridges) went on a very long rant the other night about the poor treatment of colour artists. And she made a lot of good points. It’s something I’ve been bad at, myself. I’m going to make an effort to do better at crediting all creators on books, not just the writer and line artist. I mostly kept it to those two because they’re the ones who create the story, with the colour artist (and inker and letterer) mostly there to do finishes. But they do important work, and they deserve to get credit for what they do. So I’ll start crediting them.

So, my post title was slightly inaccurate. I’m not quite going to compare Christmas to the Big Bang Theory. But I will use it as an analogy for how Christmas feels for people like me, who aren’t big into Christmas. I think people who love Christmas don’t quite understand what Christmas is like for people who don’t love it. If you say you’re not big on Christmas, they try to protest it. And then you’ve got the conservatives who bitch about the War On Christmas and all that crap. So, my analogy.

Let’s say you don’t like The Big Bang Theory. (I’m assuming you have good taste.) Maybe you never liked it. Maybe you liked it for a little while but moved away from it. But you just don’t care for the show. But you work in an office where most of the people are huge fans of the show. They love it enough that they do a Big Bang Month. They have TVs playing the show all the time. They decorate the office with memorabilia. They even end every conversation with “Bazinga.” So, for the entire month, you are relentlessly bombarded with The Big Bang Theory, and you have no escape from it. How long before you get straight-up fed up with the whole thing?

You try to tolerate it. You don’t say anything. You know you’re in the minority and you don’t resent other people having something they enjoy. You’re willing to let them have their fun, you just don’t want to take part in it. But people keep trying to pressure you to take part in it. “Oh, you have to watch the show! You need to love it! Put on a Sheldon t-shirt! Come on!” And you just smile and say, “No, I’m fine, I’ll pass.”

Now, imagine this happens every year. Every single year, you have to sit through an entire month of Big Bang Theory all day, every day. Every person you talk to says “Bazinga,” and if you ask people not to say it to you, suddenly, you’re the bad guy. They start calling you a grinch, they accuse you of bringing everyone down, they start getting mad at you just because you want to be left out of their little game.

That is what Christmas is like for people like me, who don’t care about Christmas. It’s annoying. And I hate when people ask if I’m excited. There’s two options at that point: I can lie and say yes, or I can be honest and say no and have to deal with the inevitable follow-up question of why not. And unfortunately, “I just don’t really care” is rarely enough to end the topic. There’s always more follow-up.

Plus, holy shit, can we just get the hell rid of Christmas music? Like, all of it? Seriously. Stop it. They’re all cheesy. Every single Christmas song that gets radio play is cheesy and annoying. I can’t even come up with a list of my top 5 Christmas songs, because there aren’t 5 bearable Christmas songs that exist. The Jesus ones are the worst. But all Christmas songs get overplayed during the month of December to the point where I hate every single one of them. I don’t want to hear them. I’ve heard them often enough. I’m fed up with them. And let’s not forget the assault on the eyes that is Christmas decorations. Lights and nativity scenes and crap.

I hate Christmas and I want it to be over already.

My schedule for the week: 10:30-5:15 Monday, 2:45-9:30 Tuesday, 3-9:45 Wednesday. Next pull list will be Tuesday, and I’ll have posts Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Been a long time since I’ve been able to post that many days in a row – it’ll be six days in a row, counting this pull list and tomorrow’s weekly review. So that’ll be X-Factor #14, Uncanny X-Men #216, New Mutants #50 and Fantastic Four vs. X-Men #3.

You may have noticed that all my upcoming shifts are 6 hours and 45 minutes long. This is because, if they give me an extra 15 minutes, then they have to give me two breaks and a 1-hour lunch. But by not giving me those 15 minutes, I get one break and a 30-minute lunch. They don’t have the honesty to call it a 7-hour shift, so they’re basically screwing employees over with these shifts. Dicks.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

