Skip to content

Pull list for December 23 2015; 2016 Wish List

December 22, 2015

Christmas is almost over! Just a few more days of this crap. Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). Here’s what I’ll be doing tomorrow.

I’ll go to the store for: Angela Queen of Hel #3, by Marguerite Bennett, Stephanie Hans, Kim Jacinto and Israel Silva; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #2, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; New Avengers #4, by Al Ewing, Gerardo Sandoval and Dono Sanchez Almara; Patsy Walker Hellcat! #1, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and I’m not sure who on colours; Pretty Deadly #7, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Emma Rios and Jordie Bellaire (literally the only book where I don’t have to look up the colour artist, as an aside).

I’ll also review: Deadpool #4, by Gerry Duggan, Mike Hawthorne, Terry Pallot and Val Staples; Extraordinary X-Men #4, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba and Edgar Delgado.

So that’s 5 comics I’m picking up, and 2 X-Men reviews. I’ll also review Hellcat for sure, almost certainly Angela and Moon Girl. And I’ll rave about how amazing Pretty Deadly is because it is seriously so amazing guys you should be reading this series it’s amazing.

Ahem. I’m most excited for, well, all of them. Angela has been a wonderful series, and Hans art will never not excite me. Moon Girl got off to a delightful start, so I’m excited to see where it goes. New Avengers has been a lot of fun. Hellcat is a book I’ve been excited for since it was announced, and looks like it’ll be a lot of fun. And Pretty Deadly is Pretty Deadly. So this is a damned good week. You may have noticed I’m not picking up EXM. I’ve decided to drop it from my physical pull list. I’m just too fundamentally opposed to the direction the X-Men franchise is going. The writing isn’t good enough to overcome the fact that we’re getting a rehash of stories that have already been told.

My friend and I did a gift exchange. I got her some Lush bath stuff and a Fallout Bobblehead. She got me Marvel Comics: The Untold Story; Friends With Boys, by Faith Erin Hicks; SuperMutant Magic Academy, by Jillian Tamaki; and Page By Paige, by Laura Lee Gulledge. I look forward to reading them. But first, I need to finish Kasmah Forma. And also, I want to finish reading Smut Peddler.

Since this week is Christmas, I figured hey, why not do a wish list? Talk about the things I want to see in 2016. The things I want to see in Marvel next year.

First things first, I want an X-title that explores the minority metaphor in a nuanced and complex way, reflecting more of the realities of the minority experience. Something that shows not just the bad, but also shows the good. Showing the political side of it. A book that truly embraces what it means to be a member of a minority. Preferably, get a minority writer to write it. My preference would be for it to be a new District X-type series.

Speaking of which, I still want more minority writers at Marvel. Including Felipe Smith. I loved his All-New Ghost Rider, I’d like to see him get another project at Marvel.

A Dazzler solo. About her going on tour. Just a bunch of quick stories of her having weird adventures all across the country. It’d be great. I’d nominate Jen Van Meter as my dream writer. She’s shown with Hopeless Savages that she can do a comic about music – not just the actual music itself, but also about the industry. Kelly Thompson is also doing great work on Jem & the Holograms, so she’d be good, too. For artist, I’d want an artist who conveys motion and energy really well, and who’s also got a great eye for fashion. Stacey Lee would be great. But there’s a lot of other artists who could do it really well, too. Actually, I’ll mention Jem again, as Sophie Campbell did some fantastic work in the first arc of that book.

The return of Thumbelina. I actually made a series of Twitter posts about her yesterday. She was a part of the Mutant Liberation Front. Her power was to shrink. But what I find interesting is that she was also fat. And she was a unique case for a fat character. Most fat characters, especially women, are treated as jokes. Or their weight is a reflection of their moral failings. And they’re grossly, morbidly obese. Thumbelina was fat, but she wasn’t grossly obese. And while she did get made fun of for her weight, it didn’t define her. She just happened to be a fat person. And she wasn’t an ugly person. She wasn’t gorgeous, but she had a pretty enough face. Or she would have, if she wasn’t being drawn by Rob Liefeld. But that’s the crazy thing: Rob Liefeld created her. He was the only one who used her. Liefeld is best known for having no goddamn clue how anatomy works. All his women have impossible anatomy. And he included a fat woman. And that’s amazing. And I want to see her brought back. In fact, I have made a vow that I will buy the next comic Thumbelina appears in. But only if she’s still fat. If someone brings her back with a typical superheroine body, then that’s a book I will boycott. So, yeah, I want Thumbelina.

And, actually, let’s make it more physically diverse characters in general. That’s something that is very slowly improving, but most artists still draw most characters with pretty much the same body. You don’t get chubby characters. Squirrel Girl is the most notable, at least as drawn by Erica Henderson. So let’s see some more chubby heroes.

More of the New X-Men. I want those characters back. Surge, Dust, Rockslide, Anole, all those characters. They’re great characters and they deserve to be get more attention.

A Generation X reunion series. With Synch brought back. I want that series. Jubilee, Monet, Husk, Penance, Chamber, Emma and Synch. Come on, Marvel! You know you want to do it!

A transgender hero. One who isn’t an alien or a shapeshifter. One who doesn’t have their body changed by magic. Any of that. But an actual transgender character. Someone like Sera, really. But as a less ambiguous hero.

A Cloak and Dagger series with art by Emma Rios. I can dream.

Another Storm solo series. Not written by Greg Pak. What I’d like is an exploration of her mystical roots. It doesn’t get brought up much. I’d like it explored. I don’t necessarily want her to become a sorceress, but I do want that side of her to get an exploration. Also, out her as bisexual. It’s already pretty blatant, so why not just make it explicit.

On that note, another gay or lesbian solo title. Right now, the only gay or lesbian solo Marvel has is Angela. That is, in fact, their only series ever with a gay or lesbian lead. (They’ve had a few with bisexual leads, and I’m really hoping that Hellcat is another bisexual lead, and I’m hoping Abnett makes Hercules explicitly bi, as well.) I’d love a Miss America solo. She’s a great character, and I think a lot could be done with her. She’s a powerhouse, of course, so you can get some big action sequences. But she’s got the dimensional travel going on. There’s a ton of stories you can tell with her across the multiverse. She can go against evil versions of popular heroes. She can go against big creepy monsters. There’s just so much potential. (Maybe she could have a team-up with the Exiles?)

A Mystique/Destiny mini, exploring how they met and fell in love. Who wouldn’t want to see that? Period-piece lesbian anti-hero mini. There’s so much you could do with it. Maybe Mystique is at a time in her life where she spends most of her time presenting as male in order to better fit into society. And Destiny sees right through her, and gradually convinces her to be who she really is. So you can get into themes of gender identity. But just in general, it’s a story rife with potential. And the relationship with Destiny is easily the best relationship Mystique has ever had, so I’d love to see more of that. I really want to see it done.

Boom-Boom. Boom-Boom! I don’t care where she is or what she’s doing. Just Boom-Boom.

I want Jubilee to guest star in Wolverine. The friendship between Jubilee and Laura was far and away the best part of Marjorie Liu’s X-23 run. It was so fun and so sweet and I want more of that in my life.

Simon Spurrier. He needs a book. Why doesn’t he have a book right now, Marvel?

I want Anya to actually frigging do something in Web Warriors. To be an actual part of the book. She went from a single line in the first issue, to three words in the second. At this rate, the next issue will reduce her to grunts. Also, she went from having no role in the fight in the first issue, to being protected by UK in the fight in the second issue. So, again, next issue will probably have her actually make the team lose a fight. Costa’s doing jack shit with the character, and if he’s going to include her in the cast, that needs to change, and fast. He needs to define her character and justify her presence in the book.

And, of course, Karma. I want Karma to get a role in an ongoing again. She is such a great character, and so few writers seem interested in her. Someone needs to scoop her up and make her part of an ongoing, with a big role. Though I’m still torn on whether she should get a girlfriend. I do like the idea of her having terrible luck with her romantic life, having trouble getting a date and the ones she does land always go horribly. The last time we saw her flirting with a girl, it turned out to be a vampire. Her last notable prospect before that was blown up. So it would be so much fun for her luck to stay that way. But on the other hand, man, Karma really does have the absolute shittiest life ever. Grew up in the middle of a war, father killed, fled on a boat where she was raped and her mother was raped to death, forced to absorb her own brother (and I still want that little plot point to be revisited!), possessed by the Shadow King who made her morbidly obese, she lost the weight by spending months living in a desert, her little siblings were lost for years and she was forced to work for her asshole crime lord uncle to try to find them, she lost her leg, she found her father alive only for him to die, and she found out she had a sister who was also an evil CEO. This is the life Karma has led. (On the plus side, she’s now rich.) In the middle of all that, she’s one of a small number of X-Men to have attended an actual post-secondary education (a Librarian program in Chicago). And, oh yeah, her power is pretty psychologically terrifying, as she takes people over. It’s a form of rape, when you think about it. All telepathy is a form of rape, but Karma really does take a person’s agency away from them, forcing them to do what she wants them to do. So what toll must it take on her every time she has to use it? That’s something that would be fascinating to explore. So, I want Karma!

There’s probably more I want. I just can’t think of it. Oh well.

My schedule for the week: 9-5:15 Saturday. And then my next shift after that is actually next Wednesday. So my next pull list will be Tuesday, and I’ll have posts Thursday, Friday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. It’ll be a productive week. Woo.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

