Skip to content

Pull list for January 20 2016

January 19, 2016

I work tomorrow, so reviews might go up very, very late.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Marvel #1, by Tara Butters, Michele Fazekas, Kris Anka and I’m not sure who on colours; Ms. Marvel #3, by G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa and Ian Herring; New Avengers #5, by Al Ewing, Gerardo Sandoval and Dono Almara; Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! #2, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and Megan Wilson; Phonogram The Immaterial Girl #6, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie and Matt Wilson; Silver Surfer #1, by Dan Slott and Michael and Laura Allred.

I’ll also review: Deadpool #6, by Gerry Duggan, Scott Koblish and I’m not sure who on colours; Uncanny X-Men #2, by Cullen Bunn, Greg Land, Jay Leisten and Nolan Woodard.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up and, I don’t know, say anywhere from 5-8 reviews. A pretty heavy week.

I’m most excited for, uh, all of them. Every comic I’m picking up this week has my really excited. We’ve got the end of Phonogram, which will be such a bittersweet experience, but also probably a really weird and clever one. I’m excited for Captain Marvel, of course. I loved KSD’s run, and I loved the Agent Carter TV series, so I’m looking forward to seeing how Butters and Fazekas handle Carol. Ms. Marvel is Ms. Marvel. The Slott/Allred Silver Surfer has been amazing, so I’m always happy for an issue of that. I’ve been enjoying Ewing’s New Avengers so that’s always something to look forward to. And Hellcat got off to a fun enough start that I’m excited for more of that series. So, yeah, this is a really, really good week.

April solicits are out. My pulls: Black Panther #1, Silk #7, Spider-Man/Deadpool #4, Spider-Man 2099 #9, New Avengers #9, New Avengers #10, All-New All-Different Avengers #8, A-Force #4, Ultimates #6, Captain Marvel #4, Vision #6, Silver Surfer #4, Ms. Marvel #6, Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #6, Patsy Walker aka Hellcat #5, Contest of Champions #7, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #7, Angela Queen of Hell #7, Mockingbird #2, Weirdworld #5, Power Man & Iron Fist #3. So 21 titles. Yeesh. That’s a lot.

And Agent Carter’s back tonight! Woot!

I finished SuperMutant Magic Academy, by Jillian Tamaki. My review:

This was a very odd book. It’s a series of mostly unrelated strips, though there are recurring plots. The book is very funny, but it has few actual punchlines. It’s certainly not conventional comedy. It’s more a type of anti-comedy, where it’s funny because of how unfunny it is. It can be hard to pull that off intentionally, but Tamaki does a great job with it. A lot of strips are really awkward and uncomfortable and prompts an almost nervous laughter just to try to ease the feeling of tension. This is actually kind of a bleak book, though also a hopeful one. It’s basically about being a teenager. Dealing with all sorts of typical high school, teenage crap.

It’s also a really smart, philosophical book, with characters often musing on all sorts of topics. It also gets into issues of shame, fear, loneliness, crushes, and a whole lot of other really heavy stuff that teens grapple with constantly. It defies expectations of what teenagers are like, and in the process, shows a much greater understanding of teens than a lot of writers do.

The art is uneven. It tends to be a little rough even at the best of times, but some strips look really rushed and unfinished. Still, for the most part, the art looks good.

This is not a straightforward book. This isn’t for people looking for a story being told. This is for people who are fine with a series of weird, bleakly intellectual strips. I enjoyed it.

It really was such a strange comic. But really good. Definitely worth reading. I also read Henchmen, by Jamison Raymond and Ryan Howe.

This was a great read. It embraces the premise, turning it from a joke into a genuinely touching story of a man doing what he has to do for his kid. He screws up a lot, but his heart is truly in the right place, and he does avoid doing anything really bad. And he even makes an effort to help the rest of the henching community. He’s a strong character with some flaws, but his good qualities – especially his love for his daughter – make him easy to cheer for. The story is interesting, and it speaks of how weird the US political and economic system can be. The art is solid, generally easy to follow and realistic.

This was a really good book. Great work.

So, yeah, two good books. I’m now reading The Last Fairy Tale, by E. S. Lowell, another book I backed in Kickstarter.

I watched a couple more Studio Ghibli movies. I watched Grave of the Fireflies, which I’d heard was super-sad. I wasn’t impressed. I watched the English dub, as I do with all Studio Ghibli movies. And the woman voicing the little girl was so obviously a grown woman trying to sound like a little girl that it took me out of the story constantly. I was unable to connect with it because of that voice. So at no point did I even come close to tearing up. I also watched The Tale of Princess Kaguya, and that one I enjoyed a lot more. It took me a little while to get used to the animation style. It was very much based on classical Japanese illustration. It was very pretty, it just took some getting used to. The story was really good, and the main character a lot of fun. Very happy and enthusiastic. And that one did make me tear up a little bit at the end. So, yeah, that one was really enjoyable.

No depression talk this week. I’m still depressed, but it’s faded back into a general background mood, rather than being at the front of my thoughts. Yay?

I have a job interview tomorrow! For the College of the North Atlantic, in Newfoundland. I hope I get the job.

My schedule for the week: 4:45-11:15 tomorrow, 4:30-11:15 Sunday. Yep, I’m still getting no hours. Ugh. Next pull list on Tuesday, posts every day except Sunday.

I could swear there was other stuff I wanted to talk about, but I can’t remember it, so I guess that’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

