Skip to content

Pull list for January 27 2016

January 26, 2016

I’m off tomorrow, so no problem with reviews.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New All-Different Avengers #4, by Mark Waid, Mahmud Asrar and Sonia Oback; Angela Queen of Hel #4, by Marguerite Bennett, Kim Jacinto, Stephanie Hans and Israel Silva; Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #3, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #4, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson and Rico Renzi.

I’ll also review: Extraordinary X-Men #6, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba and Edgar Delgado; Old Man Logan #1, by Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino.

So that’s 4 comics I’m picking up, and 2 definite reviews. A light week.

I’m most excited for the three female solo titles. ANAD Avengers has been fine, good enough that I’m still buying it, but it’s not a book that leaves me excited for more. The other three books do! They excite me much! Angela’s been a blast, and as always, Stephanie Hans art always makes me happy. Always. She is amazing. Squirrel Girl is a delight, and makes me laugh on every page. And Moon Girl is a really good book. I’m happy to see more of it.

I read The Last Fairy Tale, by E.S. Lowell. My review:

This was a fairly enjoyable read. I’d probably class it as a Middle-Grade book, though the first chunk is maybe a bit darker and more gruesome than one would expect of a Middle-Grade book. It gets a lot more cheerful once the protagonist actually gets into the fantasy world. The fantasy world is somewhat generic, but still fairly interesting. The characters are all pretty good, though there may be too many of them, considering how little most of them contribute to the story. You could take out at least half the companions without it really affecting anything. However, a Middle-Grader is unlikely to notice that problem, and would enjoy the characters, so it’s fine. I should also note that I’m generally not fond of anti-progress and anti-technology aesops; they’re very common in fantasy, but I always find them to be naive and simplistic.

Despite my criticisms, I did enjoy the book, and I don’t regret backing it on Kickstarter. It was pretty good.

And I also read Heart In A Box, by Kelly Thompson and Meredith McClaren.

This comic is absolutely amazing. One of the best things released in 2o15. It’s a story of love and loss and the value of emotions. Emma is a sympathetic character, despite being deeply flawed. She’s convinced she’s a terrible person, but it’s clear that she does care about others. She feels terrible about a lot of the things she does. Ultimately, she comes across as a good person who makes terrible decisions out of grief. And that’s easy to relate to. The story is really compelling and wonderful, and the characters are all great.

And the art! Meredith McClaren is one of my absolute favourite artists. Her style’s really unique. It’s cartoonish, and adorable, and intimate, and emotionally powerful, and just wonderful. Her art adds so much to the story, and enhances the writing.

This is a brilliant comic, and one I cannot recommend highly enough.

Seriously, read that one. It’s so good. I’m a huge fan of McClaren’s art. At first glance, it’s adorable, with its odd proportions, and big eyes and mouths. But it’s also a really intimate, emotional style, and it’s just so gorgeous.

I watched Whisper of the Heart. It was good. A nice, sweet movie. Funny at parts, sad at other parts. A few bits I kinda rolled my eyes at, but I suppose I’m older than the target audience. But I enjoyed it.

My schedule for this week: 1:15-8 Friday, 2-10:30 Saturday, 12:15-8:30 Sunday, 12-8:15 Monday. So my next pull list might go up Monday instead of Tuesday. And I’ll have posts Thursday and Tuesday. I would’ve had a post today, but I’ve actually been called into work. So, no post.

And that’s actually all I’ve got for this week. I didn’t have much to talk about.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

