Skip to content

Pull list for February 17 2016

February 16, 2016

I work tomorrow, but I’ll try to get reviews up.

I’ll go to the store for: Bitch Planet #7, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Cris Peter and Clayton Cowles; Power Man & Iron Fist #1, by David Walker, Sanford Greene and Lee Loughride; Silver Surfer #2, by Dan Slott and the Allreds.

I’ll also review: Avengers Standoff Welcome To Pleasant Hill, by Nick Spencer, Mark Bagley, and I’m not sure who on inks and colours; Extraordinary X-Men #7, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba and Edgar Delgado.

So that’s 3 books I’m picking up, and 4 reviews. Light week.

I’m excited for all three comics. Bitch Planet is always amazing. I love me some aggressively feminist literature. Silver Surfer has been an absolute delight since it started, so I always love seeing that. And Power Man & Iron Fist looks like it should be good. Plus, I do try to show my support for diversity, in comics, especially among creators, and especially among writers. So, at the absolute least, I’ll pick up the first issue. If I don’t enjoy it, I won’t keep buying, but it should be good.

The May solicits are out. My Marvel pull list: A-Force #5, ANAD Avengers #9, Black Panther #2, New Avengers #11, Vision #7, Ms. Marvel #7, Silk #8, Silver Surfer #5, Ultimates #7, All-New Wolverine #8, Power Man & Iron Fist #4, Captain Marvel #5, Mockingbird #3, Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #7, Hellcat #6, Spider-Man/Deadpool #5, Squirrel Girl #8, Weirdworld #6. 18 titles. Down a little from April.

I finished The Banished Craft, by E.D.E. Bell. My review:

This was a very good book. Both worlds are interesting and well-developed, and Bell clearly put a ton of thought into them. There was nothing about either world that felt off to me; they had plenty of internal consistency. There were some nice contrasts between them both, too. The characters were mostly interesting. The dragon scientist, Dr. Atesh, didn’t quite click with me.

The writing was solid. The story is interesting, and there are some parts that are very well-written, and very effective. There’s some interesting explorations on the nature of reality. There’s some veganism, so if that makes you uncomfortable, you might want to be careful. Fortunately, it’s not a major story element, so while it does get mentioned a few times, you should be able to skip those bits. There’s also some subtle LGBT elements, but it’s just hints; apparently, an upcoming sequel will have a bit more of that, so that should be good.

This was a solid book, and it’s got me interested in what comes next.

For the record, my talk about veganism was tongue-in-cheek. It just seemed funny to treat it as something that would turn people off. Anyway, the sequel is raising funds on Kickstarter. It needs another $1200 by March 3. This book was good, so the sequel’s worth backing. $10 gets you this and the sequel. A pretty good value. So throw it some love! Because I want to read the sequel. My next read will be Princeless: Vol 4, then I’ll finish Smut Peddler 2014, and then I’ll try to blast through The Ill Fortune To Be Dark In the Eyes before the end of the month. I should have plenty of time. And my March read will probably be Marvel Comics: The Untold Story.

I also re-watched Howl’s Moving Castle. I enjoyed it. It’s a cute, fun, romantic movie. It’s probably the closest Studio Ghibli has come to a romance. Most of the time, the romance is subtler, more subtextual. This one has the romantic plot as the main point of the story. And since it was the Valentine’s season, I figured it would be an appropriate movie to watch. I didn’t much like Christian Bale, though. I think Howl should have been voiced by someone with a gentler, more charming voice. Oh well. Billy Crystal was delightful, as he always has been.

A Kickstarter to promote: Fresh Romance Print Edition. In 2014, Rosy Press did a Kickstarter to raise money for a series called Fresh Romance, an ongoing romance anthology. It included four stories by some great creators. The previous campaign was to get the series on Comixology, where all 6 issues are available. But now, they’re partnering with Oni Press for a print run. Frustratingly, I bought the 6 issues on Comixology on Sunday . . . and then this Kickstarter started on Monday. Argh. The series was on sale over the weekend, so I figured $10 was worth it. And now I’ve thrown another $15 at this campaign (the actual print edition costs $25, but I don’t really need the print edition, I just wanted to support the campaign itself). So, go give it some love.

My schedule for this week: 5:30-11:15 tomorrow, 10:45-5:30 Monday. Yep, still no hours at work. Ugh. So, I’ll have posts almost every day.

That’s all I have for this week. I have little to talk about. I still haven’t heard back about that job I interviewed for. I’m pretty sure they’ll let me know one way or the other if I get it. But I’ll admit to being worried. I would have thought I’d hear back by now. We’ll see.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

