Skip to content

Pull list for March 9 2016

March 8, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). Happy International Women’s Day. I work tomorrow. I’ll try to get reviews up, but it’ll be very late.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #6, by Tom Taylor, David Lopez, David Navarrot and Nathan Fairbairn; InSeXts #4, by Marguerite Bennett, Ariela Kristantina and Bryan Valenza; Mockingbird #1, by Chelsea Cain, Kate Niemczyk and Rachelle Rosenberg; Ms. Marvel #6, by G. Willow Wilson, Nico Leon and Ian Herring; Spider-Man/Deadpool #3, by Joe Kelly, Ed McGuinness, Mark Morales and Jason Keith; Vision #5, by Tom King, Gabriel Walta and Jordie Bellaire; Weirdworld #4, by Sam Humphries, Mike Del Mundo and Marco D’Alfonso.

I’ll also review: Uncanny Avengers #7, by Gerry Duggan, Ryan Stegman, Mark Morales, Guillermo Ortego and Richard Isanove. Maybe Agents of SHIELD #3, since it’s an event tie-in, but maybe not.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and at least two reviews. See, Marvel! This is why you need to stagger your releases better! Last week, I picked up one comic. This week, 7! Ugh.

I’m most excited for . . . uh, basically everything, actually. I mean, when Kelly’s Deadpool is my least-anticipated comic, that’s a sign of a good week. This week really is amazing. The debut of Mockingbird’s first solo series, and it looks like it should be a lot of fun, a nice mix of comedy, action and intrigue. All-New Wolverine has been excellent all along, and the climax of the arc should be awesome. InSeXts is a fantastically creepy and clever and weirdly romantic series, so I always love that. Ms. Marvel is Ms. Marvel. The preview for the next issue looks as wonderful as ever. Vision is one of Marvel’s best books right now – so weird and eerie and unsettling and excellent. And Weirdworld is delightful, with gorgeous art from Del Mundo. So, yeah, this week is one hell of a week.

I actually don’t have a whole lot to talk about right now. No big controversies to weigh in on. No big comics stories to talk about. Not even any books I’ve finished this past week. I’m a solid chunk of the way through Marvel Comics: The Untold Story. I’m finding it really interesting. All sorts of office politics. And the fact that a lot of the early ’70s creators were on drugs. Englehart and Starlin being the big ones, of course. Which is easy to see from their stories in the ‘7os, which were really weird and messed-up. In truth, I like very, very little of Englehart’s output. But I’m not generally a fan of “classic” comics in general. The ’60s and ’70s stuff. I know, I know, it’s the foundation on which modern Marvel was built. But just because something’s old doesn’t mean it’s good. I find a lot of that stuff just doesn’t hold up well.

I’ve also still been playing Mass Effect. I’ve mostly just been doing sidequests, to get some levels before I tackle main missions. I did recruit Liara, though. And I’ve been kind of a dick to her in conversation. My Engineer Shepard is an ass. Not keen on aliens. Except Wrex, of course. Everyone loves Wrex.

Oh, actually, there is something worth talking about. Over on Twitter, Kelly Sue DeConnick spent a couple days promoting #VisibleWomen. She was trying to give signal boosts to female comic artists. It’s storified here, and it was also split into two Tumblr posts, here and here. There’s a few in there who I enjoy. Wendy Xu, artist of Mooncakes, “a queer, Chinese-American paranormal romance.” Ariela Kristantina, the amazing artist on InSeXts. Joanna Estep, who desperately needs to do more Marvel work. Kennedy Cooke-Garza, creator of the ridiculous (and currently on-hiatus) Superbitch. Kiki Jenkins, creator of the fantastic Idolon. There’s over 300 artists in total. It’s one hell of a list. I’ve actually bookmarked the list. I have a loooot of webcomics bookmarked that I have yet to start reading. If I can ever get myself going on those, then I can start going through that giant list, too. Either way, though, it’s always great to see female artists getting pushed, and this is a pretty diverse list. So yay for this list.

My schedule: 3:45-10:15 tomorrow, 10:15-6:45 Thursday, 3-11:15 Saturday, 10-6 Monday, 2:15-10:45 Tuesday, 2:45-10:15 next Wednesday. So Sunday will actually be my only post this week. And it’ll be more of Mantlo’s Alpha Flight. Oh, joy. At least I’ve finally got a week with plenty of hours, though. I’m glad for that. I need the money.

That’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Comic book adventure

Lawyer by day, comic book reader by night

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

