Skip to content

Pull list for March 16 2016

March 15, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work tomorrow, but I’ll try to get reviews up anyway.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Marvel #3, by Tara Butters, Michele Fazekas, Kris Anka, Felipe Smith and Matt Wilson; My Little Pony Friends Forever #26, by Jeremy Whitley and Tony Fleecs; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #40, by Ted Anderson and Brenda Hickey; Power Man & Iron Fist #2, by David Walker, Sanford Greene and Lee Loughridge; Silk #6, by Robbie Thompson, Tana Ford and Ian Herring.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #6, by Dennis Hopeless, Mark Bagley, Andrew Hennessy and Nolan Woodard; Deadpool & the Mercs For Money #2, by Cullen Bunn, Salva Espin and GURU-eFX; Extraordinary X-Men #8, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba, Victor Ibanez, Edgar Delgado and Sotocolor.

So that’s 5 comics I’m picking up, and at least 3 reviews. Decent week.

I’m most excited about Captain Marvel and PM&IF. Both books have gotten off to strong starts. Greene’s art isn’t really my preferred style, but it works for this title, so my excitement remains high.

I’ve mentioned the Jay and Miles X-Plain the X-Men podcast before. Their most recent episode, posted on Sunday, is an interview with Chris Claremont. It’s some good stuff, definitely worth listening to.

For a second week in a row, I have basically nothing to talk about. I’m getting more shifts, which is great news for my wallet, but bad news for the blog. But my wallet takes precedence.

I guess I could talk about that big Civil War trailer. Spider-Man is in it. Woo-hoo, I guess? I’ll be honest, I’m not as big a fan of Peter Parker as a lot of people. I think he’s generally an egocentric dick. He thinks the whole world revolves around him. “If someone dies within a 10-mile radius of me, it’s all my fault! Anything bad ever that happens is all my fault! Mine, and only mine! I am responsible for the entirety of the world!” He saves lives because he can’t get over some guilty feelings. That’s his big motivation: Guilt. Guilt is a shitty motivation. Don’t do something because you’d feel bad if you didn’t. Do something because you want to help people and make the world a better place.

Aside from that, I do have some concerns about Civil War. It’s looking pretty packed. I worry about whether there might be too much going on. That’s the big trap of superhero franchises: Every subsequent movie tries to put in more and more stuff. More villains, more subplots, more action, more everything. And most of the time, all that stuff drags the movie down. Think about it: The first Spider-Man movie was successful, with one villain. Spider-Man 2 was seen as even better, and again, it had one villain. Then Spider-Man 3 came along, with 3 villains, and it was utter shit. The more you try to pack into a movie, the harder it is to do it well. Which also has me really worried about Avengers 3. Yeah, they’re splitting that one into two movies, but realistically, each one has to largely stand on its own.

So I do have concerns about Civil War. We’ll see. That Black Panther shot was cool. Him just standing there, letting bullets bounce off him? It’s cool.

Oh, actually, I may as well talk about a Kickstarter project I backed: Toronto Comics Vol. 3. It’s an anthology of comics by Toronto creators, set in Toronto. I’m not from Toronto – I’m actually a few hours away – but hey, it’s always nice to support some Canadian content.

I’m just about done Marvel Comics: The Untold Story. I’ll probably finish it this week. Daredevil Season 2 is released on Friday. It’ll probably take me two or three weeks to get through it. Should be good. And then a week after that, My Little Pony Season 6! Woot!

I’ve started playing Dynasty Warriors 7 again, for my X-Box 360. I kinda forgot that I enjoy the Dynasty Warrior games. They do get boring. It’s a repetitive game. But when you haven’t played in a while, it’s good to get back to.

My schedule for the week: 2:45-10:15 tomorrow, 1:45-8:30 Friday, 11:45-6:15 Saturday, 2:30-11 Sunday, 10:30-5 Tuesday. So it’s another heavy week for me, which is good for me. I need the money.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

