Skip to content

Pull list for March 30 2016

March 29, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work tomorrow, but I shouldn’t have any problem with reviews.

I’ll go to the store for: Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur #5, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #6, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson and Rico Renzi.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #7, by Dennis Hopeless, Mark Bagley, Andrew Hennessy and Nolan Woodard; X-Men ’92 #1, by Chris Sims, Chad Bowers, Alti Firmansyah and Matt Milla.

So that’s 2 comics I’m picking up, and 2 reviews. A very light week.

I’m excited for both comics, obviously. They’re actually pretty similar. They’re both really cute, fun all-ages books.

I finished Daredevil Season 2. I enjoyed it. It was good. It wasn’t as good as the first season. And Jessica Jones is still my favourite MCU property. This season started very strong, and ended really, really weak. To start with, the Matt/Karen relationship was really weak. They had no chemistry at all. Karen and Foggy continued to have great chemistry – those two really should’ve been together. They’d make a great couple. I did like Karen’s arc over the season. The Punisher was good. I liked Elektra, early on. She was awful and it was great. She was manipulative and playful and fun. So the first six episodes were great. Once the Hand stuff started becoming more prominent is when the season started falling apart. The Punisher and Hand plots weren’t connected at all, with the Punisher’s plot just completely fizzling out. The Blacksmith was built up as a big deal, and then nope! Not really. The Hand plot lacked a compelling figurehead. It was just a bunch of ninjas with no personality. They were a horde of faceless mooks for Daredevil and Elektra to beat up. Which was very meh.

Still, it was good.

I read Will & Whit, by Laura Lee Gulledge. My review:

This is a great YA graphic novel. Gulledge writes great teenagers. They’re always such good kids, which is nice to see. They’re fun and goofy and friendly. They feel like real teens. There’s plenty of humour and lightness. There’s also obviously plenty of drama, and it’s poignant and effective. The art is really nice, too. For the most part, it’s a nice, simple style. But Gulledge makes heavy use here of shadows, in creative ways, enhancing mood, or adding different undertones to panels. It’s very effective.

Gulledge does great work, and I definitely recommend giving her stuff a read.

I didn’t enjoy this as much as Page By Paige. I thought that book was a lot more visually interesting. But I did still really like this one. I think the next book I read will be Zeus Is Dead, by Michael Munz. That’ll be the last of my Christmas books read. Actually, it’ll also be the last of my physical books read, at least until the Women In Practical Armour anthology arrives.

My Little Pony Season 6 has begun! Woot! The season opener was really good. It looks like Starshine is sticking around, which is cool. She’s in a similar role to Season 1 Twilight, having to learn about friendship. But she’s very much her own character, with her own issues. It should be an interesting season. One thing I’m enjoying about this series is the way it’s not afraid to change the status quo. It allows the characters to grow, and to change. I like that. It keeps things interesting.

My schedule for the week: 11:15-6 tomorrow, 2-8:45 Thursday, 11:15-6 Sunday, 4:45-11:15 Tuesday. So posts Friday, Saturday and Monday. After a couple months of getting no hours, it’s nice to go back to making money.

That’s all for this week. My life remains too dull for me to think of anything to talk about in these posts. Plus I’m lazy. That doesn’t help.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

