Skip to content

Pull list for April 13 2016

April 12, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work until 5 tomorrow, so reviews might be a bit late getting up. Or they might not.

I’ll go to the store for: A-Force #4, by Kelly Thompson, G. Willow Wilson, Jorge Molina and Laura Martin; All-New All-Different Avengers #8, by Mark Waid, Adam Kubert and Sonia Oback; Mockingbird #2, by Chelsea Cain, Kate Niemczyk and Rachelle Rosenberg; My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #41, by Katie Cook and Andy Price; Pretty Deadly #9, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Emma Rios, Jordie Bellaire and Clayton Cowles; Silver Surfer #3, by Dan Slott, Michael and Laura Allred; Weirdworld #5, by Sam Humphries, Mike Del Mundo and Marco D’Alfonso.

I’ll also review: All-New X-Men #8, by Dennis Hopeless, Paco Diaz and Rachelle Rosenberg; X-Men ’92 #2, by Chris Sims, Chad Bowers, Alti Firmansyah and Matt Milla.

So that’s 7 comics I’m picking up, and at least two reviews, maybe more. Probably more. Expensive week, but light on necessary reviews.

I’m most excited for Pretty Deadly, Mockingbird and Weirdworld. Pretty Deadly! Pretty Deadly! Yay! My favourite series! Hurrah! Mockingbird #1 got the series off to an excellent start, and I have very high expectations for it. It’s a smart, fun book, and Bobbi’s awesome. And for the record, I spelled ‘Niemczyk’ without looking at it. Just from memory. I am so proud of myself. And then Weirdworld has been a gem of a series. The art! It’s so pretty! Humphries has been killing it with the writing, too.

So a Dr. Strange poster has gone live, and a trailer will be released tonight. I don’t give a damn. I’m not going to that movie. Dr. Strange is a character with uncomfortable undertones of cultural appropriation, so that was going to be a problem for me. But they also whitewashed the Ancient One. And screw that. I’m not going to support that bullshit. Yes, the Ancient One, in the comics, is a problematic stereotype. The solution is not “just cast the whitest person ever.” The solution is to write the character in a way that makes him less of a stereotype. Whitewashing is the laziest, most hacky of solutions, and it’s offensive, and there is just no way I’m going to support that crap.

I finished Zeus Is Dead: A Monstrously Inconvenient Adventure, by Michael G. Munz. My review:

This book is a blast. It’s a lot of fun. As a fan of Greek myth, it was interesting seeing Munz’s takes on the gods. But this book isn’t a particularly serious analysis of the gods. It’s a madcap adventure. It also possesses a lot of awareness of narrative. Plenty of tropes are referenced, used, abused, subverted, inverted and more. Munz knows how people read, and he makes use of that to do things they don’t expect. He also makes use of it to do things that are exactly what they expect. It varies.

The book has a lot of awareness of itself, and routinely leans on the fourth wall. It talks directly to the reader, with a wink and a nudge. It goes on random tangents, which it then tells the reader to forget about. In lesser hands, or in a different story, it would be obnoxious. But Munz’s writing is very funny, and as the story relies, at least in part, on the nature of narrative storytelling, it can get away with a lot.

This book has the makings of a great epic adventure. But great epic adventures are too stuffy so he instead made a great comedic adventure that was still pretty epic. Played straight, this book would’ve been a more adult-friendly (but still suitable for Young Adults) Percy Jackson. What we got instead was far more enjoyable than that would have been.

This is great. Highly recommended. Read it.

It really is a ridiculous book. It’s filled with running jokes, brick jokes, myth jokes . . . all sorts of jokes. But it’s still a really smart book – it has to be. It relies too much on knowledge of writing to be dumb. If you enjoyed Gillen’s Journey Into Mystery run, or Wicked + Divine, then you’re bound to enjoy this.

Next up: Will You Still Love Me If I Wet the Bed?.

I have little to talk about this week because I’ve been spending a lot of time playing Dynasty Warriors. It’s kept me distracted.

I do mean to re-watch The Force Awakens pretty soon. And undoubtedly I’ll livetweet it. I haven’t decided when to watch it, though. I’ll need to make some time.

My schedule for the week: 10:30-7 Saturday, 3:45-8:45 Monday. So posts on Thursday, Friday, Sunday and Tuesday. Hey, that’ll get me through the first part of Fall of the Mutants! This isn’t really my hours being cut or something, it’s just a weird coincidence that I ended up with two “weekends” in such close proximity. One of those days would be a good time to watch TFA, I think.

And that’s it for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

