Skip to content

Pull list for April 20 2016

April 19, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I’m off tomorrow, so it’ll be no problem getting reviews up.

I’ll go to the store for: Captain Marvel #4, by Tara Butters, Michele Fazekas, Kris Anka, Felipe Smith and Matt Wilson; Mirror #3, by Emma Rios and Hwei Lim; New Avengers #10, by Al Ewing, Marcus To, Juanan Ramirez and Dono Sanchez Alamar; Power Man & Iron Fist #3, by David Walker, Sanford Greene and Lee Loughridge; Silk #7, by Robbie Thompson, Tana Ford and Ian Herring; Spider-Man/Deadpool #4, by Joe Kelly, Ed McGuinness, Mark Morales and Jason Keith.

I’ll also review: Deadpool #10, by Gerry Duggan, Matteo Lolli, Iban Coello and Ruth Redmond; Deadpool & the Mercs For Money, by Cullen Bunn, Salva Espin and Guru-eFX; Extraordinary X-Men #9, by Jeff Lemire, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba and Edgar Delgado.

So that’s 6 comics I’m picking up, and at least 4 reviews. A heavy-ish week.

I’m most excited for Captain Marvel, New Avengers and PM&IF. Captain Marvel’s been interesting. I’m enjoying it. New Avengers is an absolute blast. Avenger Mecha vs. American Kaiju! And the preview makes me really hopeful that Ewing is building towards Pod and Toni Ho becoming a couple. But mostly it’s Avenger Mecha vs. American Kaiju. I don’t know how it would be possible not to be excited by that. And as for PM&IF, Walker’s been blowing me away on that book. It’s excellent, and I very highly recommend it, especially if diversity in comics is something you care about at all.

July solicits are out. My Marvel July pull list: So, my July pull list: Silk #10, Ms. Marvel #9, New Avengers #13, Power Man and Iron Fist #6, Silver Surfer #6, Ultimates #9, Vision #9, A-Force #7, All-New Wolverine #10, ANAD Avengers #12, Black Panther #4, Captain Marvel #7, Hellcat #8, Mockingbird #5, Moon Girl #9, New Avengers #14, Squirrel Girl #10. So, 17 Marvel comics for that month.

I read Will You Still Love Me If I Wet the Bed?, by Liz Prince.

This is not a story. This is just snippets of life in a relationship, and the weird, weird thing people in love do and say. And it’s really cute and funny. The art is a bit rough; it’s really just sketches. Some strips are rougher than others. Some of the strips are kinda boring. But all in all, it is a really cute, fun read, and is especially fun if you’ve been in a similar relationship where you make really weird, stupid jokes with each other.

I enjoyed it.

I’m currently reading Vertoscope. And hey! I won a book from Goodreads! It’s been a while since I won something from there. It’s The Jewel and Her Lapidary, by Fran Wilde. It’s a novella, and it looks pretty interesting.

I rewatched The Force Awakens on Thursday. Here’s my livetweet, if you’re interested. And my review. My general conclusion is “holy shit this movie is amazing!” It’s such a fantastic movie. Rey is awesome. A great character. I honestly think Daisy Ridley deserved an Oscar nomination. She was so good. She took great writing, and elevated it with her performance. Her face was heartbreaking when she was sad, and so goddamn adorable when she was happy. Finn was awesome. Poe was awesome. Everything was awesome. And Rey vs. Kylo was the best lightsaber duel in the entire franchise. One of the more authentic swordfights you’ll find in fiction. And I love the casual diversity in the film. I mean, you’ve got a female lead, a black guy as the co-lead, and a Latino as another major character. You’ve got Captain Phasma, a Stormtrooper who happens to be a woman. You’ve got an Asian girl as one of the X-Wing pilots. And any time you’ve got crowds of humans, there’s people of colour among them. And you just know that Abrams had to really push for this, and he did it because, hey, the world is not made up entirely of white people, so why should fiction be all white people?

And the word is the next one will have an Asian-American woman in a major role. Which is particularly noteworthy given recent stories coming out of Hollywood. We’ve got Dr. Strange, a film that makes some pretty heavy use of Asian aesthetics and iconography, and which has exactly no Asians in the first trailer. And which actually goddamn whitewashed the Ancient One. Because why write a complex and non-stereotyped character when you can just throw a white person in the role? And now we’ve got some images of the live-action Ghost In the Shell, with Scarlet frigging Johansson in the title role. The very blatant message Hollywood is sending, as people have been pointing out, is that they want Asian stories, just not Asian people. They’ve made it very clear that they do not give one wet hot shit about Asian people.

Some people defended the GitS casting by saying anime characters look white anyway. Those people are idiots. They do not look white, except to people who assume white as default, and who don’t recognize other races in art unless they’re drawn as caricatures. Anime definitely draws heavily from Disney’s aesthetic. But when you really look at the characters, they’re Japanese. Of course they’re Japanese; they’re made in Japan, for a Japanese audience. Why would you assume that a Japanese audience would want white protagonists? I’ll confess, when I was young and stupid, I read anime characters as white. Because I didn’t really think about it. I didn’t watch much anime in the first place – some, but not a lot. But as soon as I put any thought into it, yeah, of course they’re Japanese.

Speaking of Japan, but not really because she’s American, Priscilla Ahn has become my latest music obsession. She’s so good! Her music really hits your feels. I kinda want to re-watch When Marnie Was There. Actually, what I really want is to have a girlfriend I can watch Studio Ghibli movies with. That’s what it comes down to. I just want someone I can watch Studio Ghibli movies and cry with. Is that so much to ask? My ideal girlfriend would like Priscilla Ahn. Because seriously, she’s amazing.

This weekend, there’s a local “pop event.” Basically a convention, but a lot smaller. I’ll be going on Sunday. I went last year, and it was OK. Not a whole lot worth talking about that year. We’ll see if this year’s more interesting. There are no guests I particularly care about. There’s a list of guests here. The guy who played Dante in Clerks will be there, along with a few other people from that movie. Some bit actors I’ve never heard of, who did episodes of Star Trek: The Original Series. Some people who’ve played zombies on The Walking Dead. Some comic artists who work on books I don’t read. Geof Isherwood, who inked a lot of comics I’ve only read digitally, so I don’t even have anything I can bring to get signed. So, overall, nothing that excites me. So I’ll mostly be checking out the various exhibitors, looking for anything interesting to buy.

My schedule for the week: 8:45-5:15 Friday, 11:30-8 Saturday, 9:45-5:45 Tuesday. So I’ll have posts Thursday, Sunday and Monday.

And that’s all I’ve got for this week.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

