Skip to content

Pull list for April 27 2016

April 26, 2016

Follow me on Twitter (@XMenXPert). I work tomorrow, so reviews might be really late going up.

I’ll go to the store for: All-New Wolverine #7, by Tom Taylor, Marcio Takara and Jordan Boyd; Angela Queen of Hel #7, by Marguerite Bennett, Kim Jacinto, Stephanie Hans and Israel Silva; Insexts #5, by Marguerite Bennett, Ariela Kristantina and Bryan Valenza; Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #6, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, Natacha Bustos and Tamra Bonvillain; Ms. Marvel #6, by G. Willow Wilson, Nico Leon and Ian Herring; Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! #5, by Kath Leth, Brittney Williams and Megan Wilson; Ultimates #6, by Al Ewing and Christian Ward; Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #7, by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Rico Renzi.

I’ll also review: Old Man Logan #5, by Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiollo; Worst X-Man Ever #3, by Max Bemis, Michael Walsh and Ruth Redmond.

So that’s 8 goddamn comics I’m picking up, and at least 3 reviews. An expensive weak, but light on reviews.

I’m most excited for, uh, almost all of them. Wolverine will have a Squirrel Girl cameo, Insexts is an enjoyably messed-up series, Moon Girl is delightful, Ultimates is awesome. Hellcat is loads of fun. Angela is on its last issue and is almost certainly going to make me cry. Ms. Marvel is Ms. Marvel. And Squirrel Girl is a Choose-Your-Own Adventure issue! So, yeah, this is an amazing week.

On Sunday, I went to CAPE – Cornwall Area Pop Event. It was OK. I bought a few prints. I only took a couple pictures at the event. First, a cosplayer in a Silk costume:

Cg1dXY2W0AEk_zbI think the guy is probably Carnage. But I like Silk, so I figured I’d take a picture of her. And then there’s this awesome Lego set:

Cg1dmhXW4AEmbcNThe Millennium Falcon on the Avengers’ front yard. The set was actually bigger than this, and continued on out of frame, but I didn’t take a picture of that. Mostly, I just liked this portion of the set. And now, the things I bought. I got a poster for Kiki’s Delivery Service:

Cg1f5O9UkAEGGCzSorry about the glare. It’s in a very shiny plastic case. One of the booths was just movie posters, and it had a section of Studio Ghibli posters, because Ghibli is so cool that it deserves its own category. I was hoping to find When Marnie Was There, but I’m not surprised they didn’t have a poster for that. It’s not one of the more recognizable Ghibli movies, since it’s not a fantasy. But man, a poster of Anna and Marnie dancing under the moon would’ve been amazing. Still, this is a really cute Kiki poster. Continuing on, I got a Puck print, from Rob Thibodeau:

Cg1fBlRUgAApyPlI got a poster of the X-Men, drawn by Geof Isherwood:

Cg1eJdQWsAAC-2wIsherwood was actually there in Dr. Strange cosplay. I wish I’d taken a picture of that. Ah, well. This is still a great X-Men poster. A very classic line-up, and classic versions of their costumes. And, finally, I got two prints by Michael Simbajon, of Phoenix and Dark Phoenix:

Cg1fteoUgAAccdEI’m not a big Jean Grey fan, but I do love these prints. Apparently, he’d done the Phoenix one first, and then a friend of his who was a big Dark Phoenix fan told him to do one of her, so he just flipped it. You know, I took this photo of them facing each other, which was how he had it set up in his book. But I wonder if it might work better with them reversed?

Cg2zHh-WsAE-vSM

Yeah. Yeah, that works really nice, I think. I should mention Simbajon was a really cool guy. I was wearing a Pretty Deadly t-shirt, and he asked if I enjoy that series, and we got to talking for a good 10 or 15 minutes. He said he wants to draw more like Rios but that it’s hard because it means un-learning a lot about art. We talked a bit about Mark Millar. He showed some sketches he’s working on – a Sinister Six one, one showing the DC Trinity against the Marvel Trinity (though he only had the DC Trinity sketched), a couple others. He talked about how he’s friends with Adrian Alphona, and that Alphona hates when he gets fanboyish and tries to get him to draw Ms. Marvel. And he also talked a bit about a story he’s putting together, a Steampunk Western, which is something I’ll need to keep a watch for. So, yeah, good guy. And a good artist.

So, I’m sure everyone’s heard by now that Eddie Berganza, editor of the Superman office at DC, has been named as a serial sexual harasser. He should be fired. DC just let go of Shelly Bond, editor of the Vertigo line, and someone who’s much-loved within the industry. DC couldn’t figure out a way to rearrange things to keep her on staff. Of course, a few years ago, when Berganza had sexual harassment complaints fired against him, they were able to do some rearranging that kept him around in a position of power. Allegedly, they actually put in place an informal rule against having women working under him, presumably because they knew they’d get more complaints if there were women around him. (Alternatively, Berganza only hired men, and I’m sure it was pure coincidence that no qualified women ever applied for positions in his office.) Here’s an idea: Why don’t they fire Berganza and offer his job to Bond? Or, you know, just fire Berganza. He’s a douche, fire him.

My schedule for the week: 11-7:15 tomorrow, 10:30-4:15 Friday, 10:30-4:15 Sunday, 11:45-8:15 Tuesday. So, actually kind of a shitty schedule. Still, posts on Thursday, Saturday and Monday. Though Saturday’s not really certain – I’m hanging out with a friend.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

X-Men: The Animated Series

Celebrating the series with behind-the-scenes content never seen before!

Katie Beluga

in the deep blue sea

Jay Edidin

(or a competent imposter)

Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men

Kevin O'Leary Reviews Every Issue of Uncanny X-Men from the 1960s to the Present

Henchman-4-Hire

Geeky News, Reviews and Rants from a Working Class Super-Villain

Blue Towel Productions

Films, Audios, and Stories for Fun

healed1337

For new comic book fans by a new comic book fan.

